charm.git
9 years agoChanged the interOperate to a global variable so that it is initialized from
Chao Mei [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 21:14:53 +0000 (15:14 -0600)]
Changed the interOperate to a global variable so that it is initialized from
CharmLibInit instead of from the machine layer. The code changes in
machine-common-core.c are also reduced.

9 years agoRemove the INTEROP macro
Chao Mei [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 20:22:49 +0000 (14:22 -0600)]
Remove the INTEROP macro

9 years agoRemoved _initCharm from machine layer to make the interoperate cleaner
Chao Mei [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 20:20:15 +0000 (14:20 -0600)]
Removed _initCharm from machine layer to make the interoperate cleaner

9 years agomoving away from hash defines to variables
Nikhil Jain [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 05:11:20 +0000 (23:11 -0600)]
moving away from hash defines to variables

9 years agoMore changes, trying to make it cleaner
Nikhil Jain [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 04:20:12 +0000 (22:20 -0600)]
More changes, trying to make it cleaner

9 years agoMore changes which i missed earlier
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 2 Mar 2012 20:50:32 +0000 (14:50 -0600)]
More changes which i missed earlier

9 years agoInitialization and read onlies at begining
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 13 Jan 2012 04:37:06 +0000 (22:37 -0600)]
Initialization and read onlies at begining

9 years agoChanges to enable multi library calls, in a time shared manner
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 11 Jan 2012 02:20:33 +0000 (20:20 -0600)]
Changes to enable multi library calls, in a time shared manner

9 years agoApplying Chao's inital commits to latest branch of charm,
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 11 Jan 2012 01:32:10 +0000 (19:32 -0600)]
Applying Chao's inital commits to latest branch of charm,
in the process removing redundant code and using a hash define
based coding pattern

9 years agoBug fix for armci with mempool based isomalloc, as modifying
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 09:32:09 +0000 (03:32 -0600)]
Bug fix for armci with mempool based isomalloc, as modifying
the example code to test migration

9 years agoBug fix for globals enabling the use of mempool based isomalloc
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 07:23:52 +0000 (01:23 -0600)]
Bug fix for globals enabling the use of mempool based isomalloc

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 22:31:23 +0000 (14:31 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agodisable RDMA test when SMP (since there seems to be bug for ibverbs layer with SMP...
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 22:28:56 +0000 (14:28 -0800)]
disable RDMA test when SMP (since there seems to be bug for ibverbs layer with SMP to fix)
Also change the originally rather bizarre use of node group element proxies.

9 years agominor change to suppress compiler warnings
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 22:27:16 +0000 (14:27 -0800)]
minor change to suppress compiler warnings

9 years agocharmxi: mark commit ID string as coming from C
Phil Miller [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 16:55:01 +0000 (10:55 -0600)]
charmxi: mark commit ID string as coming from C

9 years agorollback the changes to make mpi ft_restart work
Xiang Ni [Mon, 9 Jan 2012 02:07:59 +0000 (20:07 -0600)]
rollback the changes to make mpi ft_restart work

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 8 Jan 2012 21:25:20 +0000 (15:25 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agocharmxi: Use host compiler to embed commit ID
Phil Miller [Sun, 8 Jan 2012 17:25:05 +0000 (11:25 -0600)]
charmxi: Use host compiler to embed commit ID

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 8 Jan 2012 06:04:50 +0000 (00:04 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoa CkCompactVec, which grows at front, and remove at the end linearly
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 8 Jan 2012 05:52:39 +0000 (23:52 -0600)]
a CkCompactVec, which grows at front, and remove at the end linearly
the vector keeps an offset, which represents all elements before offset
are T(0)

9 years agochange insideTraceBracket to static
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 8 Jan 2012 05:50:40 +0000 (23:50 -0600)]
change insideTraceBracket to static

9 years agofix a memory leak
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 8 Jan 2012 05:16:06 +0000 (23:16 -0600)]
fix a memory leak

9 years agocharmxi: print commit ID when erroring out
Phil Miller [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 23:25:14 +0000 (17:25 -0600)]
charmxi: print commit ID when erroring out

9 years agoRevert "Drop requirement for user code to call CBase_foo::pup(p)"
Phil Miller [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 08:04:59 +0000 (02:04 -0600)]
Revert "Drop requirement for user code to call CBase_foo::pup(p)"

This reverts commit 0bd6105523351c97b7d6424c3b0227d6e5326498.

