charm.git
8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:47:41 +0000 (10:47 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agominor fix for migration overhead when iteration is odd
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:47:33 +0000 (10:47 -0700)]
minor fix for migration overhead when iteration is odd

8 years agorun make depends for generating the sdag.C dependencies nocopy-sdag
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 13 Jul 2013 01:46:37 +0000 (20:46 -0500)]
run make depends for generating the sdag.C dependencies

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' into nocopy-sdag
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 13 Jul 2013 00:24:26 +0000 (19:24 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' into nocopy-sdag

Conform sdag.C compilation to the Makefile changes.

Conflicts:
src/scripts/Makefile

8 years agoremove duplicate dummy implementations
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 13 Jul 2013 00:18:11 +0000 (19:18 -0500)]
remove duplicate dummy implementations

8 years agouse CMK_REFNUM_TYPE instead of assuming int
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 13 Jul 2013 00:14:34 +0000 (19:14 -0500)]
use CMK_REFNUM_TYPE instead of assuming int

8 years agofactor out the underscores in labelNodes
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:44:16 +0000 (15:44 -0500)]
factor out the underscores in labelNodes

8 years agorename generateCallNew to generateCall
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:41:04 +0000 (15:41 -0500)]
rename generateCallNew to generateCall

8 years agorename xi::SdagConstruct::generateWhenCodeNew to xi::SdagConstruct::generateWhenCode
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:39:44 +0000 (15:39 -0500)]
rename xi::SdagConstruct::generateWhenCodeNew to xi::SdagConstruct::generateWhenCode

8 years agoremove isSDAGGen parameter from Entry
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:38:11 +0000 (15:38 -0500)]
remove isSDAGGen parameter from Entry

8 years agorename generateSignature* calls
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:36:23 +0000 (15:36 -0500)]
rename generateSignature* calls

8 years agoadd another CkAbort for migration with BigSim logs in the state vars
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:31:48 +0000 (15:31 -0500)]
add another CkAbort for migration with BigSim logs in the state vars

8 years agoinvert logic for testing presence of a message
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 19:39:34 +0000 (14:39 -0500)]
invert logic for testing presence of a message

8 years agoSimplify ignoring already-matched messages
Phil Miller [Thu, 11 Jul 2013 22:10:03 +0000 (17:10 -0500)]
Simplify ignoring already-matched messages

8 years agoDrop repeat inclusion of std::set
Phil Miller [Thu, 11 Jul 2013 19:36:14 +0000 (14:36 -0500)]
Drop repeat inclusion of std::set

8 years agorename tracing SDAG RTS internal work from "_dummyEP", which completely useless
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 06:29:20 +0000 (01:29 -0500)]
rename tracing SDAG RTS internal work from "_dummyEP", which completely useless

8 years ago"bug" that carried over from previous code
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 05:19:11 +0000 (00:19 -0500)]
"bug" that carried over from previous code

8 years agofix small mistake in trace output
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 05:06:16 +0000 (00:06 -0500)]
fix small mistake in trace output

8 years agoreintroduce bigsim support for the new implementation
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 04:33:09 +0000 (23:33 -0500)]
reintroduce bigsim support for the new implementation

8 years agofactor out common method for generating local SDAG wrapper
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 03:29:30 +0000 (22:29 -0500)]
factor out common method for generating local SDAG wrapper

8 years agofix more code generation indentation problems
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 03:07:23 +0000 (22:07 -0500)]
fix more code generation indentation problems

8 years agostop generated code that is not necessary
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 03:06:53 +0000 (22:06 -0500)]
stop generated code that is not necessary

8 years agoremove duplicate code in SDAG construction
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 02:40:59 +0000 (21:40 -0500)]
remove duplicate code in SDAG construction

8 years agoadd tracing calls back in, change tracing calls to take an indentations argument
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 02:35:09 +0000 (21:35 -0500)]
add tracing calls back in, change tracing calls to take an indentations argument

