charm.git
9 years agodoc: move hello world snippet into separate file
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 20:53:24 +0000 (15:53 -0500)]
doc: move hello world snippet into separate file

9 years agodoc: Promote some subsections to chapter titles
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 20:50:48 +0000 (15:50 -0500)]
doc: Promote some subsections to chapter titles

9 years agoMerge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 21:11:11 +0000 (16:11 -0500)]
Merge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual

9 years agodoc/charm++/loaddb added example
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 21:11:05 +0000 (16:11 -0500)]
doc/charm++/loaddb added example

9 years agodoc/chares: minor edits to text
Pritish Jetley [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 20:43:25 +0000 (15:43 -0500)]
doc/chares: minor edits to text

9 years agoMerge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual
Laxmikant Kale [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 20:28:20 +0000 (15:28 -0500)]
Merge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual

9 years agoMerge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual
Laxmikant Kale [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 20:28:00 +0000 (15:28 -0500)]
Merge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual
merged

Conflicts:
doc/charm++/overview.tex

9 years agodocs: minor edits to readonly
Aaron Becker [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 20:21:42 +0000 (15:21 -0500)]
docs: minor edits to readonly

9 years agomachine list
Laxmikant Kale [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 20:01:30 +0000 (15:01 -0500)]
machine list

9 years agosubsection
Laxmikant Kale [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 20:01:12 +0000 (15:01 -0500)]
subsection

9 years agoSDAG docs: rewrite initial text and example
Phil Miller [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:54:37 +0000 (17:54 -0500)]
SDAG docs: rewrite initial text and example

9 years agoSDAG docs: genericize initial example code
Phil Miller [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:06:06 +0000 (16:06 -0500)]
SDAG docs: genericize initial example code

9 years agoSDAG docs: lower-case improper noun
Phil Miller [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:05:44 +0000 (16:05 -0500)]
SDAG docs: lower-case improper noun

9 years agoSDAG docs: retitle to mention control flow
Phil Miller [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:02:36 +0000 (16:02 -0500)]
SDAG docs: retitle to mention control flow

9 years agocomment out commlib
Eric Bohm [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 19:44:07 +0000 (14:44 -0500)]
comment out commlib

9 years agodoc: cleanup section on entry methods
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 19:27:10 +0000 (14:27 -0500)]
doc: cleanup section on entry methods

Shovel some text over into ch 2. WIP

9 years agodoc/charm++: replacing all remaining instances of "Charm Kernel"
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 19:21:18 +0000 (14:21 -0500)]
doc/charm++: replacing all remaining instances of "Charm Kernel"
in the text with Charm RTS

9 years agodoc: minor cleanup in modules section
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 19:16:14 +0000 (14:16 -0500)]
doc: minor cleanup in modules section

9 years agodoc: Rewrite section on charm file structure (ci, modules etc)
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 19:07:03 +0000 (14:07 -0500)]
doc: Rewrite section on charm file structure (ci, modules etc)

9 years agodoc: new commands \charm and \ci. Also usepackage xspace
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 19:06:10 +0000 (14:06 -0500)]
doc: new commands \charm and \ci. Also usepackage xspace

9 years agominor doc/charm/loadbalancing
sun [Tue, 24 Jul 2012 03:50:06 +0000 (22:50 -0500)]
minor doc/charm/loadbalancing

9 years agodocs NodeGroups: actually do a broadcast
Pritish Jetley [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 23:39:56 +0000 (18:39 -0500)]
docs NodeGroups: actually do a broadcast

9 years agodocs Groups: don't need paragraph to separate two lines
Pritish Jetley [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 23:37:55 +0000 (18:37 -0500)]
docs Groups: don't need paragraph to separate two lines

9 years agodocs NodeGroups: extensive edits and restructuring of text
Pritish Jetley [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 23:37:00 +0000 (18:37 -0500)]
docs NodeGroups: extensive edits and restructuring of text

9 years agodocs chare arrays: rewrite section.
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:53:16 +0000 (17:53 -0500)]
docs chare arrays: rewrite section.

9 years agodocs: use the hyphenat package to disable hyphenation for keywords.
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:51:34 +0000 (17:51 -0500)]
docs: use the hyphenat package to disable hyphenation for keywords.

9 years agodocs advanced arrays: add needed label to user-defined index types.
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:50:54 +0000 (17:50 -0500)]
docs advanced arrays: add needed label to user-defined index types.

