charm.git
9 years agochanged to allow multiple installations at the same time. use install.sh to
Chao Mei [Wed, 22 Feb 2012 00:29:13 +0000 (18:29 -0600)]
changed to allow multiple installations at the same time. use install.sh to
install the library

9 years agoFixed a bug in the case when a busy helper cannot run the previous
Chao Mei [Wed, 22 Feb 2012 00:02:17 +0000 (18:02 -0600)]
Fixed a bug in the case when a busy helper cannot run the previous
loop task in time, but then happens to run stealWork (the msg from
the previous task) during the initialization of a new loop task.

9 years agoFixed a bug in using the macro for the number of test iterations.
Chao Mei [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 22:12:33 +0000 (16:12 -0600)]
Fixed a bug in using the macro for the number of test iterations.

9 years agoAdded the implicit tree broadcast for notifying other helpers about the parallel...
Chao Mei [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 22:11:10 +0000 (16:11 -0600)]
Added the implicit tree broadcast for notifying other helpers about the parallel jobs

9 years agoFixed a bug in picking which notification msg to be used.
Chao Mei [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 20:16:16 +0000 (14:16 -0600)]
Fixed a bug in picking which notification msg to be used.

9 years agoA bug fix which has assumed the #chunks a job is partitioned into is the same with...
Chao Mei [Thu, 2 Feb 2012 18:49:00 +0000 (12:49 -0600)]
A bug fix which has assumed the #chunks a job is partitioned into is the same with the number of helpers.

9 years agoAdded a new scheme (work-stealing) which significantly reduced the overhead. E.g...
Chao Mei [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 04:22:14 +0000 (22:22 -0600)]
Added a new scheme (work-stealing) which significantly reduced the overhead. E.g. with ++ppn 12, the overhead of using the library is now only 3.7 us (on finesse)!! For more details, please refer to TMS.

9 years agoDid two optimizations:
Chao Mei [Thu, 26 Jan 2012 23:12:51 +0000 (17:12 -0600)]
Did two optimizations:
1. Replaced the notification scheme with converse-level msg instead of a charm-level entry method.
2. Using gcc built-ins (atomic increment, compare_and_swap) to test whether the job finishes

9 years agoAdded output to explain the mode of using this library.
Chao Mei [Thu, 26 Jan 2012 04:31:01 +0000 (22:31 -0600)]
Added output to explain the mode of using this library.

9 years ago1. Fixed the fftw plan creation so that the program now works.
Chao Mei [Tue, 24 Jan 2012 04:49:17 +0000 (22:49 -0600)]
1. Fixed the fftw plan creation so that the program now works.
2. Changed numThreads to numTasks for better understanding of the program.
3. Added a comment on what to parallelize for fftw computation.

9 years agoSome fix for using the nodeHelper lib. It compiles but seg fault when executing fftw...
Chao Mei [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 23:42:01 +0000 (17:42 -0600)]
Some fix for using the nodeHelper lib. It compiles but seg fault when executing fftw plans

9 years agoFixed a bug in setting the range of task iterations
Chao Mei [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 23:33:49 +0000 (17:33 -0600)]
Fixed a bug in setting the range of task iterations

9 years agoAdded the openmp test for performance comparison of the simple loop benchmark.
Chao Mei [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 19:36:18 +0000 (13:36 -0600)]
Added the openmp test for performance comparison of the simple loop benchmark.

9 years agoAdapted the fft-trans to the newly polished API.
Chao Mei [Mon, 23 Jan 2012 18:44:34 +0000 (12:44 -0600)]
Adapted the fft-trans to the newly polished API.

9 years agoA tweak in order to disable compiler optimization when calibrating the loop consecuti...
Chao Mei [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 22:55:48 +0000 (16:55 -0600)]
A tweak in order to disable compiler optimization when calibrating the loop consecutively.

9 years agoFixed a bug in computing average execution time.
Chao Mei [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 22:48:49 +0000 (16:48 -0600)]
Fixed a bug in computing average execution time.

9 years agoPolished/Updated the library and changed the example codes accordingly.
Chao Mei [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 00:13:20 +0000 (18:13 -0600)]
Polished/Updated the library and changed the example codes accordingly.

