charm.git
8 years agomsgQ: Modifications to enable constant-time deq() even when using std::map
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 27 Aug 2012 05:08:23 +0000 (00:08 -0500)]
msgQ: Modifications to enable constant-time deq() even when using std::map

Unsure if this will make a big difference as enq() is still logarithmic.
However, this will definitely simplify features like a randomized q for debugging etc.

8 years agomsgQ: CMK_USE_STL_MSGQ now causes converse to use an STL-based msgq
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Thu, 28 Jun 2012 15:13:31 +0000 (10:13 -0500)]
msgQ: CMK_USE_STL_MSGQ now causes converse to use an STL-based msgq

Works, passes megatest and runs applications like openatom successfully.

8 years agomsgQ: silence cpp compiler errors by explicit casts
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 22 Jun 2012 18:40:14 +0000 (13:40 -0500)]
msgQ: silence cpp compiler errors by explicit casts

8 years agomsgQ: Convert source into cpp file
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 22 Jun 2012 17:59:34 +0000 (12:59 -0500)]
msgQ: Convert source into cpp file

8 years agomsgQ: Move into namespace conv
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 22 Jun 2012 18:07:03 +0000 (13:07 -0500)]
msgQ: Move into namespace conv

8 years agomsgQ: Move source from test program into converse
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 22 Jun 2012 18:04:36 +0000 (13:04 -0500)]
msgQ: Move source from test program into converse

8 years agofix the shell command in make.
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 27 Oct 2012 21:38:26 +0000 (16:38 -0500)]
fix the shell command in make.

8 years agoNDMeshStreamer: code cleanup.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 23:37:04 +0000 (18:37 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: code cleanup.

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Harshitha [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 21:17:10 +0000 (16:17 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agofix bug which showed up on continuous build when lbdb is turned off
Harshitha [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 21:17:05 +0000 (16:17 -0500)]
fix bug which showed up on continuous build when lbdb is turned off

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 17:54:35 +0000 (12:54 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agoMPI Interop related changes - adding interface function
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 17:53:55 +0000 (12:53 -0500)]
MPI Interop related changes - adding interface function

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 17:52:18 +0000 (12:52 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agoproperly compile ckcache.ci when int16 is supported.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 17:50:04 +0000 (12:50 -0500)]
properly compile ckcache.ci when int16 is supported.

8 years agodoc: Add serial to list of ci file reserved words
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 16:15:54 +0000 (11:15 -0500)]
doc: Add serial to list of ci file reserved words

8 years agodoc: Update sdag manual to use serial instead of atomic
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 15:54:53 +0000 (10:54 -0500)]
doc: Update sdag manual to use serial instead of atomic

8 years agofix
Xiang Ni [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 15:05:08 +0000 (10:05 -0500)]
fix

8 years agoLeave out more MetaLB code when CMK_LBDB_ON=0
Phil Miller [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 14:43:51 +0000 (10:43 -0400)]
Leave out more MetaLB code when CMK_LBDB_ON=0

8 years agouse the new macros for 128 bit integer
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 14:25:07 +0000 (09:25 -0500)]
use the new macros for 128 bit integer

8 years agoset flag to reset contribute
Xiang Ni [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 23:48:20 +0000 (18:48 -0500)]
set flag to reset contribute

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Xiang Ni [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 23:29:58 +0000 (18:29 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agocharmxi: initialize parameters properly
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 22:30:21 +0000 (17:30 -0500)]
charmxi: initialize parameters properly

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 22:11:42 +0000 (17:11 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agouse __int128_t to define CmiInt16
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 22:10:14 +0000 (17:10 -0500)]
use __int128_t to define CmiInt16

8 years agoupdated
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 22:09:29 +0000 (17:09 -0500)]
updated

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 22:08:09 +0000 (17:08 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agoadd a test for __int128_t
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 22:07:54 +0000 (17:07 -0500)]
add a test for __int128_t

8 years agorestructure gauss-seidel
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 22:05:39 +0000 (17:05 -0500)]
restructure gauss-seidel

8 years agoMerge branch 'xiang/optChkp' of charmgit:charm into charm
Xiang Ni [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 20:46:31 +0000 (15:46 -0500)]
Merge branch 'xiang/optChkp' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agocleanm up flag xiang/optChkp
Xiang Ni [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 20:00:49 +0000 (20:00 +0000)]
cleanm up flag

8 years agoBuild NDMeshStreamer by default.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 12:03:15 +0000 (07:03 -0500)]
Build NDMeshStreamer by default.