8 years agofix many spacing problems in generated code
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 02:34:35 +0000 (21:34 -0500)]
fix many spacing problems in generated code

8 years agofix spacing
Jonathan Lifflander [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 01:53:30 +0000 (20:53 -0500)]
fix spacing

8 years agomake memory model for SDAG more consistent
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 29 Jun 2013 05:39:04 +0000 (00:39 -0500)]
make memory model for SDAG more consistent

8 years agoefficiency/clenaup: remove when entry in map when the list is empty
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 29 Jun 2013 04:59:35 +0000 (23:59 -0500)]
efficiency/clenaup: remove when entry in map when the list is empty

8 years agoref and deref forallclosure
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 29 Jun 2013 04:31:00 +0000 (23:31 -0500)]
ref and deref forallclosure

8 years agomake closure constructor virtual
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 29 Jun 2013 04:30:39 +0000 (23:30 -0500)]
make closure constructor virtual

8 years agoadd in reference counting code for the SDAG entry incoming message case
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 29 Jun 2013 02:35:05 +0000 (21:35 -0500)]
add in reference counting code for the SDAG entry incoming message case

8 years agofix indentation for closure unraveling
Jonathan Lifflander [Sat, 29 Jun 2013 00:08:01 +0000 (19:08 -0500)]
fix indentation for closure unraveling

8 years agounravel closures with regular scoping rules (shadowing, etc.)
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 28 Jun 2013 23:27:34 +0000 (18:27 -0500)]
unravel closures with regular scoping rules (shadowing, etc.)

8 years agoimplement conservative reference counting for SDAG messages
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 28 Jun 2013 22:51:10 +0000 (17:51 -0500)]
implement conservative reference counting for SDAG messages

8 years agooverride restriction for sdag entry for now
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 28 Jun 2013 05:27:57 +0000 (00:27 -0500)]
override restriction for sdag entry for now

8 years agotry to hush the very esoteric construction ordering warning from gcc
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 28 Jun 2013 03:03:09 +0000 (22:03 -0500)]
try to hush the very esoteric construction ordering warning from gcc

8 years agostop generating closures for local methods
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 28 Jun 2013 02:57:48 +0000 (21:57 -0500)]
stop generating closures for local methods

8 years agoadd macro for handling commas and remove qualification from PUPable*_decl
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 28 Jun 2013 02:40:50 +0000 (21:40 -0500)]
add macro for handling commas and remove qualification from PUPable*_decl

8 years agomethod templates: output the closure decl and def properly
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 23:32:56 +0000 (18:32 -0500)]
method templates: output the closure decl and def properly

currently, SDAG does not support method templates, but a step in this direction is outputting the closures properly

8 years agoremove unused function
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 21:05:58 +0000 (16:05 -0500)]
remove unused function

8 years agoreformatting and reindentation of file
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 21:05:21 +0000 (16:05 -0500)]
reformatting and reindentation of file

8 years agochange pupper name to reduce conflicts
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 20:23:56 +0000 (15:23 -0500)]
change pupper name to reduce conflicts

8 years agosimplify code generation
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 20:14:34 +0000 (15:14 -0500)]
simplify code generation

8 years agofix problem with forward declarations
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 20:12:52 +0000 (15:12 -0500)]
fix problem with forward declarations

8 years agoput PUP operators in the PUP namespace (standard convention)
Jonathan Lifflander [Wed, 26 Jun 2013 03:37:47 +0000 (22:37 -0500)]
put PUP operators in the PUP namespace (standard convention)

GCC now compiles the new SDAG code.

8 years agouse static_cast instead of reinterpret_cast
Jonathan Lifflander [Wed, 26 Jun 2013 02:51:45 +0000 (21:51 -0500)]
use static_cast instead of reinterpret_cast

8 years agocharmxi: explicit conversion to appease xlC++
Phil Miller [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 04:11:13 +0000 (04:11 +0000)]
charmxi: explicit conversion to appease xlC++

8 years agoRevert "use operator() for PUP"
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 20 Jun 2013 23:36:57 +0000 (16:36 -0700)]
Revert "use operator() for PUP"

This reverts commit b540c7e0dcf5e4de7a55f7c6183ad5333800c1dc.

