charm.git
10 years agofixed typos in re-defining macros
Chao Mei [Sun, 15 May 2011 01:44:50 +0000 (20:44 -0500)]
fixed typos in re-defining macros

10 years agoAdded the empty implementation for MachinePostNonLocal
Chao Mei [Sat, 14 May 2011 21:48:55 +0000 (21:48 +0000)]
Added the empty implementation for MachinePostNonLocal

10 years agoadded empty implementation for CmiBarrier and CmiBarrierZero as in the old one
Chao Mei [Sat, 14 May 2011 21:30:07 +0000 (16:30 -0500)]
added empty implementation for CmiBarrier and CmiBarrierZero as in the old one

10 years agoa very rought draft of a template for machine-specific implementation
Chao Mei [Fri, 13 May 2011 23:19:38 +0000 (18:19 -0500)]
a very rought draft of a template for machine-specific implementation

10 years agoFirst check-in for the work on extractin common codes from MPI, LAPI and DCMF layer...
Chao Mei [Fri, 13 May 2011 23:10:21 +0000 (18:10 -0500)]
First check-in for the work on extractin common codes from MPI, LAPI and DCMF layer. MPI and LAPI work both in SMP and non-SMP mode. DCMF got compiled in both modes, but has not been tested yet.

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Ehsan Totoni [Thu, 12 May 2011 21:03:52 +0000 (16:03 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoampi manual changes and additions
Ehsan Totoni [Thu, 12 May 2011 21:03:32 +0000 (16:03 -0500)]
ampi manual changes and additions

10 years agoinitialize messages at construction time where possible to avoid
Eric Bohm [Thu, 12 May 2011 19:48:59 +0000 (14:48 -0500)]
initialize messages at construction time where possible to avoid
tripping over valgrind uninitialized complaints

10 years agofixed a bug when code in trapped CkWaitFuture(), the future can changed when the...
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 12 May 2011 18:13:27 +0000 (13:13 -0500)]
fixed a bug when code in trapped CkWaitFuture(), the future can changed when the future array is expanded. Therefore, CkWaitFuture may trap forever since it is checking an invalid place.

10 years agoFix bug which caused -only -footest runs to hang.
Eric Bohm [Wed, 11 May 2011 20:14:15 +0000 (15:14 -0500)]
Fix bug which caused -only -footest runs to hang.

10 years agoadded +WSPriority to workstealing seedlb, which steal higher priority tasks.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 11 May 2011 19:00:00 +0000 (14:00 -0500)]
added +WSPriority to workstealing seedlb, which steal higher priority tasks.

10 years agoadded rule to build ws version.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 11 May 2011 18:57:21 +0000 (13:57 -0500)]
added rule to build ws version.

10 years agofixed a missing return bug
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 11 May 2011 17:07:35 +0000 (12:07 -0500)]
fixed a missing return bug

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
YanhuaSun [Wed, 11 May 2011 06:35:35 +0000 (01:35 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoFixed TSP example
YanhuaSun [Wed, 11 May 2011 06:35:09 +0000 (01:35 -0500)]
Fixed TSP example

10 years agoFixed errors due to ckfuture interface changes
Chao Mei [Wed, 11 May 2011 01:19:50 +0000 (20:19 -0500)]
Fixed errors due to ckfuture interface changes

10 years agoper Sanjay's request, added an opaque strcture CkFuture, and exposed function API.
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 10 May 2011 18:04:52 +0000 (13:04 -0500)]
per Sanjay's request, added an opaque strcture CkFuture, and exposed function API.

10 years agominor change to balanced tree example
YanhuaSun [Tue, 10 May 2011 16:51:14 +0000 (11:51 -0500)]
minor change to balanced tree example

10 years agoDelete obsolete machine layers
Phil Miller [Mon, 9 May 2011 19:31:32 +0000 (14:31 -0500)]
Delete obsolete machine layers

The following machine types (interconnect, OS, or architecture) are
believe to no longer have even possible users:

t3e
crayx1
hp
axp
exemplar
sp3
ncube2
origin
irix
sun

10 years agominor change to TSP example
YanhuaSun [Mon, 9 May 2011 05:08:37 +0000 (00:08 -0500)]
minor change to TSP example

10 years agoRevert "minor change to TSP example"
YanhuaSun [Mon, 9 May 2011 05:05:37 +0000 (00:05 -0500)]
Revert "minor change to TSP example"

This reverts commit c4d68132bb62c56c835872ae331077b9132ec5c2.

