Documentation for stochRescaleHeat keyword 69/4769/2
authorradakb <brian.radak@gmail.com>
Fri, 2 Nov 2018 15:09:03 +0000 (11:09 -0400)
committerJim Phillips <jim@ks.uiuc.edu>
Fri, 2 Nov 2018 18:41:01 +0000 (13:41 -0500)
This commit adds documentation for this previous addition to the
stochRescale thermostat. The option only affects output, not
dynamics, but should still be regarded as experimental. The current
documentation says as much.

Change-Id: I2720beb414682896a8d98821aa40901616a1e6bf

ug/ug_dynamics.tex

index 5a53980..1e3edae 100644 (file)
@@ -629,6 +629,28 @@ When using multiple time stepping, it is important that rescaling
   type (usually {\tt fullElectFrequency}).
 }
 
+\item
+\NAMDCONFWDEF{stochRescaleHeat}
+{Should heat transfer and work be computed?}
+{{\tt yes} or {\tt no}}
+{{\tt no}}
+{
+When active, the \emph{cumulative} heat transfer with the thermostat will
+  be reported as \texttt{HEAT}.
+The work due to the thermostat and integrator can then be computed as the
+  change in total energy less the heat transfer and is reported as
+  \texttt{WORK}.
+Note that the work includes all sources, including non-conservative elements of
+  the Hamiltonian, but should otherwise approach zero for simulations at or
+  near equilibrium.
+The accumulation starts at \texttt{firstTimestep} and can be reset from
+  \texttt{Tcl} by re-setting this to zero.
+\textbf{
+This is an experimental option and not yet guaranteed for any specific
+  purpose.
+}
+}
+
 \end{itemize}