8 years agouse operator() for PUP
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 20 Jun 2013 23:20:51 +0000 (16:20 -0700)]
use operator() for PUP

8 years agochange pushBuffer to return void
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 20 Jun 2013 09:50:48 +0000 (02:50 -0700)]
change pushBuffer to return void

8 years agofix possible bug with removing elms during iteration
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 14 Jun 2013 21:21:46 +0000 (14:21 -0700)]
fix possible bug with removing elms during iteration

8 years agotemplate support for sdag
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 14 Jun 2013 21:21:13 +0000 (14:21 -0700)]
template support for sdag

8 years agoadd in forgotten pup call for generated refnum field
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 13 Jun 2013 05:39:16 +0000 (22:39 -0700)]
add in forgotten pup call for generated refnum field

8 years agorefactoring of code to simplify
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 13 Jun 2013 00:49:24 +0000 (17:49 -0700)]
refactoring of code to simplify

8 years agoremove old calling code
Jonathan Lifflander [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 19:53:04 +0000 (14:53 -0500)]
remove old calling code

8 years agoall refnums to access closure state
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 13 Jun 2013 00:30:22 +0000 (17:30 -0700)]
all refnums to access closure state

8 years agomake generated names identical to previous names
Jonathan Lifflander [Wed, 12 Jun 2013 22:21:17 +0000 (15:21 -0700)]
make generated names identical to previous names

8 years agoremove 'forward', 'connect', and 'publishes', which have no real uses
Jonathan Lifflander [Wed, 12 Jun 2013 21:46:34 +0000 (14:46 -0700)]
remove 'forward', 'connect', and 'publishes', which have no real uses

8 years agocharmxi: inherit CkIndex classes from their parents' CkIndex classes, not their CProx...
Phil Miller [Thu, 11 Jul 2013 23:24:30 +0000 (18:24 -0500)]
charmxi: inherit CkIndex classes from their parents' CkIndex classes, not their CProxy classes

8 years agoconfigure: remove obsolete test for C++ namespace support
Phil Miller [Sun, 7 Jul 2013 04:10:34 +0000 (23:10 -0500)]
configure: remove obsolete test for C++ namespace support

8 years agoconfigure: remove obsolete test for C++ explicit constructors
Phil Miller [Sun, 7 Jul 2013 03:57:27 +0000 (22:57 -0500)]
configure: remove obsolete test for C++ explicit constructors

8 years agoconfigure: remove obsolete test for C++ *_cast
Phil Miller [Sun, 7 Jul 2013 03:49:02 +0000 (22:49 -0500)]
configure: remove obsolete test for C++ *_cast

8 years agocausalft: Don't mix declarations and code, to appease C90 rules
Phil Miller [Sat, 6 Jul 2013 19:08:47 +0000 (14:08 -0500)]
causalft: Don't mix declarations and code, to appease C90 rules

8 years agoRevert "NDMeshStreamer: combine arrays of data items and destination PEs in messages"
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 21:55:21 +0000 (16:55 -0500)]
Revert "NDMeshStreamer: combine arrays of data items and destination PEs in messages"

This reverts commit 35779d735a629cfad6ec861886464ac14db88ba8.

Due to alignment requirements, pairing PE indices with data items leads to
wasted space, so that random access becomes slightly slower. The benefit
of more efficient message shrinking will not normally offset this cost,
so I am reverting the commit.