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
YanhuaSun [Mon, 9 May 2011 04:51:53 +0000 (23:51 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agominor change to TSP example
YanhuaSun [Mon, 9 May 2011 04:51:21 +0000 (23:51 -0500)]
minor change to TSP example

10 years agoampi manual overview update
Ehsan Totoni [Mon, 9 May 2011 00:19:48 +0000 (19:19 -0500)]
ampi manual overview update

10 years agouse pdflatex instead of latex to make manuals (solve error on figs)
Ehsan Totoni [Mon, 9 May 2011 00:05:48 +0000 (19:05 -0500)]
use pdflatex instead of latex to make manuals (solve error on figs)

10 years agofix compilation error
Abhinav S Bhatele [Sat, 7 May 2011 13:15:45 +0000 (08:15 -0500)]
fix compilation error

10 years agoQuiet string literal constness warnings
Phil Miller [Fri, 6 May 2011 22:18:40 +0000 (17:18 -0500)]
Quiet string literal constness warnings

Since we're about to exec, it's safe to waste a bit of memory making
mutable copies of some literal strings.

10 years agoCast size_t to int before negating it, to silence warnings
Phil Miller [Fri, 6 May 2011 18:50:35 +0000 (13:50 -0500)]
Cast size_t to int before negating it, to silence warnings

We can be pretty confident that the size of the two structs will be in
int's range, so the cast will preserve its value.

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
YanhuaSun [Fri, 6 May 2011 06:09:45 +0000 (01:09 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agochanges to TSP
YanhuaSun [Fri, 6 May 2011 06:09:33 +0000 (01:09 -0500)]
changes to TSP

10 years agoPrint small sizes as ints, to avoid size_t's printf portability morass
Phil Miller [Thu, 5 May 2011 22:20:52 +0000 (17:20 -0500)]
Print small sizes as ints, to avoid size_t's printf portability morass

Calling printf("%d", sizeof(Foo)) generates warnings, because size_t
is often not an int. We want to squelch all the warnings we're seeing,
but unfortunately, the standard %zd size modifier isn't available on
windows. Since Foo in this case is the small struct _Slot, we don't
need to worry about overflow, and can just shorten its size to int.

10 years agoMatch printf int length specifiers to arguments
Phil Miller [Thu, 5 May 2011 21:55:51 +0000 (16:55 -0500)]
Match printf int length specifiers to arguments

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:/charm into charm
Ehsan Totoni [Thu, 5 May 2011 22:17:21 +0000 (17:17 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:/charm into charm

10 years agoAMPI manual intro
Ehsan Totoni [Thu, 5 May 2011 22:16:49 +0000 (17:16 -0500)]
AMPI manual intro

10 years agoDon't print pointers as ints, to quiet a warning
Phil Miller [Thu, 5 May 2011 21:45:18 +0000 (16:45 -0500)]
Don't print pointers as ints, to quiet a warning

10 years agopplmanual errors fixed, now manuals (like ampi) can be built
Ehsan Totoni [Thu, 5 May 2011 19:14:34 +0000 (14:14 -0500)]
pplmanual errors fixed, now manuals (like ampi) can be built

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Chao Mei [Thu, 5 May 2011 17:29:51 +0000 (12:29 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoRe-organized the code segments. In particular, the timer & barrier functions are...
Chao Mei [Thu, 5 May 2011 17:27:40 +0000 (12:27 -0500)]
Re-organized the code segments. In particular, the timer & barrier functions are moved to the end of the file after CmiMyRank has been defined.