9 years agocopy of fft-trans modified to use nodeHelperLib
Eric Bohm [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 19:40:18 +0000 (13:40 -0600)]
copy of fft-trans modified to use nodeHelperLib

9 years agocomments and portability
Eric Bohm [Wed, 4 Jan 2012 19:37:03 +0000 (13:37 -0600)]
comments and portability

10 years agoinitial checkin
Chao Mei [Fri, 21 Oct 2011 18:49:50 +0000 (13:49 -0500)]
initial checkin

9 years agoREADME: Last-minute update to reflect current architectures, options v6.4.0
Phil Miller [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 21:05:32 +0000 (16:05 -0500)]
README: Last-minute update to reflect current architectures, options

9 years agoChangelog: mention BGQ PAMI and elaborate some details
Phil Miller [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 21:00:46 +0000 (16:00 -0500)]
Changelog: mention BGQ PAMI and elaborate some details

9 years agobuild: Add missing dependency (commitid.c) to make target 'depends'
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 17:20:12 +0000 (12:20 -0500)]
build: Add missing dependency (commitid.c) to make target 'depends'

9 years agofix memory registeration bug with persistent message
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 07:27:44 +0000 (02:27 -0500)]
fix memory registeration bug with persistent message

9 years agofixed persistent put_done_tag in sendbuf
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 05:30:29 +0000 (00:30 -0500)]
fixed persistent put_done_tag in sendbuf

9 years agoWrap BG/Q-specific topology code in the appropriate ifdef
Phil Miller [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 02:32:40 +0000 (21:32 -0500)]
Wrap BG/Q-specific topology code in the appropriate ifdef

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 02:26:25 +0000 (19:26 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agosupport REMOTE_EVENT in persistent
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 22:49:40 +0000 (15:49 -0700)]
support REMOTE_EVENT in persistent

9 years agoRe-remove mentions of the archaic 'exemplar' architecture
Phil Miller [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 22:28:56 +0000 (17:28 -0500)]
Re-remove mentions of the archaic 'exemplar' architecture

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Eric Bohm [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 22:07:20 +0000 (22:07 +0000)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agotopo changes for BG/Q and path/config changes for ACLF VEAC BG/Q
Eric Bohm [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 22:05:24 +0000 (22:05 +0000)]
topo changes for BG/Q and path/config changes for ACLF VEAC BG/Q

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: instead of recording time of last send, keep track of whether
Lukasz Wesolowski [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 21:12:16 +0000 (16:12 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: instead of recording time of last send, keep track of whether
sends have been performed using a simple flag

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 19:14:00 +0000 (12:14 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agomake ackpool general
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 19:13:15 +0000 (12:13 -0700)]
make ackpool general
fix a bug in registerMessage that mistakenly check memhandle in chunk header

9 years agoDelete some generated files, and make sure they're cleaned up
Phil Miller [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 19:08:13 +0000 (14:08 -0500)]
Delete some generated files, and make sure they're cleaned up

9 years agopami prototype
Eric Bohm [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 18:06:18 +0000 (18:06 +0000)]
pami prototype
Paths updated for cetus.anl.alcf.gov

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 18:02:20 +0000 (11:02 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agosome minor clean up
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 18:01:57 +0000 (11:01 -0700)]
some minor clean up

9 years agonet-sol-x86_64: Support buggy STLPort as in PGI and Fujitsu
Phil Miller [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 16:29:12 +0000 (11:29 -0500)]
net-sol-x86_64: Support buggy STLPort as in PGI and Fujitsu

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Eric Bohm [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 14:32:40 +0000 (14:32 +0000)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoseem to be a typo
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 07:26:19 +0000 (00:26 -0700)]
seem to be a typo

9 years agoreverte
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 07:22:41 +0000 (00:22 -0700)]
reverte

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 07:11:22 +0000 (02:11 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadded CQWrite support for persistent message
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 07:10:59 +0000 (02:10 -0500)]
added CQWrite support for persistent message

9 years agodisable FMA if using remote events
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 07:02:01 +0000 (00:02 -0700)]
disable FMA if using remote events

9 years agofix message registration bug in persistent
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 06:54:14 +0000 (23:54 -0700)]
fix message registration bug in persistent

9 years agoonly when print_stat is used, output counters
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 04:09:15 +0000 (23:09 -0500)]
only when print_stat is used, output counters

9 years agoprint statistics counters into files
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 03:42:32 +0000 (22:42 -0500)]
print statistics counters into files

9 years agoadded RDMA statistic information
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 19 Mar 2012 02:07:50 +0000 (21:07 -0500)]
added RDMA statistic information

9 years agopersistent comm works again with the new mem registration scheme.
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 23:13:13 +0000 (16:13 -0700)]
persistent comm works again with the new mem registration scheme.
still using ack_msg, can be optimized later
tested on simple tests with both SMP and  non-SMP.