9 years agodocs: fix unescaped underscores
Aaron Becker [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:55:12 +0000 (17:55 -0500)]
docs: fix unescaped underscores

9 years agodocs: Simplify and modernize text on chares and chare creation
Aaron Becker [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:36:19 +0000 (17:36 -0500)]
docs: Simplify and modernize text on chares and chare creation

9 years agodocs Groups: updated text and example for groups
Pritish Jetley [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:36:40 +0000 (17:36 -0500)]
docs Groups: updated text and example for groups

9 years agodocs LB: a couple of typo fixes.
Esteban Meneses [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:27:29 +0000 (17:27 -0500)]
docs LB: a couple of typo fixes.

9 years agodoc/charm++: removing footnote which states globals and statics cannot
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:27:12 +0000 (17:27 -0500)]
doc/charm++: removing footnote which states globals and statics cannot
be used in Charm++ programs

9 years agodoc arrays: move some text around; add some comments; fix references
Akhil Langer [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:04:03 +0000 (17:04 -0500)]
doc arrays: move some text around; add some comments; fix references

9 years agominor doc/charm/loadbalance
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 22:02:52 +0000 (17:02 -0500)]
minor doc/charm/loadbalance

9 years agodoc/charm++: committing utilities.tex where the basic utility functions
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:56:02 +0000 (16:56 -0500)]
doc/charm++: committing utilities.tex where the basic utility functions
were moved

9 years agominor doc/charm/loadbalance
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:56:14 +0000 (16:56 -0500)]
minor doc/charm/loadbalance

9 years agoMerge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:53:50 +0000 (16:53 -0500)]
Merge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual

9 years agodoc/charm/loadbalance
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:53:44 +0000 (16:53 -0500)]
doc/charm/loadbalance

9 years agodoc/charm++: moved some utility functions into basic section of manual.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:51:20 +0000 (16:51 -0500)]
doc/charm++: moved some utility functions into basic section of manual.

9 years agodocs arrays: move some text around
Akhil Langer [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:36:55 +0000 (16:36 -0500)]
docs arrays: move some text around

9 years agodocs:basic concepts:read-only vars: some edits
Chao Mei [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:33:44 +0000 (16:33 -0500)]
docs:basic concepts:read-only vars: some edits

9 years agodoc/charm++/loadbalancer
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:28:06 +0000 (16:28 -0500)]
doc/charm++/loadbalancer

9 years agodocs LB: Typo fixes and other changes to text.
Esteban Meneses [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:20:08 +0000 (16:20 -0500)]
docs LB: Typo fixes and other changes to text.

9 years agomove user defined marshalling text to pup section
Eric Bohm [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:20:05 +0000 (16:20 -0500)]
move user defined marshalling text to pup section

9 years agoclean up migratable array elements and add link to advanced pup
Eric Bohm [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:00:39 +0000 (16:00 -0500)]
clean up migratable array elements and add link to advanced pup

9 years agos/routine/method
Eric Bohm [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 20:17:43 +0000 (15:17 -0500)]
s/routine/method

9 years agomove builtin-reduction types from the advanced section to the Basic section
Akhil Langer [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 20:54:59 +0000 (15:54 -0500)]
move builtin-reduction types from the advanced section to the Basic section

9 years agoremove repeated text in reductions section
Akhil Langer [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 20:18:35 +0000 (15:18 -0500)]
remove repeated text in reductions section

9 years agomove the chare array destruction to the end && merge the two sections on chare array...
Akhil Langer [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 20:14:44 +0000 (15:14 -0500)]
move the chare array destruction to the end && merge the two sections on chare array reductions

9 years agoupdate titles for ch 1 and 2 to represent intended contents
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 20:09:51 +0000 (15:09 -0500)]
update titles for ch 1 and 2 to represent intended contents

9 years agoMerge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 19:25:11 +0000 (14:25 -0500)]
Merge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual

9 years agoUpdate version number in manual
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 19:23:38 +0000 (14:23 -0500)]
Update version number in manual

9 years agoCharm++ manual: splitting section "Migratable Array Elements" and
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 19:20:07 +0000 (14:20 -0500)]
Charm++ manual: splitting section "Migratable Array Elements" and
moving part of it to the pup section and part to the load balancing section.

9 years agodoc: remove beta label from stable features.
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 19:17:25 +0000 (14:17 -0500)]
doc: remove beta label from stable features.

