charm.git
9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: bug fixes to staged completion scheme
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 15 May 2012 22:11:17 +0000 (17:11 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: bug fixes to staged completion scheme

9 years agoquick bigsim update no need to make sts file
Ehsan Totoni [Tue, 15 May 2012 17:32:15 +0000 (12:32 -0500)]
quick bigsim update no need to make sts file

9 years agobigsim emulator write sts file
Ehsan Totoni [Tue, 15 May 2012 17:26:11 +0000 (12:26 -0500)]
bigsim emulator write sts file

9 years agoMinor variable misnomer in BGQ build.
Edgar Solomonik [Tue, 15 May 2012 02:14:41 +0000 (02:14 +0000)]
Minor variable misnomer in BGQ build.

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: fixing a memory leak when using more than one
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 11 May 2012 19:28:29 +0000 (14:28 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: fixing a memory leak when using more than one
phase of streaming with staged completion.

9 years agoturn largepage off
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 11 May 2012 16:59:09 +0000 (11:59 -0500)]
turn largepage off

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 11 May 2012 05:11:30 +0000 (00:11 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agofix memory leak due to no free of rdma request
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 11 May 2012 05:11:23 +0000 (00:11 -0500)]
fix memory leak due to no free of rdma request

9 years agoAdd the option of block mapping in the SMP node level for the default mapping of...
Chao Mei [Thu, 10 May 2012 03:19:26 +0000 (20:19 -0700)]
Add the option of block mapping in the SMP node level for the default mapping of array elements

9 years agoExample charm++/matmul: generalize implementation body to varying sizes
Phil Miller [Tue, 8 May 2012 19:40:15 +0000 (14:40 -0500)]
Example charm++/matmul: generalize implementation body to varying sizes

9 years agoExample charm++/matmul: simplify logic for when to pass blocks
Phil Miller [Tue, 8 May 2012 19:30:42 +0000 (14:30 -0500)]
Example charm++/matmul: simplify logic for when to pass blocks

9 years agoExample: Simple Charm++ matrix-matrix multiply
Phil Miller [Tue, 8 May 2012 19:01:17 +0000 (14:01 -0500)]
Example: Simple Charm++ matrix-matrix multiply

9 years agofixed a race condition when an insert element message arrives before CkArray is created
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 8 May 2012 14:24:34 +0000 (09:24 -0500)]
fixed a race condition when an insert element message arrives before CkArray is created

9 years agoAdd a feature to test whether a SMP node has idle PEs
Chao Mei [Tue, 8 May 2012 04:10:40 +0000 (21:10 -0700)]
Add a feature to test whether a SMP node has idle PEs

9 years agoMinor: disable children notification in node-level if it is set
Chao Mei [Tue, 8 May 2012 04:02:56 +0000 (21:02 -0700)]
Minor: disable children notification in node-level if it is set

9 years agoBug fix: forget to add the starting iterating index of the loop
Chao Mei [Mon, 7 May 2012 19:38:58 +0000 (12:38 -0700)]
Bug fix: forget to add the starting iterating index of the loop

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: code cleanup
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sat, 5 May 2012 00:37:23 +0000 (19:37 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: code cleanup

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: checking in new termination scheme based on stage by stage flushing.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Thu, 3 May 2012 23:30:30 +0000 (18:30 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: checking in new termination scheme based on stage by stage flushing.

9 years agoFixing kNeighbor benchmark to use broadcast instead of iterating over array elements...
Harshitha [Thu, 3 May 2012 22:02:00 +0000 (17:02 -0500)]
Fixing kNeighbor benchmark to use broadcast instead of iterating over array elements and invoking entry method

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 3 May 2012 14:49:14 +0000 (09:49 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoRemoving hole detection in determinants during recovery.
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 3 May 2012 14:48:29 +0000 (09:48 -0500)]
Removing hole detection in determinants during recovery.

9 years agowarining if the number of SMP threads is greater than the number of physical cores
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 3 May 2012 02:52:24 +0000 (21:52 -0500)]
warining if the number of SMP threads is greater than the number of physical cores

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: disable immediate send optimization by default
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 1 May 2012 22:04:25 +0000 (17:04 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: disable immediate send optimization by default

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: fix to previous commit
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 1 May 2012 19:34:07 +0000 (14:34 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: fix to previous commit

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: switch into immediate sending mode when volume of data is small
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 1 May 2012 19:22:37 +0000 (14:22 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: switch into immediate sending mode when volume of data is small

9 years agoCkCache: keep cacheSync() as a local entry method
Pritish Jetley [Tue, 1 May 2012 19:10:54 +0000 (19:10 +0000)]
CkCache: keep cacheSync() as a local entry method

9 years agoremove some pointless trailing whitespace
Eric Bohm [Tue, 1 May 2012 18:20:27 +0000 (13:20 -0500)]
remove some pointless trailing whitespace

9 years agoAdd support for PAPI projections tracing on Cray XE
Eric Bohm [Tue, 1 May 2012 18:17:17 +0000 (13:17 -0500)]
Add support for PAPI projections tracing on Cray XE
Specifically set up the 6 counters used in the SPP project as the
default set of counters for Cray XE as these are known to be conflict free.