Conflicts:

doc/charm++/pup.tex
src/ck-core/cklocation.C

9 years agoRevert "TCharm & AMPI: Adapt to automatic pup of base class"
Phil Miller [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 07:53:06 +0000 (01:53 -0600)]
Revert "TCharm &  AMPI: Adapt to automatic pup of base class"

This reverts commit b9446be574ca6dce6048e5796ebdabb5a52787ca.

9 years agoRevert "Adapt checkpointing code to call base_pup methods"
Phil Miller [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 07:51:24 +0000 (01:51 -0600)]
Revert "Adapt checkpointing code to call base_pup methods"

This reverts commit 60eaf3ad33cf4d6777d6dcb5f54509afb612f571.

9 years agoReinsert call to CBase::pup in place of deleted ArrayElement1D::pup
Phil Miller [Sat, 7 Jan 2012 07:50:37 +0000 (01:50 -0600)]
Reinsert call to CBase::pup in place of deleted ArrayElement1D::pup

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Chao Mei [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 23:17:53 +0000 (17:17 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoImplemented an alternative to use MPI_Irecv for msgs that use rzv protocol.
Chao Mei [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 23:15:43 +0000 (17:15 -0600)]
Implemented an alternative to use MPI_Irecv for msgs that use rzv protocol.

9 years agoGPUManager: minor changes to prevent most warnings.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 04:30:41 +0000 (22:30 -0600)]
GPUManager: minor changes to prevent most warnings.

9 years agoCleaning up charm++ CUDA examples.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 04:29:12 +0000 (22:29 -0600)]
Cleaning up charm++ CUDA examples.

9 years agomanual fix of priority and mapping
Ehsan [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 03:01:58 +0000 (21:01 -0600)]
manual fix of priority and mapping

9 years agoGPU Manager: remove assumed location of CUDA toolkit
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 6 Jan 2012 00:53:22 +0000 (18:53 -0600)]
GPU Manager: remove assumed location of CUDA toolkit

9 years agoadd magic number to chare base class.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 23:03:47 +0000 (17:03 -0600)]
add magic number to chare base class.
sanity check after pup to make sure super class is passed.
fixed  migration constructor calling chain.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 23:02:20 +0000 (17:02 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadd test for GreedyLB
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 23:01:34 +0000 (17:01 -0600)]
add test for GreedyLB

9 years agocharmxi: factor out CK_TEMPLATES_ONLY guard generation
Phil Miller [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 20:28:34 +0000 (14:28 -0600)]
charmxi: factor out CK_TEMPLATES_ONLY guard generation

9 years agoMerge commit '30f31a362b23bc054c1e3244d8c6c98758dcfe57' into charm
Phil Miller [Thu, 5 Jan 2012 01:05:58 +0000 (19:05 -0600)]
Merge commit '30f31a362b23bc054c1e3244d8c6c98758dcfe57' into charm

9 years agoAdding GPU Manager support for cray-xe build of charm.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 23:20:29 +0000 (17:20 -0600)]
Adding GPU Manager support for cray-xe build of charm.

9 years agominor change about indentation
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 21:30:53 +0000 (15:30 -0600)]
minor change about indentation

9 years agominor change
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 21:29:31 +0000 (15:29 -0600)]
minor change

9 years agoadd a flag CMK_MALLINFO_IS_BROKEN to allow disabling using of mallinfo if it is broken.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 21:12:12 +0000 (13:12 -0800)]
add a flag CMK_MALLINFO_IS_BROKEN to allow disabling using of mallinfo if it is broken.

9 years agohandle pgcc properly
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 21:10:20 +0000 (13:10 -0800)]
handle pgcc properly

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 21:09:55 +0000 (13:09 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agominor clean up of flags
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 21:09:29 +0000 (13:09 -0800)]
minor clean up of flags

9 years agoComlib: Manager should inherit from some Chare-ish base class
Phil Miller [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 07:32:04 +0000 (01:32 -0600)]
Comlib: Manager should inherit from some Chare-ish base class

9 years agoA fresh implementation of post-recv scheme for MPI machine layer, including a dynamic...
Chao Mei [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 05:42:05 +0000 (23:42 -0600)]
A fresh implementation of post-recv scheme for MPI machine layer, including a dynamic post-recv scheme.

9 years agoMeshStreamer: removed one '%' operation, leading to a slight performance
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 00:28:21 +0000 (18:28 -0600)]
MeshStreamer: removed one '%' operation, leading to a slight performance
improvement.

9 years agoshould not even ask for thread level of support of MULTIPLE if the smp mode is comm_s...
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 3 Jan 2012 21:25:50 +0000 (15:25 -0600)]
should not even ask for thread level of support of MULTIPLE if the smp mode is comm_send_recv.

9 years agoMake the case that work threads send msgs optional if MPI_THREAD_MULTIPLE is provided...
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 Jan 2012 06:36:29 +0000 (00:36 -0600)]
Make the case that work threads send msgs optional if MPI_THREAD_MULTIPLE is provided. The default option is still to let comm. thread send and recv.

9 years agoMinor changes for code format and naming convention
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 Jan 2012 05:45:06 +0000 (23:45 -0600)]
Minor changes for code format and naming convention

9 years agoSimplified broadcast root setting with a minor bug fix when spanning tree is not...
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 Jan 2012 04:08:25 +0000 (22:08 -0600)]
Simplified broadcast root setting with a minor bug fix when spanning tree is not used in SMP case.

9 years agoMeshStreamer: rewrote location caching scheme using arrays instead of a map
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 2 Jan 2012 07:21:11 +0000 (01:21 -0600)]
MeshStreamer: rewrote location caching scheme using arrays instead of a map
to reduce overhead. With the optimization RandomAccess still runs a little
slower than without it so I am leaving it off by default.

9 years agoFix for static use in inline - getting rid of static usage
Nikhil Jain [Sun, 1 Jan 2012 21:08:00 +0000 (15:08 -0600)]
Fix for static use in inline - getting rid of static usage

9 years agoMinor change in mempool - saving size as power of two in slots
Nikhil Jain [Sun, 1 Jan 2012 08:19:14 +0000 (02:19 -0600)]
Minor change in mempool - saving size as power of two in slots
rather in terms of absolute number, corresponding changes
done in isomalloc

9 years agoAPI change to AdvanceCommunication
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 1 Jan 2012 04:10:48 +0000 (22:10 -0600)]
API change to AdvanceCommunication

9 years agominor change
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 23:50:52 +0000 (15:50 -0800)]
minor change

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 17:50:03 +0000 (09:50 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agocall PumpDatagramConnection every few millisecond (not just when idling) to make...
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 17:49:18 +0000 (09:49 -0800)]
call PumpDatagramConnection every few millisecond (not just when idling) to make sure connections are established.

9 years agochange due to API change of AdvanceCommunication()
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 17:44:13 +0000 (17:44 +0000)]
change due to API change of AdvanceCommunication()

9 years agoAPI change, LrtsAdvanceCommunication() now takes an extra parameter "whenidle"
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 17:34:19 +0000 (09:34 -0800)]
API change, LrtsAdvanceCommunication() now takes an extra parameter "whenidle"

9 years agocall PumpDatagramConnection only at idle time to avoid performance degradation.
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 17:23:28 +0000 (09:23 -0800)]
call PumpDatagramConnection only at idle time to avoid performance degradation.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 08:13:34 +0000 (00:13 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agocode clean up and a smsg buffer memory leak fix
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 08:12:52 +0000 (00:12 -0800)]
code clean up and a smsg buffer memory leak fix

9 years agoModified CUDA hello example to use current version of GPU Manager.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 07:14:33 +0000 (01:14 -0600)]
Modified CUDA hello example to use current version of GPU Manager.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 06:22:45 +0000 (22:22 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agomake dynamic smsgs a runtime option, instead of compile time one.
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 06:21:15 +0000 (22:21 -0800)]
make dynamic smsgs a runtime option, instead of compile time one.
Also +smsgConnection to specify initial smsgs connections.

9 years agoReducing number of iterations to fit in small memory systems
Nikhil Jain [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 04:54:41 +0000 (22:54 -0600)]
Reducing number of iterations to fit in small memory systems

9 years agochanges due to API change of AdvanceCommunication
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 23:41:36 +0000 (17:41 -0600)]
changes due to API change of AdvanceCommunication

9 years agoremove the line that connecting to PE 0 always atr startup.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 22:31:35 +0000 (14:31 -0800)]
remove the line that connecting to PE 0 always atr startup.

9 years agoturn useDynamicSMSG to 0
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 21:32:12 +0000 (13:32 -0800)]
turn useDynamicSMSG to 0

9 years agocode clean up.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 21:31:38 +0000 (13:31 -0800)]
code clean up.

9 years agosimplify the handling of GNI_RC_ERROR_RESOURCE when making smsgs connections.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 21:10:23 +0000 (13:10 -0800)]
simplify the handling of GNI_RC_ERROR_RESOURCE when making smsgs connections.
it can dafely ignore the error, and let unbound endpoint to handle it (passively).

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 17:04:31 +0000 (09:04 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agodynamic smsgs connection setup seems to be working now after fixing a race condition...
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 17:03:40 +0000 (09:03 -0800)]
dynamic smsgs connection setup seems to be working now after fixing a race condition of receiving SMSG message and setting up the smsgs connection.

9 years agoremove -g from OPTS
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 16:49:28 +0000 (10:49 -0600)]
remove -g from OPTS

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 01:15:10 +0000 (17:15 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agofix race condition in setting dynamic connections.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 01:14:02 +0000 (17:14 -0800)]
fix race condition in setting dynamic connections.

9 years agoGit ignore: generated documentation
Phil Miller [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 20:29:45 +0000 (14:29 -0600)]
Git ignore: generated documentation

9 years agofix variable declaration for VC++
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 29 Dec 2011 16:35:20 +0000 (10:35 -0600)]
fix variable declaration for VC++

9 years agoremove lb_test which prevents any checkin under that directory
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 29 Dec 2011 16:34:38 +0000 (10:34 -0600)]
remove lb_test which prevents any checkin under that directory

9 years agofix the same bug when expanding smsgs buffer at dynamic setup.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 05:48:59 +0000 (21:48 -0800)]
fix the same bug when expanding smsgs buffer at dynamic setup.

9 years agofixed smsg send atr setup (including bzero smsg buffer) for dynamic smsg setup.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 05:47:14 +0000 (21:47 -0800)]
fixed smsg send atr setup (including bzero smsg buffer) for dynamic smsg setup.

9 years agoDynamic Smsg fix
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 01:53:39 +0000 (17:53 -0800)]
Dynamic Smsg fix

9 years agominor
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 22:47:13 +0000 (14:47 -0800)]
minor

9 years agofixed a memory leak problem in commbench broadcast
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 22:40:23 +0000 (14:40 -0800)]
fixed a memory leak problem in commbench broadcast

9 years agoFix in commbench reduction and broadcast benchmark
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 18:41:31 +0000 (12:41 -0600)]
Fix in commbench reduction and broadcast benchmark

9 years agoDoc: Fix typo 'c alled' -> 'called'
Phil Miller [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 15:49:35 +0000 (09:49 -0600)]
Doc: Fix typo 'c alled' -> 'called'

9 years agoDoc: Fix breakage
Phil Miller [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 15:49:11 +0000 (09:49 -0600)]
Doc: Fix breakage

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 06:32:28 +0000 (22:32 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agomodify mempool structure
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 06:32:09 +0000 (22:32 -0800)]
modify mempool structure

9 years agoadded a point-point broadcast example
YanhuaSun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 06:07:45 +0000 (00:07 -0600)]
added a point-point broadcast example

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Phil Miller [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 05:04:02 +0000 (23:04 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoConvert libraries to inherit from CBase classes
Phil Miller [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 04:46:27 +0000 (22:46 -0600)]
Convert libraries to inherit from CBase classes

9 years agoAdding performance benchmarks for CmiReduce and Broadcast in commbench
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 00:09:47 +0000 (18:09 -0600)]
Adding performance benchmarks for CmiReduce and Broadcast in commbench

9 years agoexample kNeighbor: Don't inherit from CBase and then call a system class PUP routine
Phil Miller [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 21:07:54 +0000 (15:07 -0600)]
example kNeighbor: Don't inherit from CBase and then call a system class PUP routine

9 years agoMeshStreamer: Inherit from CBase classes
Phil Miller [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 19:55:58 +0000 (13:55 -0600)]
MeshStreamer: Inherit from CBase classes

9 years agoAdapt checkpointing code to call base_pup methods
Phil Miller [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 17:30:14 +0000 (11:30 -0600)]
Adapt checkpointing code to call base_pup methods

9 years agoMegatest templates: Fix ambiguity for older compilers
Phil Miller [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 16:55:05 +0000 (10:55 -0600)]
Megatest templates: Fix ambiguity for older compilers

9 years agoTCharm & AMPI: Adapt to automatic pup of base class
Phil Miller [Fri, 2 Dec 2011 09:05:25 +0000 (03:05 -0600)]
TCharm &  AMPI: Adapt to automatic pup of base class