8 years agoSDAG: stop treating single line 'while' as a 'if'
Jonathan Lifflander [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 22:39:10 +0000 (17:39 -0500)]
SDAG: stop treating single line 'while' as a 'if'

8 years agocksection: add set function for setting the reduction number
Jonathan Lifflander [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 21:54:16 +0000 (16:54 -0500)]
cksection: add set function for setting the reduction number

8 years agocharmxi: generate by reference call properly in other case
Jonathan Lifflander [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 20:57:12 +0000 (15:57 -0500)]
charmxi: generate by reference call properly in other case

8 years agocharmxi: distinguish correctly between "fake" reference and actual pass-by-reference
Jonathan Lifflander [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 20:48:05 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
charmxi: distinguish correctly between "fake" reference and actual pass-by-reference

8 years agoCkEntryOptions: example program now uses method chaining
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 19:21:15 +0000 (14:21 -0500)]
CkEntryOptions: example program now uses method chaining

8 years agoCkEntryOptions: allow method chaining so that multiple options can be set in one...
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 19:19:32 +0000 (14:19 -0500)]
CkEntryOptions: allow method chaining so that multiple options can be set in one statement

8 years agoNDMeshStreamer: don't force the user to define process in case it is not neeed,
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 18:00:24 +0000 (13:00 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: don't force the user to define process in case it is not neeed,
such as with the new chunk mesh streamer.

8 years ago1. Bug fix in chunk mesh streamer - set chunk index correctly.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 05:07:02 +0000 (00:07 -0500)]
1. Bug fix in chunk mesh streamer - set chunk index correctly.
2. Make buffer capacity calculation consistent between the two
   mesh streamer constructors

8 years agoVarious bug fixes in the new chunk mesh streamer.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 23 Oct 2012 23:32:45 +0000 (18:32 -0500)]
Various bug fixes in the new chunk mesh streamer.

8 years agoBug fix - off by one error when calculating number of chunks.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 23 Oct 2012 20:14:00 +0000 (15:14 -0500)]
Bug fix - off by one error when calculating number of chunks.

8 years agoIn the new chunk streamer, process chunks correctly at intermediate destination.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 23 Oct 2012 19:44:13 +0000 (14:44 -0500)]
In the new chunk streamer, process chunks correctly at intermediate destination.

8 years agoNew API for sending arrays of data items.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 23 Oct 2012 06:40:28 +0000 (01:40 -0500)]
New API for sending arrays of data items.

8 years agomerge charm
Xiang Ni [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 18:17:08 +0000 (13:17 -0500)]
merge charm

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into xiang/optChkp
Xiang Ni [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 17:18:26 +0000 (12:18 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into xiang/optChkp

Conflicts:
src/ck-core/cklocation.C
src/ck-ldb/GreedyLB.C
src/conv-core/convcore.c

8 years agominor
Xiang Ni [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 17:14:09 +0000 (12:14 -0500)]
minor

8 years agoFix a bug by moving lb related code within #if
Harshitha [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 09:11:02 +0000 (04:11 -0500)]
Fix a bug by moving lb related code within #if

8 years agoscheme for checkpoint group data
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 09:01:46 +0000 (09:01 +0000)]
scheme for checkpoint group data

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb harshitha/adaptive_lb
Harshitha [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 06:55:23 +0000 (01:55 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb

8 years agoAdd a flag to provide timer for the case of no objs in Meta-Balancer
Harshitha [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 06:54:58 +0000 (01:54 -0500)]
Add a flag to provide timer for the case of no objs in Meta-Balancer

8 years agofixed a typo
Bilge Acun [Wed, 24 Oct 2012 04:47:18 +0000 (23:47 -0500)]
fixed a typo

8 years agominor
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 23 Oct 2012 20:40:44 +0000 (20:40 +0000)]
minor

8 years agoCkCache is now changed to be a template class on the CacheKey type.
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 23 Oct 2012 20:11:52 +0000 (15:11 -0500)]
CkCache is now changed to be a template class on the CacheKey type.

8 years agoadd definition for CmiInt16
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 23 Oct 2012 19:06:31 +0000 (14:06 -0500)]
add definition for CmiInt16

8 years agocharmxi: do not ignore 'const', instead propagate it in a limited manner for now
Jonathan Lifflander [Tue, 23 Oct 2012 04:33:30 +0000 (23:33 -0500)]
charmxi: do not ignore 'const', instead propagate it in a limited manner for now

Full propagation breaks PUP.