9 years agodon't use entry method to requestData(): lowers tracing overhead for projections
Pritish Jetley [Mon, 30 Apr 2012 03:52:15 +0000 (03:52 +0000)]
don't use entry method to requestData(): lowers tracing overhead for projections

9 years agoLocation Manager: adding an option to perform global update of a chare
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sun, 29 Apr 2012 04:44:14 +0000 (23:44 -0500)]
Location Manager: adding an option to perform global update of a chare
array index when migrating.

9 years agoAdding node awareness to CommAwareRefineLB
Harshitha [Sat, 28 Apr 2012 19:21:05 +0000 (14:21 -0500)]
Adding node awareness to CommAwareRefineLB

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer.h: adding a function to flush to intermediate destinations
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 27 Apr 2012 21:04:13 +0000 (16:04 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer.h: adding a function to flush to intermediate destinations
instead of directly to the final destinations

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: compute destination location once per sequence of items
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 27 Apr 2012 20:30:28 +0000 (15:30 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: compute destination location once per sequence of items
for the same destination

9 years agoMeshStreamer: Determine location only if data item needs to be transmitted further
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 27 Apr 2012 18:34:34 +0000 (13:34 -0500)]
MeshStreamer: Determine location only if data item needs to be transmitted further

9 years agoChanges in message logging protocol to make it safer. Determinants are all received...
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 26 Apr 2012 20:46:55 +0000 (15:46 -0500)]
Changes in message logging protocol to make it safer. Determinants are all received before messages during recovery.

9 years agominor fix emenese2/pessimisticmlog
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 26 Apr 2012 01:01:42 +0000 (20:01 -0500)]
minor fix

9 years agofixed an issue that TopoManager used in multiple workder threads in SMP mode.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 26 Apr 2012 00:54:44 +0000 (19:54 -0500)]
fixed an issue that TopoManager used in multiple workder threads in SMP mode.

9 years agobug fix in cray XTTorus
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 23 Apr 2012 06:51:55 +0000 (01:51 -0500)]
bug fix in cray XTTorus

9 years agoAdding fault tolerance support for individual chares. Upon message reception, determi...
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 21 Apr 2012 20:51:57 +0000 (15:51 -0500)]
Adding fault tolerance support for individual chares. Upon message reception, determinant information is examined and processed.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 20:57:25 +0000 (15:57 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoTopoManager: return result from CmiGetHopsBetweenRanks C wrapper
Phil Miller [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 20:57:13 +0000 (15:57 -0500)]
TopoManager: return result from CmiGetHopsBetweenRanks C wrapper

9 years agoAdding fault tolerance support for chares.
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 20:56:55 +0000 (15:56 -0500)]
Adding fault tolerance support for chares.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 20:16:53 +0000 (16:16 -0400)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadded filename to printTopo
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 20:16:42 +0000 (16:16 -0400)]
added filename to printTopo

9 years agoa C wrapper for CmiGetHopsBetweenRanks
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 20 Apr 2012 07:17:18 +0000 (02:17 -0500)]
a C wrapper for CmiGetHopsBetweenRanks

9 years agoAdding fclose for printTopo
Nikhil Jain [Thu, 19 Apr 2012 22:26:04 +0000 (17:26 -0500)]
Adding fclose for printTopo

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 19 Apr 2012 02:00:44 +0000 (21:00 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agonodegroup message should go to charm node queue after handler restored.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 19 Apr 2012 01:59:58 +0000 (20:59 -0500)]
nodegroup message should go to charm node queue after handler restored.

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: removing several instances of incorrect usage of static keyword
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 23:48:27 +0000 (18:48 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: removing several instances of incorrect usage of static keyword

9 years agocompletion: give a callback when all producers are done
Phil Miller [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 23:20:42 +0000 (18:20 -0500)]
completion: give a callback when all producers are done

NDMeshStreamer can use this to drive a flush as soon as all of the
input data has been deposited, rather than potentially waiting for the
next periodic flush or forcing the client code to reduce separately.