9 years agoonly add padding for 32 bit
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 23:12:06 +0000 (16:12 -0700)]
only add padding for 32 bit

9 years agofix for persistent on SMP
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 22:31:52 +0000 (15:31 -0700)]
fix for persistent on SMP

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 21:51:07 +0000 (14:51 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agosrcpe is used for two purpose, one for plain chare creation, another mainly by projec...
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 21:50:11 +0000 (14:50 -0700)]
srcpe is used for two purpose, one for plain chare creation, another mainly by projections. split them into two separate fields.

9 years agominor
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 21:37:20 +0000 (16:37 -0500)]
minor

9 years agouncomment trace BTE Init tracing
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 21:08:26 +0000 (14:08 -0700)]
uncomment trace BTE Init tracing

9 years agoadded trace FMA init
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 20:18:45 +0000 (15:18 -0500)]
added trace FMA init

9 years agoAMPI FIX: Alltoall recursive doubling algo for small message requires in-order AMPI...
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 17:13:12 +0000 (10:13 -0700)]
AMPI FIX: Alltoall recursive doubling algo for small message requires in-order AMPI message delivery.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 07:05:01 +0000 (02:05 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadded statistic informatin of gemini
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 06:50:03 +0000 (01:50 -0500)]
added statistic informatin of gemini

9 years agoturn CMK_MEMORY_PROTECTABLE off. When mixing with hugetlbfs, the thread page ma be...
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 06:43:48 +0000 (23:43 -0700)]
turn CMK_MEMORY_PROTECTABLE off. When mixing with hugetlbfs, the thread page ma be large page and so mprotect seem not working.

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: fixed a bug where timeOfLastSend_ was being set when
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 04:20:17 +0000 (23:20 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: fixed a bug where timeOfLastSend_ was being set when
no send had taken place

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: initialize timeOfLastSend_ to prevent comparison
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 04:08:51 +0000 (23:08 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: initialize timeOfLastSend_ to prevent comparison
against unitialized value

9 years agoimportant fix: correctly keep track of non-NULL element when doing broadcast when...
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 17 Mar 2012 16:11:26 +0000 (11:11 -0500)]
important fix: correctly keep track of non-NULL element when doing broadcast when stableLocation is true.

9 years agoMakefiles: consistently pass $(TESTOPTS) to bgtest runs
Phil Miller [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 15:26:51 +0000 (10:26 -0500)]
Makefiles: consistently pass $(TESTOPTS) to bgtest runs

9 years agofix for smp
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 06:45:56 +0000 (23:45 -0700)]
fix for smp

9 years agoerror check for overflow
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 05:56:35 +0000 (00:56 -0500)]
error check for overflow

9 years agofixed a bug of CQWrite memory registration
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 21:27:11 +0000 (16:27 -0500)]
fixed a bug of CQWrite memory registration

9 years agore-fix the previous commit
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 20:09:06 +0000 (15:09 -0500)]
re-fix the previous commit

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 20:04:00 +0000 (15:04 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agofix a bug in error checking for overflow
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 20:03:41 +0000 (15:03 -0500)]
fix a bug in error checking for overflow

9 years agoRelease note: describe AMPI's improved MPI_IN_PLACE support
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 03:11:27 +0000 (22:11 -0500)]
Release note: describe AMPI's improved MPI_IN_PLACE support

9 years agoadded abort because of too much smsg mailbox
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 04:14:27 +0000 (23:14 -0500)]
added abort because of too much smsg mailbox

9 years agoAMPI: checkBuf should never see MPI_IN_PLACE - all routines should handle that first
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 02:41:04 +0000 (21:41 -0500)]
AMPI: checkBuf should never see MPI_IN_PLACE - all routines should handle that first

9 years agoAMPI_Sendrecv: Reject MPI_IN_PLACE where the standard doesn't call for it
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 02:36:18 +0000 (21:36 -0500)]
AMPI_Sendrecv: Reject MPI_IN_PLACE where the standard doesn't call for it

9 years agoAMPI: Handle MPI_IN_PLACE uniformly where it already works, and error out where it...
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 02:25:51 +0000 (21:25 -0500)]
AMPI: Handle MPI_IN_PLACE uniformly where it already works, and error out where it should but doesn't