10 years agobuild token queue using priorities, sorted in ascend order.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 5 May 2011 07:34:04 +0000 (02:34 -0500)]
build token queue using priorities, sorted in ascend order.

10 years agoa handy function CqsPrioGT_ to compare two priorities without having to build the...
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 5 May 2011 07:33:14 +0000 (02:33 -0500)]
a handy function CqsPrioGT_ to compare two priorities without having to build the _prio struct

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
YanhuaSun [Thu, 5 May 2011 04:03:32 +0000 (23:03 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoadd data for Tsp problem
YanhuaSun [Thu, 5 May 2011 04:03:21 +0000 (23:03 -0500)]
add data for Tsp problem

10 years agoPass a character array, and not its address, to fscanf()
Phil Miller [Thu, 5 May 2011 00:14:21 +0000 (19:14 -0500)]
Pass a character array, and not its address, to fscanf()

Address a warning about passing a pointer to a character array, rather
than the array itself, to a function expecting char*.

10 years agoDrop an extra unused argument to fscanf
Phil Miller [Thu, 5 May 2011 00:13:44 +0000 (19:13 -0500)]
Drop an extra unused argument to fscanf

10 years agoQuiet warning about assigning NULL to an int
Phil Miller [Wed, 4 May 2011 23:58:53 +0000 (18:58 -0500)]
Quiet warning about assigning NULL to an int

CmiNodeLock is a pointer in some settings, and int in others. Instead
of initializing it with NULL, assign 0 instead, which works as a
pointer or an integer.

10 years agoPrint pointers as pointers
Phil Miller [Wed, 4 May 2011 23:51:03 +0000 (18:51 -0500)]
Print pointers as pointers

10 years agoQuiet a warning about casting an int to a pointer of different size
Phil Miller [Wed, 4 May 2011 23:35:30 +0000 (18:35 -0500)]
Quiet a warning about casting an int to a pointer of different size

Widen the integer argument to pointer-width first, and then cast it to
a pointer.

10 years agoRemove some CVS headers
Phil Miller [Wed, 4 May 2011 23:32:55 +0000 (18:32 -0500)]
Remove some CVS headers

10 years agoQuiet warnings from undeclared functions by including proper header
Phil Miller [Wed, 4 May 2011 23:30:36 +0000 (18:30 -0500)]
Quiet warnings from undeclared functions by including proper header

localtime() and asctime() are defined in time.h, but that's not always
included when they're used. Ensure that it is.

10 years agoUpdated the machine layer so that it is working both in non-SMP and SMP mode
Chao Mei [Wed, 4 May 2011 23:15:47 +0000 (18:15 -0500)]
Updated the machine layer so that it is working both in non-SMP and SMP mode

10 years agoModified and tested the post recv scheme for both non-SMP and SMP cases
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 May 2011 23:15:35 +0000 (18:15 -0500)]
Modified and tested the post recv scheme for both non-SMP and SMP cases

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 May 2011 19:31:06 +0000 (14:31 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoenable dynamic cap in the non-SMP mode.
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 May 2011 19:29:58 +0000 (14:29 -0500)]
enable dynamic cap in the non-SMP mode.

10 years agockout: Don't pass literal strings to CkPrintf as format strings
Artem Shvorin [Tue, 3 May 2011 15:07:00 +0000 (10:07 -0500)]
ckout: Don't pass literal strings to CkPrintf as format strings

10 years agoAdd support to read papi counters values in smp mode
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 May 2011 02:41:30 +0000 (21:41 -0500)]
Add support to read papi counters values in smp mode

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 May 2011 02:06:18 +0000 (21:06 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoReduced the overhead of recording papi counter values in the projection log.
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 May 2011 01:58:46 +0000 (20:58 -0500)]
Reduced the overhead of recording papi counter values in the projection log.

10 years agomodified the test for papi library
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 May 2011 01:56:50 +0000 (20:56 -0500)]
modified the test for papi library

10 years agoAdded lines where users could modify to set correct papi installation directory
Chao Mei [Tue, 3 May 2011 01:55:17 +0000 (20:55 -0500)]
Added lines where users could modify to set correct papi installation directory

10 years agoDon't pass arbitrary string values as format strings
Phil Miller [Tue, 3 May 2011 01:35:55 +0000 (20:35 -0500)]
Don't pass arbitrary string values as format strings

10 years agocharmxi: Fix most warnings and simplify code
Phil Miller [Tue, 3 May 2011 01:25:31 +0000 (20:25 -0500)]
charmxi: Fix most warnings and simplify code

Silence nearly all warnings generated by g++ -Wall -Wextra.

10 years agoModified GPU Manager so that quiescence will not be detected in situations
Lukasz Wesolowski [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 21:49:54 +0000 (16:49 -0500)]
Modified GPU Manager so that quiescence will not be detected in situations
when CPUs have no work but GPUs are still executing.

10 years agocharmxi: Explicitly initialize variables that affect control flow
Phil Miller [Wed, 27 Apr 2011 21:33:42 +0000 (16:33 -0500)]
charmxi: Explicitly initialize variables that affect control flow

10 years agoremoved -Wno-long-double which is no longer supported.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 27 Apr 2011 20:41:20 +0000 (15:41 -0500)]
removed -Wno-long-double which is no longer supported.

10 years agoadd CmiOutofMemory to blue_standalone
Ehsan Totoni [Tue, 19 Apr 2011 18:27:45 +0000 (13:27 -0500)]
add CmiOutofMemory to blue_standalone

10 years agofixed a typo
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 18 Apr 2011 21:52:00 +0000 (16:52 -0500)]
fixed a typo

10 years agomake +LBPrintSummary work again.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 02:44:53 +0000 (21:44 -0500)]
make +LBPrintSummary work again.

10 years agofixed a bug when allow user to hybrid group size, the multicast group needs to be...
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 15 Apr 2011 01:10:44 +0000 (20:10 -0500)]
fixed a bug when allow user to hybrid group size, the multicast group needs to be rebuilt.

10 years agodisable OPTIMIZED_MULTICAST for non-smp case.
GENGBIN ZHENG [Thu, 14 Apr 2011 17:58:14 +0000 (17:58 +0000)]
disable OPTIMIZED_MULTICAST for non-smp case.

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Aaron Becker [Tue, 12 Apr 2011 23:11:11 +0000 (18:11 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoadded test for asctime(), and a CmiPrintDate().
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 12 Apr 2011 21:34:02 +0000 (16:34 -0500)]
added test for asctime(), and a CmiPrintDate().

10 years agoindentation change
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 12 Apr 2011 04:40:16 +0000 (23:40 -0500)]
indentation change

10 years agoprint if it is using absolute timer.
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 12 Apr 2011 04:23:56 +0000 (23:23 -0500)]
print if it is using absolute timer.

10 years agofixed an unitialized variable to please Valgrind.
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 12 Apr 2011 04:21:54 +0000 (23:21 -0500)]
fixed an unitialized variable to please Valgrind.

10 years agoCharj: improve unit tests
Aaron Becker [Mon, 11 Apr 2011 20:38:37 +0000 (15:38 -0500)]
Charj: improve unit tests

10 years agoCharj: convert assert to use explicitly named tokens
Aaron Becker [Mon, 11 Apr 2011 20:35:13 +0000 (15:35 -0500)]
Charj: convert assert to use explicitly named tokens

10 years agoCharj: fix optional for-loop condition and update exprs
Aaron Becker [Mon, 11 Apr 2011 20:34:36 +0000 (15:34 -0500)]
Charj: fix optional for-loop condition and update exprs

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Aaron Becker [Mon, 11 Apr 2011 19:50:56 +0000 (14:50 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 10 Apr 2011 20:09:54 +0000 (15:09 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agocomm thread should not block when it is is bluegenep smp.
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 10 Apr 2011 20:08:16 +0000 (15:08 -0500)]
comm thread should not block when it is is bluegenep smp.