9 years agocompletion: use callback from SDAG state variable, rather than resaving it
Phil Miller [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 23:08:33 +0000 (18:08 -0500)]
completion: use callback from SDAG state variable, rather than resaving it

9 years agocompletion: abolish tabs mixed with spaces
Phil Miller [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 23:07:05 +0000 (18:07 -0500)]
completion: abolish tabs mixed with spaces

9 years agocompletion: indent everything to 2 spaces
Phil Miller [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 22:50:11 +0000 (17:50 -0500)]
completion: indent everything to 2 spaces

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: minor change to improve code readability
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 22:53:02 +0000 (17:53 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: minor change to improve code readability

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: replaced the different MeshStreamerArrayClient classes with a single
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 20:10:23 +0000 (15:10 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: replaced the different MeshStreamerArrayClient classes with a single
array client class indexed by CkArrayIndex. Removed the second template
parameter to MeshStreamerArrayClient.

9 years agoAdding a CkArrayIndex constructor that takes a single int.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 18:59:53 +0000 (13:59 -0500)]
Adding a CkArrayIndex constructor that takes a single int.
The constructor is needed in NDMeshStreamer to allow using int
instead of CkArrayIndex1D for savings in communication volume.
The change removes type safety when using multidimensional
array indices in user code. It should be possible to recover
the type safety using a runtime assert on the number of dimensions
in an index in genereated code, although this still needs to be implemented.

9 years agotest synchronization primitives
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 17:43:58 +0000 (12:43 -0500)]
test synchronization primitives

9 years agocompiler may optimize away X in "true || X"
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 17 Apr 2012 22:11:19 +0000 (17:11 -0500)]
compiler may optimize away X in "true || X"
but X must be executed.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 17 Apr 2012 20:45:03 +0000 (16:45 -0400)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agominor fix for print information
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 17 Apr 2012 20:44:40 +0000 (16:44 -0400)]
minor fix for print information

9 years agotrace-projections: gzip logs by default
Phil Miller [Tue, 17 Apr 2012 20:32:02 +0000 (15:32 -0500)]
trace-projections: gzip logs by default

9 years agomaking +printTopo write to a file
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 17 Apr 2012 19:15:38 +0000 (14:15 -0500)]
making +printTopo write to a file

9 years agoa bug in calling allocNewTLSSeg
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 17 Apr 2012 02:27:33 +0000 (21:27 -0500)]
a bug in calling allocNewTLSSeg

9 years agoDocs: specify that custom reducers should be registered in an initnode routine
Phil Miller [Mon, 16 Apr 2012 20:05:39 +0000 (15:05 -0500)]
Docs: specify that custom reducers should be registered in an initnode routine

9 years agoDocs: describe how to get the return value of a [sync] entry method
Phil Miller [Mon, 16 Apr 2012 19:52:01 +0000 (14:52 -0500)]
Docs: describe how to get the return value of a [sync] entry method

9 years agocombined two almost identical functions.
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 14 Apr 2012 03:04:06 +0000 (22:04 -0500)]
combined two almost identical functions.

9 years agofix a bug when persistent does not work if CMK_USE_OOB is disabled.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 13 Apr 2012 21:58:31 +0000 (16:58 -0500)]
fix a bug when persistent does not work if CMK_USE_OOB is disabled.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 13 Apr 2012 21:03:15 +0000 (16:03 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadd -lrt for clock_gettime
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 13 Apr 2012 17:22:49 +0000 (10:22 -0700)]
add -lrt for clock_gettime

9 years agoChange macros to static variables for the sake of easy tuning.
Chao Mei [Thu, 12 Apr 2012 22:24:44 +0000 (17:24 -0500)]
Change macros to static variables for the sake of easy tuning.

9 years agoupdate
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 12 Apr 2012 20:43:36 +0000 (15:43 -0500)]
update

9 years agopxshm only default now in non-smp
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 12 Apr 2012 20:23:41 +0000 (15:23 -0500)]
pxshm only default now in non-smp

9 years agominor change to Makefile for depend file
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 11 Apr 2012 21:07:29 +0000 (17:07 -0400)]
minor change to Makefile for depend file

9 years agoAdds the Makefile for NodeHelper lib
Chao Mei [Wed, 11 Apr 2012 20:27:28 +0000 (15:27 -0500)]
Adds the Makefile for NodeHelper lib

9 years agoChange path to charm directory
Chao Mei [Wed, 11 Apr 2012 20:13:39 +0000 (15:13 -0500)]
Change path to charm directory

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: for virtual functions that cannot be made pure virtual,
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 11 Apr 2012 19:57:08 +0000 (14:57 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: for virtual functions that cannot be made pure virtual,
do a CkAbort inside the default implementation to prevent difficult
to debug errors when user's definition of the pure virtual is missing
or incorrect

9 years agoMerge nodehelper lib and example codes into charm
Chao Mei [Wed, 11 Apr 2012 19:39:52 +0000 (14:39 -0500)]
Merge nodehelper lib and example codes into charm

9 years agoNodeHelper: move to corresponding directories
Chao Mei [Wed, 11 Apr 2012 19:03:22 +0000 (14:03 -0500)]
NodeHelper: move to corresponding directories