9 years agoMerge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 19:09:27 +0000 (14:09 -0500)]
Merge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual

9 years agodoc: dont put annoying borders around links. hypersetup
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 19:08:01 +0000 (14:08 -0500)]
doc: dont put annoying borders around links. hypersetup

9 years agoCharm++ manual: changes to section titles and reorganization
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 19:07:28 +0000 (14:07 -0500)]
Charm++ manual: changes to section titles and reorganization

9 years agoCharm++ manual reorganization
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 18:43:30 +0000 (13:43 -0500)]
Charm++ manual reorganization

9 years agoadjusted code examples for readability and consistancy
Joshua Ginsburg [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 16:44:37 +0000 (11:44 -0500)]
adjusted code examples for readability and consistancy

9 years agofixed out of date refrence to prebuilt projections in charm source
Joshua Ginsburg [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 16:23:54 +0000 (11:23 -0500)]
fixed out of date refrence to prebuilt projections in charm source

9 years agougly hack to fix line numbering with atomic
Ralf Gunter [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 09:49:32 +0000 (04:49 -0500)]
ugly hack to fix line numbering with atomic

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of git://charm.cs.uiuc.edu/charm into charm
Ralf Gunter [Mon, 23 Jul 2012 09:15:38 +0000 (04:15 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of git://charm.cs.uiuc.edu/charm into charm

9 years agodemand creation test
Ehsan Totoni [Sat, 21 Jul 2012 04:43:43 +0000 (21:43 -0700)]
demand creation test

9 years agoadded caveats section to liveViz (reduction problems)
Ralf Gunter [Wed, 18 Jul 2012 16:37:57 +0000 (11:37 -0500)]
added caveats section to liveViz (reduction problems)

9 years agodocs: Add some explanation of SDAG constructs
Aaron Becker [Wed, 18 Jul 2012 15:53:46 +0000 (10:53 -0500)]
docs: Add some explanation of SDAG constructs

9 years agoAdded comment to checkpoint section of the manual.
Esteban Meneses [Wed, 18 Jul 2012 15:24:53 +0000 (10:24 -0500)]
Added comment to checkpoint section of the manual.

9 years agoCorrection in doc for Isomalloc - individual pupping is no longer supported
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 18 Jul 2012 04:44:43 +0000 (21:44 -0700)]
Correction in doc for Isomalloc - individual pupping is no longer supported

9 years agoremove duplication
sun [Wed, 18 Jul 2012 01:08:55 +0000 (20:08 -0500)]
remove duplication

9 years agoCharm++ manual intro: removed text about history of charm++
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 17 Jul 2012 22:47:19 +0000 (17:47 -0500)]
Charm++ manual intro: removed text about history of charm++
from the opening paragraph - the separate section on history contains
the same information; moved link to papers from the beginning to later
on in the introduction

9 years agoCleaned up a footnote in AMPI manual.
Michael Robson [Tue, 17 Jul 2012 17:44:52 +0000 (12:44 -0500)]
Cleaned up a footnote in AMPI manual.

9 years agomsgQ test: feed printf the correct num args
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 16 Jul 2012 20:43:40 +0000 (15:43 -0500)]
msgQ test: feed printf the correct num args

9 years agobuild: check if anonymous structs and unions are permitted in configure
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 16 Jul 2012 16:17:20 +0000 (11:17 -0500)]
build: check if anonymous structs and unions are permitted in configure

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 11 Jul 2012 03:33:56 +0000 (22:33 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadd module file at beginning of PRE_LIBRARIES to resolve library dependence problem...
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 11 Jul 2012 03:33:11 +0000 (22:33 -0500)]
add module file at beginning of PRE_LIBRARIES to resolve library dependence problem with AMPI_Main() if the ampi main is in a library.

9 years agoAdding more test cases with parallel recovery.
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 10 Jul 2012 15:53:43 +0000 (10:53 -0500)]
Adding more test cases with parallel recovery.

9 years agotests/charm++/jacobi3d-sdag: adding support for running with OpenMP
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 9 Jul 2012 23:53:13 +0000 (18:53 -0500)]
tests/charm++/jacobi3d-sdag: adding support for running with OpenMP

9 years agoDocs: Mention reduction userFlag argument to contribute for matching result in SDAG
Phil Miller [Mon, 9 Jul 2012 17:12:27 +0000 (12:12 -0500)]
Docs: Mention reduction userFlag argument to contribute for matching result in SDAG

9 years agoInitializing number of emigrant recovering objects variable.
Esteban Meneses [Mon, 9 Jul 2012 14:21:09 +0000 (09:21 -0500)]
Initializing number of emigrant recovering objects variable.

