charm.git
9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Aaron Becker [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 22:07:36 +0000 (16:07 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agopatch to support mpi-bluegenep-xlc-smp mpi-bluegenep-mpcc-smp
Eric Bohm [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 20:12:59 +0000 (20:12 +0000)]
patch to support mpi-bluegenep-xlc-smp mpi-bluegenep-mpcc-smp

9 years agofix numPes possibly not defined with tracing is off
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 20:10:03 +0000 (14:10 -0600)]
fix numPes possibly not defined with tracing is off

9 years agofix symbol resolving code left in CFGBuilder
Aaron Becker [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 19:56:39 +0000 (13:56 -0600)]
fix symbol resolving code left in CFGBuilder

9 years agofix pup for ckmulticast
Xiang Ni [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 07:19:43 +0000 (01:19 -0600)]
fix pup for ckmulticast

9 years agotake big msg registration into register size
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 07:18:02 +0000 (01:18 -0600)]
take big msg registration into register size

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 06:19:36 +0000 (00:19 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoin SMP, deregister mem block also search mempool of other ranks.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 06:17:55 +0000 (00:17 -0600)]
in SMP, deregister mem block also search mempool of other ranks.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 06:14:14 +0000 (00:14 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 02:35:55 +0000 (20:35 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agomake conservation ugni settting
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 17 Feb 2012 01:18:19 +0000 (19:18 -0600)]
make conservation ugni settting

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: committing the version of the code which performs best
Lukasz Wesolowski [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 22:54:36 +0000 (22:54 +0000)]
NDMeshStreamer: committing the version of the code which performs best
for 16k nodes of RandomAccess on BG/P; caching locations is disabled
by default and flushing sends largest buffer in each dimension

9 years agoadd a placeholder for CMK_SMP_TRACE_COMMTHREAD
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 17:52:25 +0000 (11:52 -0600)]
add a placeholder for CMK_SMP_TRACE_COMMTHREAD

9 years agocode clean up, most indentation.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 04:33:35 +0000 (22:33 -0600)]
code clean up, most indentation.

9 years agochange of data structure in gni-rc-status
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 21:54:17 +0000 (13:54 -0800)]
change of data structure in gni-rc-status

9 years agospeedup sendbuffersmsg sendrdma
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 21:26:50 +0000 (13:26 -0800)]
speedup sendbuffersmsg sendrdma

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 19:39:14 +0000 (11:39 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agocode clean up
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 19:39:03 +0000 (11:39 -0800)]
code clean up

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 15:33:12 +0000 (07:33 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoconfig files for inmem checkpointing
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 15:32:10 +0000 (07:32 -0800)]
config files for inmem checkpointing

9 years agofixed a smp mempool register bug
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 06:06:01 +0000 (22:06 -0800)]
fixed a smp mempool register bug

9 years agoNODE_CHECKPOINT now works for SMP
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 05:27:16 +0000 (21:27 -0800)]
NODE_CHECKPOINT now works for SMP

9 years agoblock_header adds a pointer to the very first block (i.e. the mempool ptr)
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 05:10:58 +0000 (21:10 -0800)]
block_header adds a pointer to the very first block (i.e. the mempool ptr)

9 years agoadd dependence to machine.h
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 15 Feb 2012 05:10:30 +0000 (21:10 -0800)]
add dependence to machine.h

9 years agosome sanity check of env variables settings
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 21:10:22 +0000 (13:10 -0800)]
some sanity check of env variables settings

9 years agouse -d option which is needed for SMP
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 19:27:23 +0000 (11:27 -0800)]
use -d option which is needed for SMP

9 years agoimplement urgent send queue, default off
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 07:00:11 +0000 (01:00 -0600)]
implement urgent send queue, default off

9 years agoremove some broken MACHSTATE
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 06:23:52 +0000 (00:23 -0600)]
remove some broken MACHSTATE

9 years agofix a bug in SendRdmaMsg that double pop the queue
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 06:13:35 +0000 (00:13 -0600)]
fix a bug in SendRdmaMsg that double pop the queue