10 years ago+pemap does not print mapping by default, only print when +show_cpu_affinity
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 9 Apr 2011 02:17:22 +0000 (21:17 -0500)]
+pemap does not print mapping by default, only print when +show_cpu_affinity

10 years agoreview the code for generating dependencies for MPI collectives.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 7 Apr 2011 16:32:30 +0000 (11:32 -0500)]
review the code for generating dependencies for MPI collectives.
various minor changes. added mpiOp for MPI_Alltoall.

10 years agouse macro to define name string of the log
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 7 Apr 2011 15:06:58 +0000 (10:06 -0500)]
use macro to define name string of the log

10 years agofixed a silly bug of charm *.<junk> removes all files.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 6 Apr 2011 20:30:00 +0000 (15:30 -0500)]
fixed a silly bug of charm *.<junk> removes all files.

10 years agoCharj: Added testing script to check for successful compilation
Aaron Becker [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 22:08:56 +0000 (17:08 -0500)]
Charj: Added testing script to check for successful compilation

10 years agofor CRAY, setcpuaffinity does not have to involve global communication to find the...
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 15:21:41 +0000 (10:21 -0500)]
for CRAY, setcpuaffinity does not have to involve global communication to find the charm PE to core mapping.

10 years agominor changes for BG/Q which it seems not supported.
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 14:58:34 +0000 (09:58 -0500)]
minor changes for BG/Q which it seems not supported.

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Chao Mei [Mon, 4 Apr 2011 20:27:09 +0000 (15:27 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoAdded to use cap when there're many messages to be released.
Chao Mei [Mon, 4 Apr 2011 20:25:52 +0000 (15:25 -0500)]
Added to use cap when there're many messages to be released.

10 years agoadded missing new timer functions
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 3 Apr 2011 15:39:40 +0000 (15:39 +0000)]
added missing new timer functions

10 years agofix a syntax error.
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 3 Apr 2011 15:27:45 +0000 (10:27 -0500)]
fix a syntax error.

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 2 Apr 2011 22:59:16 +0000 (17:59 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoCmiTimerInit() takes argv
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 2 Apr 2011 22:58:51 +0000 (17:58 -0500)]
CmiTimerInit() takes argv

10 years agoadded some of the missing CmiTimerAbsolute()
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 2 Apr 2011 22:52:10 +0000 (17:52 -0500)]
added some of the missing CmiTimerAbsolute()

10 years agoCmiTimerInit() now takes argv
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 2 Apr 2011 22:51:11 +0000 (17:51 -0500)]
CmiTimerInit() now takes argv

10 years agofix for silly bug which gives the wrong number of cores per node
Abhinav S Bhatele [Sat, 2 Apr 2011 22:37:57 +0000 (17:37 -0500)]
fix for silly bug which gives the wrong number of cores per node

10 years ago Reset the send/recv cap when re-entering the send/recv functions.
Chao Mei [Sat, 2 Apr 2011 05:20:37 +0000 (00:20 -0500)]
 Reset the send/recv cap when re-entering the send/recv functions.

10 years agoAdded CMK_TRACE_ENABLED to guard the tracing of comm thread
Chao Mei [Fri, 1 Apr 2011 23:36:02 +0000 (18:36 -0500)]
Added CMK_TRACE_ENABLED to guard the tracing of comm thread

10 years agoadded semi-dynamic cap control for send/recv for smp mode. What semi-dynamic means...
Chao Mei [Fri, 1 Apr 2011 22:49:27 +0000 (17:49 -0500)]
added semi-dynamic cap control for send/recv for smp mode. What semi-dynamic means here is
in the sense  that the cap size for send/recv is fixed while the condition for exerting
cap is dynamic.

10 years agofixed a problem with the new +useAbsoluteTime, where the start bin time needs to...
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 1 Apr 2011 01:43:40 +0000 (20:43 -0500)]
fixed a problem with the new +useAbsoluteTime, where the start bin time needs to be the absolute time as well (instead of 0).
also fixed a bug when begin/end idle and execute do not match. A checking is enforced.