9 years agomlogft AMPI_Reduce: Handle MPI_IN_PLACE before reading results out of the message log
Phil Miller [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 23:20:00 +0000 (18:20 -0500)]
mlogft AMPI_Reduce: Handle MPI_IN_PLACE before reading results out of the message log

9 years agoAMPI: tighten up error checking on arguments to many routines
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 02:59:17 +0000 (21:59 -0500)]
AMPI: tighten up error checking on arguments to many routines

9 years agoAMPI errorCheck: take an optional 2nd buffer, to ease checking collectives
Phil Miller [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 23:25:09 +0000 (18:25 -0500)]
AMPI errorCheck: take an optional 2nd buffer, to ease checking collectives

9 years agoAMPI: Remove pointless prototype for errorCheck right before its definition
Phil Miller [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 23:24:10 +0000 (18:24 -0500)]
AMPI: Remove pointless prototype for errorCheck right before its definition

9 years agofix a bug in error checking for MPI_Gather, only root rank has a valid recvBuf pointe...
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 22:30:51 +0000 (17:30 -0500)]
fix a bug in error checking for MPI_Gather, only root rank has a valid recvBuf pointer. (need to be careful about error checking).
Also changed deprecated CMK_OPTIMIZE to CMK_ERROR_CHECKING

9 years agoAMPI: always assume no anytime migration and static insertion.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 07:29:44 +0000 (00:29 -0700)]
AMPI:   always assume no anytime migration and static insertion.
since AMPI collectives are synchronous, so there is no anytime migration.

9 years agoadd a command line option for staticInsertion
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 07:12:35 +0000 (00:12 -0700)]
add a command line option for staticInsertion

9 years ago[warning] Bigsim: const-correctness fix
Phil Miller [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 04:05:52 +0000 (23:05 -0500)]
[warning] Bigsim: const-correctness fix

9 years ago[warning] METIS: Don't pass arbitrary strings as the format argument to fprintf
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 22:59:02 +0000 (17:59 -0500)]
[warning] METIS: Don't pass arbitrary strings as the format argument to fprintf

9 years agoWarnings in projections: Don't assume that printf %lld formats 8-byte ints
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 22:02:01 +0000 (17:02 -0500)]
Warnings in projections: Don't assume that printf %lld formats 8-byte ints

9 years agotrace-projections: make block macro a bit safer, more idiomatic
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 20:45:30 +0000 (15:45 -0500)]
trace-projections: make block macro a bit safer, more idiomatic

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 22:37:20 +0000 (17:37 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agomodify remote event scheme to work with multi sender
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 22:36:46 +0000 (17:36 -0500)]
modify remote event scheme to work with multi sender

9 years agoAdding FT support for isomalloc_sync
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 21:32:29 +0000 (16:32 -0500)]
Adding FT support for isomalloc_sync

9 years agoAdding FT support for isomalloc_sync
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 21:32:05 +0000 (16:32 -0500)]
Adding FT support for isomalloc_sync

9 years agorevised paths for VEAS at argonne
Eric Bohm [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 20:07:00 +0000 (20:07 +0000)]
revised paths for VEAS at argonne

9 years agoincreasing mempool limit and adding one more check
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 16:08:55 +0000 (11:08 -0500)]
increasing mempool limit and adding one more check

9 years agoMinor change in CrayNid - adding X6 macro, rest may be alignment change
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 14:39:10 +0000 (09:39 -0500)]
Minor change in CrayNid - adding X6 macro, rest may be alignment change

9 years agoturn off largepage by default
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 07:26:20 +0000 (02:26 -0500)]
turn off largepage by default

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 07:25:18 +0000 (02:25 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agofix big msg bug with remote event id
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 07:24:36 +0000 (02:24 -0500)]
fix big msg bug with remote event id

9 years agofix wrong number of params in TRACE_COMM_CONTROL_CREATION
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 06:54:24 +0000 (01:54 -0500)]
fix wrong number of params in TRACE_COMM_CONTROL_CREATION

9 years agosearch library: don't shift into sign bit
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 06:12:49 +0000 (01:12 -0500)]
search library: don't shift into sign bit

Quiets a warning about what has become undefined behavior in the most
recent standards.

9 years agoMakefile: Ignore warnings in QuickThreads and charmrun
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 04:42:14 +0000 (23:42 -0500)]
Makefile: Ignore warnings in QuickThreads and charmrun

Those are the only critical targets of 'make charm++' that have
warnings on gcc/g++ 4.6. I.e.
`./build charm++ net-linux-x86_64 -Werror`
succeeds with these minimal exclusions.