9 years agoadd TESTOPTS
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 11 Apr 2012 16:25:51 +0000 (11:25 -0500)]
add TESTOPTS

9 years agoadd TESTOPTS
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 11 Apr 2012 16:24:24 +0000 (11:24 -0500)]
add TESTOPTS

9 years agoPGI C++: Disable automatic 'using namespace std;'
Phil Miller [Mon, 9 Apr 2012 23:25:50 +0000 (18:25 -0500)]
PGI C++: Disable automatic 'using namespace std;'

9 years agobigsim quick tutorial added
Ehsan Totoni [Mon, 9 Apr 2012 15:17:14 +0000 (10:17 -0500)]
bigsim quick tutorial added

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 9 Apr 2012 04:56:56 +0000 (23:56 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadded PumpLocalTransaction cap
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 9 Apr 2012 04:56:50 +0000 (23:56 -0500)]
added PumpLocalTransaction cap

9 years agoTest entry method templates: register EPs and reducers in initnode, not initproc...
Phil Miller [Mon, 9 Apr 2012 00:33:28 +0000 (19:33 -0500)]
Test entry method templates: register EPs and reducers in initnode, not initproc, to fix crashes

9 years agoRevert "Test entry method templates: move deps above boilerplate rules"
Phil Miller [Mon, 9 Apr 2012 00:32:23 +0000 (19:32 -0500)]
Revert "Test entry method templates: move deps above boilerplate rules"

This reverts commit 90ac939b5416d431ed268cd171efbc7ca6793d88.
Make picks the first target by default. Not what was intended.

We really need a fixed standard pattern for test makefiles. Life would
be much easier.

9 years agoTest entry method templates: move deps above boilerplate rules
Phil Miller [Sun, 8 Apr 2012 22:12:39 +0000 (17:12 -0500)]
Test entry method templates: move deps above boilerplate rules

9 years agoTest entry method templates: back away from auto-deps until charmc can wrap it correctly
Phil Miller [Sun, 8 Apr 2012 22:02:26 +0000 (17:02 -0500)]
Test entry method templates: back away from auto-deps until charmc can wrap it correctly

9 years agoimplementated progress engine
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 8 Apr 2012 21:18:02 +0000 (16:18 -0500)]
implementated progress engine

9 years agocheck queue name in persistent
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 8 Apr 2012 20:59:30 +0000 (15:59 -0500)]
check queue name in persistent

9 years agofix a bug in memory registration of big messages
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 8 Apr 2012 18:10:27 +0000 (13:10 -0500)]
fix a bug in memory registration of big messages

9 years agoadded OOB receiving
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 8 Apr 2012 06:31:00 +0000 (01:31 -0500)]
added OOB receiving

9 years agoBug fix in XTTorus.h
Nikhil Jain [Sun, 8 Apr 2012 02:35:40 +0000 (21:35 -0500)]
Bug fix in XTTorus.h

9 years agoTest charm++/method_templates: put runtime arguments after the binary name, to satisf...
Phil Miller [Sat, 7 Apr 2012 15:00:33 +0000 (10:00 -0500)]
Test charm++/method_templates: put runtime arguments after the binary name, to satisfy charmrun

9 years agoBug fix in coordinatesToRank of Cray Torus
Nikhil Jain [Sat, 7 Apr 2012 07:57:22 +0000 (02:57 -0500)]
Bug fix in coordinatesToRank of Cray Torus

9 years agoUsed astyle --style=kr formatted source codes.
Chao Mei [Sat, 7 Apr 2012 06:12:22 +0000 (01:12 -0500)]
Used astyle --style=kr formatted source codes.

9 years ago1. added output if using charm-level notification
Chao Mei [Sat, 7 Apr 2012 06:07:00 +0000 (01:07 -0500)]
1. added output if using charm-level notification
2. fixed a bug in sending notification msgs for Quiesence Detection. Since I only used CmiPushPE to send messages, the QD state should be manually maintained on the sender side.
3. removed all trailing white spaces on every line.

9 years agourgent send polling often
Yanhua Sun [Sat, 7 Apr 2012 03:38:06 +0000 (22:38 -0500)]
urgent send polling often

9 years agoMinor changes in removing the extra nodehelper proxy
Chao Mei [Sat, 7 Apr 2012 03:01:02 +0000 (22:01 -0500)]
Minor changes in removing the extra nodehelper proxy

9 years ago1. Simplified the parallelization interface a little bit. The Nodehelper proxy could...
Chao Mei [Sat, 7 Apr 2012 02:47:14 +0000 (21:47 -0500)]
1. Simplified the parallelization interface a little bit. The Nodehelper proxy could be omitted.
2. Added optimized support to use charm-level notification scheme so that msg priority could be used if needed. In this optimized scheme, no memory allocation happens for notifying loop parallelization on a node.