9 years agoin SMP case make sure SendBufferMsg loop all buffered message
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 06:09:30 +0000 (00:09 -0600)]
in SMP case make sure SendBufferMsg loop all buffered message

9 years agoYanhua's change to impose send flow control and max mempool cap
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 05:55:44 +0000 (23:55 -0600)]
Yanhua's change to impose send flow control and max mempool cap

9 years agochange CmiReadSize to return long type
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 05:47:26 +0000 (23:47 -0600)]
change CmiReadSize to return long type

9 years agoadd dummy functions used for tracing comm thread so that converse programs can compile.
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 14 Feb 2012 05:39:35 +0000 (23:39 -0600)]
add dummy functions used for tracing comm thread so that converse programs can compile.

9 years agoat restart, restore broadcast spring cleaner
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 13 Feb 2012 03:39:49 +0000 (21:39 -0600)]
at restart, restore broadcast spring cleaner

9 years agoadded RECV_MAX to limit the maximum register memory for recv
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 13 Feb 2012 02:06:19 +0000 (20:06 -0600)]
added RECV_MAX to limit the maximum register memory for recv

9 years agochange in mempool for send/recv msgs in transactions
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 13 Feb 2012 00:31:41 +0000 (18:31 -0600)]
change in mempool for send/recv msgs in transactions

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 13 Feb 2012 00:18:29 +0000 (18:18 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agocombine two functions, fix a bug of missing rdma msg
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 13 Feb 2012 00:18:23 +0000 (18:18 -0600)]
combine two functions, fix a bug of missing rdma msg

9 years agotrace functions for comm threads always defined now for consistence.
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 12 Feb 2012 23:18:36 +0000 (17:18 -0600)]
trace functions for comm threads always defined now for consistence.

9 years agofixed a crash bug when npes == 1 in SMP
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 12 Feb 2012 18:01:19 +0000 (10:01 -0800)]
fixed a crash bug when npes == 1 in SMP

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer performance optimizations and bug fixes:
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 10 Feb 2012 02:00:53 +0000 (20:00 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer performance optimizations and bug fixes:
(1) only compute the index information necessary for sending
in the current step
(2) process items immediately at intermediate steps when intermediate
node turns out to be the final destination
(3) fixed a bug in the location caching scheme
(4) code cleanup

9 years agosolve the memory leak after restart
Xiang Ni [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 17:08:31 +0000 (11:08 -0600)]
solve the memory leak after restart

9 years agominor
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 05:47:22 +0000 (23:47 -0600)]
minor

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Eric Bohm [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 18:54:01 +0000 (12:54 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoinit maxfiles to number of physnodes
Eric Bohm [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 18:53:37 +0000 (12:53 -0600)]
init maxfiles to number of physnodes

9 years agoreverted to its original state before the latest wave of changes
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 06:51:54 +0000 (00:51 -0600)]
reverted to its original state before the latest wave of changes

9 years agoKeep old interface of Cmidirect and added gemini cmidirect
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 06:18:31 +0000 (00:18 -0600)]
Keep old interface of Cmidirect and added gemini cmidirect

9 years agorevert the pingpong using cmi_direct
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 05:34:09 +0000 (23:34 -0600)]
revert the pingpong using cmi_direct

9 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'origin/pario' into charm
Phil Miller [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 01:22:55 +0000 (19:22 -0600)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/pario' into charm

9 years agodescribes what the example is for
Eric Bohm [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 00:28:34 +0000 (18:28 -0600)]
describes what the example is for

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Eric Bohm [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 00:24:33 +0000 (18:24 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoAdd map object for pupdisk to distribute them to one per node when possible
Eric Bohm [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 00:23:55 +0000 (18:23 -0600)]
Add map object for pupdisk to distribute them to one per node when possible

9 years agoMeshStreamer and NDMeshStreamer: default to a single buffer per destination
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 23:00:41 +0000 (17:00 -0600)]
MeshStreamer and NDMeshStreamer: default to a single buffer per destination
when first argument to constructor is too small or invalid.