8 years agosdag: fix bug generating references in SDAG entry methods
Jonathan Lifflander [Tue, 23 Oct 2012 02:15:12 +0000 (21:15 -0500)]
sdag: fix bug generating references in SDAG entry methods

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 22 Oct 2012 23:49:03 +0000 (18:49 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agoFixing a bug with ctrl message scheme
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 22 Oct 2012 23:45:24 +0000 (18:45 -0500)]
Fixing a bug with ctrl message scheme

8 years agostreaming regarding changes
Xiang Ni [Mon, 22 Oct 2012 20:23:04 +0000 (20:23 +0000)]
streaming regarding changes

8 years agoadd flag for FT in BGQ timer
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 22 Oct 2012 19:16:03 +0000 (19:16 +0000)]
add flag for FT in BGQ timer

8 years agoadd AMPI extension MPI_Get_argc and MPI_get_argv for Fortran.
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 22 Oct 2012 16:54:33 +0000 (11:54 -0500)]
add AMPI extension MPI_Get_argc and MPI_get_argv for Fortran.

8 years agoSDAG: eliminate pointless returned value that made clang warn when missing at end...
Phil Miller [Mon, 22 Oct 2012 05:05:00 +0000 (00:05 -0500)]
SDAG: eliminate pointless returned value that made clang warn when missing at end-of-function

8 years agoSDAG case: don't leak when triggers that are cancelled
Phil Miller [Mon, 22 Oct 2012 04:59:14 +0000 (23:59 -0500)]
SDAG case: don't leak when triggers that are cancelled

8 years agoParenthesize macro expression - caught by a clang warning on its usage
Phil Miller [Mon, 22 Oct 2012 04:01:31 +0000 (23:01 -0500)]
Parenthesize macro expression - caught by a clang warning on its usage

8 years agodocs: sdag: fix incorrect code (capitalization problem)
Jonathan Lifflander [Sun, 21 Oct 2012 20:08:06 +0000 (15:08 -0500)]
docs: sdag: fix incorrect code (capitalization problem)

8 years agoadd protect for FT
Nikhil Jain [Sun, 21 Oct 2012 19:03:26 +0000 (19:03 +0000)]
add protect for FT

8 years agomore optimization
Xiang Ni [Sun, 21 Oct 2012 19:01:28 +0000 (19:01 +0000)]
more optimization

8 years agomake depends related changes for Meta-Balancer
Harshitha [Sun, 21 Oct 2012 03:56:45 +0000 (22:56 -0500)]
make depends related changes for Meta-Balancer

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb
Harshitha [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 23:43:57 +0000 (18:43 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb

8 years agoFix a bug in the init
Harshitha [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 23:42:45 +0000 (18:42 -0500)]
Fix a bug in the init

8 years agominor
Harshitha [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 22:49:42 +0000 (17:49 -0500)]
minor

8 years agoCkIO: Don't try to forward zero-length data
Phil Miller [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 04:32:11 +0000 (23:32 -0500)]
CkIO: Don't try to forward zero-length data

8 years agoCkIO: wrap write stripes around the set of PEs involved
Phil Miller [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 04:31:42 +0000 (23:31 -0500)]
CkIO: wrap write stripes around the set of PEs involved

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb
Harshitha [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 23:11:35 +0000 (18:11 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb

8 years agoUsing avg utilization instead of min utilization
Harshitha [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 23:06:04 +0000 (18:06 -0500)]
Using avg utilization instead of min utilization

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 21:04:05 +0000 (21:04 +0000)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agoAdding linking support for zlib library on BG/P.
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 21:03:18 +0000 (21:03 +0000)]
Adding linking support for zlib library on BG/P.

8 years agocharmxi: fill in definitions for templated CBase_ types
Aaron Becker [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 20:29:19 +0000 (15:29 -0500)]
charmxi: fill in definitions for templated CBase_ types

normally CBase_ types are typedefs, but for templated types they are
classes that inherit from CBaseT types. Provide definitions for
constructors and pup methods that call the appropriate CBaseT functions,
rather than leaving the CBase_ implementation empty.

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 16:39:15 +0000 (09:39 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agofix openMP performance problem in jacobi-gauss-seidel
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 16:38:39 +0000 (09:38 -0700)]
fix openMP performance problem in jacobi-gauss-seidel

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb
Harshitha [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 16:04:57 +0000 (11:04 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb

8 years agoSetting load balancing time for hybrid lb
Harshitha [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 16:04:53 +0000 (11:04 -0500)]
Setting load balancing time for hybrid lb

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 15:15:09 +0000 (15:15 +0000)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agoFixing a compilation bug on BG/P.
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 15:14:25 +0000 (15:14 +0000)]
Fixing a compilation bug on BG/P.

8 years agoSDAG: case statement: add a new case construct to SDAG
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 00:37:25 +0000 (19:37 -0500)]
SDAG: case statement: add a new case construct to SDAG

Semantics: this construct defines an disjunction over a set of 'when' clauses:
only one 'when' out of a set will ever be triggered. All others speculatively
have their trigger set and when one is fulfilled the others are deleted.

Example syntax:
case {
     when a() { }
     when b(), d() { }
     when c() { }
     ...
}

8 years agoAdding support for user specified mapping order on BGQ
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 01:41:20 +0000 (01:41 +0000)]
Adding support for user specified mapping order on BGQ
Usage = to the runjob command, add an environment variable RANK_ORDER.
Consider A - 0, B - 1, C - 2, D - 3, E - 4, T - 5; given a mapping
--mapping=ABCDET, corresponsing RANK_ORDER is --envs RANK_ORDER="0 1 2 3 4 5"
i.e. corresponding dimensios in the order they are mapped.

8 years agodo not detect the failure on node 0 when load balancing is undergoing
Xiang Ni [Fri, 19 Oct 2012 00:51:44 +0000 (19:51 -0500)]
do not detect the failure on node 0 when load balancing is undergoing

8 years agoFixing disk checkpoint mechanism.
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 18 Oct 2012 22:06:26 +0000 (17:06 -0500)]
Fixing disk checkpoint mechanism.

8 years agoFixing a compilation but with xlc.
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 18 Oct 2012 21:52:39 +0000 (21:52 +0000)]
Fixing a compilation but with xlc.

8 years agooptimize chkp after ldb
Xiang Ni [Thu, 18 Oct 2012 07:33:24 +0000 (02:33 -0500)]
optimize chkp after ldb

8 years agoprint when user calls checkpoint but no syncft build
Xiang Ni [Thu, 18 Oct 2012 06:59:24 +0000 (01:59 -0500)]
print when user calls checkpoint but no syncft build

8 years agofix gnu compilation error on Blue Gene/Q
Abhinav Bhatele [Thu, 18 Oct 2012 01:34:16 +0000 (01:34 +0000)]
fix gnu compilation error on Blue Gene/Q

8 years agoadd more ckloop reduction type
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 22:27:25 +0000 (17:27 -0500)]
add more ckloop reduction type

8 years agoadded miss .h file
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 22:24:41 +0000 (17:24 -0500)]
added miss .h file

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 22:16:19 +0000 (17:16 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agoadd ckloop for Jacobi
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 22:16:12 +0000 (17:16 -0500)]
add ckloop for Jacobi

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 16:17:41 +0000 (11:17 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agochange the way flush log warnings are printed.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 17 Oct 2012 16:16:24 +0000 (11:16 -0500)]
change the way flush log warnings are printed.
The print is delayed to the end, with number of occurrings and PE numbers.

8 years agoDon't allow __int128 when building GPU Manager, as nvcc does not support it.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 16 Oct 2012 23:54:21 +0000 (18:54 -0500)]
Don't allow __int128 when building GPU Manager, as nvcc does not support it.

8 years agobluegeneq-xlc: disable broken 64-bit __int128 until further notice
Phil Miller [Tue, 16 Oct 2012 22:49:33 +0000 (17:49 -0500)]
bluegeneq-xlc: disable broken 64-bit __int128 until further notice

Per Jeff Hammond's message to the Vesta/Mira early users' discussion list
(below), the XL compilers don't properly generate a 128-bit type for
__int128. Pass the flag disabling this so that runtime and client code doesn't
accidentally stumble on it. This should be reverted once the compilers are
fixed.

> From: Jeff Hammond <jhammond@alcf.anl.gov>
> Date: Tue, 16 Oct 2012 17:37:26 -0500
> Message-ID: <CAGKz=u+syCU_wURrWxj6TEF-e9QK0nHHp6mORW5Z=M1JaEwPzg@mail.gmail.com>
> To: early-users-discuss <early-users-discuss@alcf.anl.gov>
> Subject: [Early-users-discuss] some known issues and their workarounds
> List-Archive: <https://lists.alcf.anl.gov/mailman/private/early-users-discuss>

> Here are some issues that we know about that are not going to be fixed
> immediately because they are either noncritical or require substantial
> effort to fix and will take some time to be resolved.  I am sending
> this for your convenience, particularly if you might get bitten by a
> silent error on them.

> 1) IBM XLC++ does not implement __int128 properly.  It is a 64b type
> rather than a 128b one.  If you have an automated build system that
> tests for this, please use "-qnokeyword=__int128".  I completely
> understand that one can say "but the whole point of an automated
> buildsystem is to not have to know the answers in advance."  To this,
> I respond, "With great computing power, comes great compiler
> responsibility." :-)