8 years agoFix C90-noncompliant declaration/code intermixing
Phil Miller [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 18:15:09 +0000 (13:15 -0500)]
Fix C90-noncompliant declaration/code intermixing

8 years agoRemove unused variable to eliminate mixed declarations/statements
Phil Miller [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 18:04:38 +0000 (13:04 -0500)]
Remove unused variable to eliminate mixed declarations/statements

8 years agoFix C90-noncompliant declaration/code intermixing
Phil Miller [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 17:58:17 +0000 (12:58 -0500)]
Fix C90-noncompliant declaration/code intermixing

8 years agoState-space search engine: support make -j
Phil Miller [Wed, 3 Jul 2013 05:35:59 +0000 (00:35 -0500)]
State-space search engine: support make -j

8 years agoNDMeshStreamer: combine arrays of data items and destination PEs in messages
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 2 Jul 2013 22:12:56 +0000 (17:12 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: combine arrays of data items and destination PEs in messages
into a single array of pairs in order to allow trimming both components when
shrinking messages.

8 years agolocmgr: more shoveling. move CkMigratable to separate header
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 28 Jun 2013 22:19:39 +0000 (17:19 -0500)]
locmgr: more shoveling. move CkMigratable to separate header

8 years agolocmgr: Shovel some CkLocRec code into separate file
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 12 Apr 2013 21:43:46 +0000 (16:43 -0500)]
locmgr: Shovel some CkLocRec code into separate file

This is just preliminary cleanup work on the location manager. The waters will
get a lot murkier enroute to an overhauled, clean location services
infrastructure. In preparation for #165.

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
YanhuaSun [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 05:42:16 +0000 (00:42 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

8 years agoadd benchmark to test migration cost
YanhuaSun [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 05:42:06 +0000 (00:42 -0500)]
add benchmark to test migration cost

8 years agompi-bluegeneq: look for indications of xlc build in base directory, no matter where...
Phil Miller [Wed, 26 Jun 2013 19:49:22 +0000 (19:49 +0000)]
mpi-bluegeneq: look for indications of xlc build in base directory, no matter where charmc is run

(cherry picked from commit a44d0ae1579d75f9de4145a800e113c2a8c29c19)

8 years agoconfig: add check for presence of mpi wrappers
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 04:50:53 +0000 (04:50 +0000)]
config: add check for presence of mpi wrappers

(cherry picked from commit 9b1de6decea7dccf992f3690261892b6b2f32682)
(cherry picked from commit 35a6bc5e4b89fb39318d9c594fe9697a103ae966)

8 years agomachine layer: configuration changes for BGQ
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 04:22:52 +0000 (04:22 +0000)]
machine layer: configuration changes for BGQ

(cherry picked from commit 122042ff42359b56c4f50f8e1f3c6ae995f5d9d5)
(cherry picked from commit d1537ff7b512a9532c76051b93b34bc9c99ac6b6)

8 years agoBGQ: Move machine-specific topology code out of a public header, to reduce include...
Phil Miller [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 19:33:47 +0000 (19:33 +0000)]
BGQ: Move machine-specific topology code out of a public header, to reduce include pollution

(cherry picked from commit 1bd45bf49004f91f7bd0597247898ce6a0fb208f)

8 years agoBGQ: Add implied header include explicitly
Phil Miller [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 19:31:12 +0000 (19:31 +0000)]
BGQ: Add implied header include explicitly

(cherry picked from commit dea703bfd7c254365a6c3a6c0b27814fe56b5595)

8 years agoDoc: fix accidentally moved line
Phil Miller [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 18:57:55 +0000 (13:57 -0500)]
Doc: fix accidentally moved line

8 years agoMaking mellanix as default not Qlogic. This should better be set at configure time.
gupta59 [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 17:08:38 +0000 (10:08 -0700)]
Making mellanix as default not Qlogic. This should better be set at configure time.

8 years agoMerge branch 'gupta/ibverbs-non-mellanox' into charm
gupta59 [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 16:58:16 +0000 (09:58 -0700)]
Merge branch 'gupta/ibverbs-non-mellanox' into charm

8 years agoRemove pointless message size scaling
Phil Miller [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 01:35:27 +0000 (20:35 -0500)]
Remove pointless message size scaling

8 years agoMove msg metadata from PUPed buffer to fixed member variable
Phil Miller [Sun, 23 Jun 2013 00:05:47 +0000 (19:05 -0500)]
Move msg metadata from PUPed buffer to fixed member variable

8 years agochange the print of traceroot so that it does not print for every run.
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 24 Jun 2013 19:54:32 +0000 (14:54 -0500)]
change the print of traceroot so that it does not print for every run.