9 years agotests/charm++/pingpong: run every test twice and only time the
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 9 Jul 2012 04:41:42 +0000 (23:41 -0500)]
tests/charm++/pingpong: run every test twice and only time the
second run

9 years agofix in infi_CmiFree the case in standalone mode for SMP.
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 8 Jul 2012 23:01:23 +0000 (18:01 -0500)]
fix in infi_CmiFree  the case in standalone mode for SMP.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 8 Jul 2012 18:41:39 +0000 (13:41 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agominor
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 8 Jul 2012 18:41:10 +0000 (13:41 -0500)]
minor

9 years agoFinally, a first version of parallel recovery with scalable collectives.
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 7 Jul 2012 23:26:53 +0000 (18:26 -0500)]
Finally, a first version of parallel recovery with scalable collectives.

9 years agoAdding support for emigrant objects at reduction manager.
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 7 Jul 2012 22:06:01 +0000 (17:06 -0500)]
Adding support for emigrant objects at reduction manager.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 7 Jul 2012 21:01:26 +0000 (16:01 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoSending back recovering objects for parallel recovery.
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 7 Jul 2012 21:01:06 +0000 (16:01 -0500)]
Sending back recovering objects for parallel recovery.

9 years agotests/charm++/pingpong: (1) removed a memory leak in pipelined test
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sat, 7 Jul 2012 05:58:02 +0000 (00:58 -0500)]
tests/charm++/pingpong: (1) removed a memory leak in pipelined test
(2) modified the pipeline scheme w/ memcpy to include
the time for allocating a buffer on the receive side.

how memory allocations are done in the pipelined test so

9 years agouse CMK_IBV_PORT_ATTR_HAS_LINK_LAYER to protect use of link_layer field
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 7 Jul 2012 05:40:52 +0000 (00:40 -0500)]
use CMK_IBV_PORT_ATTR_HAS_LINK_LAYER to protect use of link_layer field

9 years agoupdated
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 7 Jul 2012 05:30:53 +0000 (00:30 -0500)]
updated

9 years agotest if ibverbs port_attr has link_layer field
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 7 Jul 2012 05:29:44 +0000 (00:29 -0500)]
test if ibverbs port_attr has link_layer field

9 years agoChare Arrays: Add interface to signal online dynamic element insertion
Phil Miller [Fri, 6 Jul 2012 18:05:31 +0000 (18:05 +0000)]
Chare Arrays: Add interface to signal online dynamic element insertion

The AMR benchmark code was having trouble with hangs around
AtSync-triggered load balancing, apparently related to the fact that
it was inserting new chare array elements after startup. In
discussions with Gengbin, we figured that this arose because the
additional elements were interfering with the count of local elements
used to determine when a processor's objects had all reached AtSync
and thus it could contribute its LB stats.

The backend infrastructure had interfaces to 'pause' the LB barrier
while new elements were being inserted, but this had never been
surfaced in a way usable by client code. Add a `beginInserting()`
method as an analogue to the existing `doneInserting()` method that
was already required at startup to surface that code.

Tested to resolve at least one kind of hang in the AMR code on BG/Q.

9 years agotests/charm++/pingpong: for group pinpong, (1) added pipelined run
Lukasz Wesolowski [Thu, 5 Jul 2012 22:54:50 +0000 (17:54 -0500)]
tests/charm++/pingpong: for group pinpong, (1) added pipelined run
without allocation of fragment messages, (2) added warm up iteration
that does not get timed

9 years agoAdding support in central load balancer for restoring objects after parallel recovery.
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 5 Jul 2012 22:27:47 +0000 (17:27 -0500)]
Adding support in central load balancer for restoring objects after parallel recovery.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 5 Jul 2012 03:31:01 +0000 (22:31 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoSolving bug in collective operations with parallel recovery.
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 5 Jul 2012 03:30:37 +0000 (22:30 -0500)]
Solving bug in collective operations with parallel recovery.

9 years agotests/charm++/pingpong: added pipelined test for groups
Lukasz Wesolowski [Thu, 5 Jul 2012 01:56:52 +0000 (20:56 -0500)]
tests/charm++/pingpong: added pipelined test for groups

9 years agoFixing the way to handle immigrant recovering objects.
Esteban Meneses [Wed, 4 Jul 2012 23:01:59 +0000 (18:01 -0500)]
Fixing the way to handle immigrant recovering objects.

9 years agoRemoving debug comments.
Esteban Meneses [Wed, 4 Jul 2012 19:24:03 +0000 (14:24 -0500)]
Removing debug comments.

9 years agoAdding support for bypassing message logging layer.
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 3 Jul 2012 16:04:20 +0000 (11:04 -0500)]
Adding support for bypassing message logging layer.

9 years agoModifying debug command.
Esteban Meneses [Mon, 2 Jul 2012 21:27:25 +0000 (16:27 -0500)]
Modifying debug command.