9 years agoadded missing cmidirect.c
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 22:41:38 +0000 (14:41 -0800)]
added missing cmidirect.c

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 21:20:39 +0000 (13:20 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadded CmiDirect in Gemini
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 21:20:22 +0000 (13:20 -0800)]
added CmiDirect in Gemini

9 years agominor tweaks on print messages
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 20:23:21 +0000 (14:23 -0600)]
minor tweaks on print messages

9 years agoadded a new pattern for repeating: e.g 2X0-4
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 05:35:28 +0000 (23:35 -0600)]
added a new pattern for repeating:  e.g 2X0-4
For Cray, with +setcpuaffinity and no pemap and commap, it will compute a map for comm threads

9 years agominor tweak on print
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 04:49:40 +0000 (22:49 -0600)]
minor tweak on print

9 years agoworking version. needs small amount of placing tweaking to put
Eric Bohm [Tue, 7 Feb 2012 01:58:02 +0000 (19:58 -0600)]
working version.  needs small amount of placing tweaking to put
one element per node

9 years agofix an invalid pointer reference error whern npes = 1
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 6 Feb 2012 15:57:31 +0000 (09:57 -0600)]
fix an invalid pointer reference error whern npes = 1

9 years agominor celan up code, allow using a link list instead of looping sendQ.
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 6 Feb 2012 06:53:09 +0000 (00:53 -0600)]
minor celan up code, allow using a link list instead of looping sendQ.

9 years agonew env "CHARM_UGNI_MEMPOOL_SIZE"
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 4 Feb 2012 19:33:30 +0000 (13:33 -0600)]
new env "CHARM_UGNI_MEMPOOL_SIZE"

9 years agoa function to read size from string with K,M,G.
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 4 Feb 2012 19:32:06 +0000 (13:32 -0600)]
a function to read size from string with K,M,G.

9 years agopassing destNode to LrtsSendNetworkFunc.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 3 Feb 2012 23:11:27 +0000 (15:11 -0800)]
passing destNode to LrtsSendNetworkFunc.

9 years agoGPUManager: only print mempool diagnostics when debugging flag is on
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 3 Feb 2012 22:34:26 +0000 (16:34 -0600)]
GPUManager: only print mempool diagnostics when debugging flag is on

9 years agoCmiAbort to LrtsAbort
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 3 Feb 2012 07:38:36 +0000 (01:38 -0600)]
CmiAbort to LrtsAbort

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 3 Feb 2012 07:37:32 +0000 (01:37 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoCmiAbort to LrtsAbort in machine LRTS
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 3 Feb 2012 07:37:14 +0000 (01:37 -0600)]
CmiAbort to LrtsAbort in machine LRTS

9 years agoCmiAbort in LRTS change to LrtsAbort
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 3 Feb 2012 07:34:13 +0000 (01:34 -0600)]
CmiAbort in LRTS change to LrtsAbort

9 years agochange number of iterations
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 3 Feb 2012 06:30:54 +0000 (00:30 -0600)]
change number of iterations

9 years agomove CmiAbort to machine common code, and add a new LrtsAbort for LRTS.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 3 Feb 2012 06:26:47 +0000 (00:26 -0600)]
move CmiAbort to machine common code, and add a new LrtsAbort for LRTS.
clean up shmem and semaphore in pxshm version
add LrtsSendNetwork() which is a wrapper for LrtsSend() with pxshm support.

9 years agocode clean up
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 23:53:44 +0000 (17:53 -0600)]
code clean up

9 years agoremove semphore file at exit
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 17:38:38 +0000 (11:38 -0600)]
remove semphore file at exit

9 years agoRevert "charmxi: print commit ID when erroring out" et al.
Phil Miller [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 15:32:04 +0000 (09:32 -0600)]
Revert "charmxi: print commit ID when erroring out" et al.

Rebuilding charmxi everytime the output of 'git describe' changes
means that all the headers get rebuilt, and then the whole
system. That makes development much less pleasant.

This reverts commit af295183fad45e9cb1eb8085afebd3f6d30915c9.
This reverts commit 8d3d3c41040aa4f16d2a438c28057e099c6af497.
This reverts commit d88c354dfdc9f42ae6b5d49421c41307e8bf6950.