8 years agofixing some ISOC90 compiler issues related to variable declaration, comes up when... gupta/ibverbs-non-mellanox
gupta59 [Mon, 24 Jun 2013 19:41:17 +0000 (12:41 -0700)]
fixing some ISOC90 compiler issues related to variable declaration, comes up when using machine debug

8 years agoMerge branch 'charm' into gupta/ibverbs-non-mellanox
gupta59 [Mon, 24 Jun 2013 19:39:03 +0000 (12:39 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' into gupta/ibverbs-non-mellanox

Conflicts:
src/arch/net/machine-ibverbs.c

8 years agoa bug fix in disk-based restart under SMP. initDone can be called more than once...
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 20:37:37 +0000 (15:37 -0500)]
a bug fix in disk-based restart under SMP. initDone can be called more than once on many ranks, which caused CmiNodeBarrier() to hang the scheduler on some ranks.

8 years agoa bug in broadcast from a comm thread under SMP. PE number of CkNumPes() is also...
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 20:35:05 +0000 (15:35 -0500)]
a bug in broadcast from a comm thread under SMP. PE number of CkNumPes() is also a comm thread.

8 years agobe a little more specific for the error detection in remotw event when an event queue...
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 20:33:11 +0000 (15:33 -0500)]
be a little more specific for the error detection in remotw event when an event queue is full. also give user a suggestion about how to avoid the error.

8 years agoSome bug fixes related to non-mellanox (non-SRQ) ibverbs code path
Abhishek [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 17:19:24 +0000 (12:19 -0500)]
Some bug fixes related to non-mellanox (non-SRQ) ibverbs code path

8 years ago.gitignore: cover some newer machine layers
Phil Miller [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 03:41:57 +0000 (22:41 -0500)]
.gitignore: cover some newer machine layers

8 years agobugfix: fix in charmrun
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 01:09:52 +0000 (20:09 -0500)]
bugfix: fix in charmrun

8 years agobugfix: more of C99
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 01:07:29 +0000 (20:07 -0500)]
bugfix: more of C99

8 years agobugfix: more c99 fixes
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 00:56:01 +0000 (19:56 -0500)]
bugfix: more c99 fixes

8 years agobugfix: move declaration above code
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 21 Jun 2013 00:27:05 +0000 (19:27 -0500)]
bugfix: move declaration above code

8 years agoEncapsulate the flags necessary to build a mic target binary.
Eric Bohm [Thu, 20 Jun 2013 23:02:39 +0000 (18:02 -0500)]
Encapsulate the flags necessary to build a mic target binary.
This works (assuming intel mpi is being used), but doesn't enforce
an intel mpi restriction on the offchance that something else might
support -mmic correctly in the future.

8 years agonet(lrts)/charmrun: Port to C++ to ease future development
Phil Miller [Thu, 20 Jun 2013 22:50:28 +0000 (17:50 -0500)]
net(lrts)/charmrun: Port to C++ to ease future development

8 years agobugfix: fix an error that got commited in an earlier bug fix
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 19 Jun 2013 01:57:20 +0000 (20:57 -0500)]
bugfix: fix an error that got commited in an earlier bug fix

8 years agoIssue #161, Issue #233: Grab thread oversubscription behavior flags on all thread...
Phil Miller [Tue, 18 Jun 2013 22:42:21 +0000 (17:42 -0500)]
Issue #161, Issue #233: Grab thread oversubscription behavior flags on all thread ranks

8 years agoIssue #158: Handle all types of non-checkpointable callbacks
Phil Miller [Sun, 16 Jun 2013 21:47:46 +0000 (16:47 -0500)]
Issue #158: Handle all types of non-checkpointable callbacks