9 years agofix a bug when running on 1 pe, due to commenting out size checking in AdvanceCommuni...
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 16:22:11 +0000 (08:22 -0800)]
fix a bug when running on 1 pe, due to commenting out size checking in AdvanceCommunication.

9 years agominor fix for sendbuf
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 08:22:34 +0000 (02:22 -0600)]
minor fix for sendbuf

9 years agofix the assignment to source_addr
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 07:24:07 +0000 (01:24 -0600)]
fix the assignment to source_addr

9 years agominor change
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 07:10:12 +0000 (01:10 -0600)]
minor change

9 years agomake sendbuf a linklist in non-smp
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 06:52:16 +0000 (00:52 -0600)]
make sendbuf a linklist in non-smp

9 years agoadded top in pcqueue
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 06:51:49 +0000 (00:51 -0600)]
added top in pcqueue

9 years agominor change, avoid repeatly opening xpmem_fd file.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 06:42:54 +0000 (00:42 -0600)]
minor change, avoid repeatly opening xpmem_fd file.

9 years agoadd xpmem into machine common core.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 07:41:49 +0000 (01:41 -0600)]
add xpmem into machine common core.

9 years agoan alternative to pxshm for intra-node communication, uses Linux kernel module xpmem
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 06:26:39 +0000 (22:26 -0800)]
an alternative to pxshm for intra-node communication, uses Linux kernel module xpmem

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: bug fixes
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 06:11:48 +0000 (00:11 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: bug fixes

9 years agoMeshStreamer: checking in a new version of the code generalized
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 1 Feb 2012 00:43:08 +0000 (18:43 -0600)]
MeshStreamer: checking in a new version of the code generalized
to N dimensions. Keeping the old version around at least until
this one is well tested.

9 years agocatch signals to clean up pxshm files
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 21:21:37 +0000 (15:21 -0600)]
catch signals to clean up pxshm files

9 years agoUsed the existing immediate msg queue to implement the function that a worker thread...
Chao Mei [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 20:59:43 +0000 (14:59 -0600)]
Used the existing immediate msg queue to implement the function that a worker thread has sth to notify the local comm thread.

9 years agominor change in coding style to avoid potential bug
Chao Mei [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 03:34:30 +0000 (21:34 -0600)]
minor change in coding style to avoid potential bug

9 years agoadded locks to ensure GNI_Call thread safe
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 31 Jan 2012 03:19:22 +0000 (21:19 -0600)]
added locks to ensure GNI_Call thread safe

9 years agoadded multiple worker thread sending
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 23:12:41 +0000 (17:12 -0600)]
added multiple worker thread sending

9 years agoImplemented a functionality that allows user to designate some function to be execute...
Chao Mei [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 21:27:59 +0000 (15:27 -0600)]
Implemented a functionality that allows user to designate some function to be executed on the local comm thread in SMP mode. To use such functionality, define macro CMK_LEVERAGE_COMMTHREAD=1 and refer to machine-commthd-util.c for details. Note that this functionality is not supported in the standalone charm mode of net layer.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Chao Mei [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 19:03:32 +0000 (13:03 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoMinor changes to pingpong so that the program could measure intra-node latency in...
Chao Mei [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 19:02:50 +0000 (13:02 -0600)]
Minor changes to pingpong so that the program could measure intra-node latency in SMP mode.

9 years agocall the correct migrate constructor
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 18:22:31 +0000 (12:22 -0600)]
call the correct migrate constructor

9 years agoaddjust max hit
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 05:06:15 +0000 (23:06 -0600)]
addjust max hit

9 years agofix a bug when hit send buffer max, the control msg is discarded mistakenly due to...
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 03:49:50 +0000 (21:49 -0600)]
fix a bug when hit send buffer max, the control msg is discarded mistakenly due to wrong status value.

9 years agoadded useSendQueue useRecvQueue in gni
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 30 Jan 2012 00:58:14 +0000 (16:58 -0800)]
added useSendQueue useRecvQueue in gni

9 years agoimplement big message pipelining.
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 29 Jan 2012 18:03:08 +0000 (10:03 -0800)]
implement big message pipelining.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 28 Jan 2012 05:01:22 +0000 (21:01 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm