charm.git
9 years agoRevert tracking chare constructor definitions in the grammar
Phil Miller [Fri, 21 Sep 2012 21:13:16 +0000 (16:13 -0500)]
Revert tracking chare constructor definitions in the grammar

We should do it in the code-generation instead, when we can do a sane check and
emit a sensible error message.

Additionally, the reverted code was crashing on the type of error it was
supposed to detect.

Revert "charmxi: track constructors in chare arrays and templated types"
(Partially) Revert "charmxi now drives home the error message"

This reverts commit b220b31ad4ea31647859bb724472caf7efbe5cdf.
This reverts commit 7005ddd7b081bbd066093bb4f1adb2d371bdab3c.

9 years agocharmxi sdag: Allow 'serial' instead of 'atomic'
Phil Miller [Fri, 21 Sep 2012 20:50:38 +0000 (15:50 -0500)]
charmxi sdag: Allow 'serial' instead of 'atomic'

9 years agomake topo a nodegroup.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 27 Sep 2012 21:23:44 +0000 (16:23 -0500)]
make topo a nodegroup.

9 years agoModifying global location update scheme to work correctly when some of the migration...
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 25 Sep 2012 21:35:45 +0000 (21:35 +0000)]
Modifying global location update scheme to work correctly when some of the migration object data is not for array elements.

9 years agoAdding leanmd simplified as an example
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 24 Sep 2012 19:13:40 +0000 (14:13 -0500)]
Adding leanmd simplified as an example

9 years agoRemoving useless code and adding a hack for migration.
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 22 Sep 2012 22:48:55 +0000 (17:48 -0500)]
Removing useless code and adding a hack for migration.

9 years agoAdding message logging support for gemini layer.
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 22 Sep 2012 01:44:14 +0000 (21:44 -0400)]
Adding message logging support for gemini layer.

9 years agodocs: pup remove deprecated call to pupmarshall
Eric Bohm [Fri, 21 Sep 2012 20:48:27 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
docs: pup remove deprecated call to pupmarshall

9 years agocharmxi: Be more explicit about missing semicolons in a few likely places
Phil Miller [Fri, 21 Sep 2012 20:26:57 +0000 (15:26 -0500)]
charmxi: Be more explicit about missing semicolons in a few likely places

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 21 Sep 2012 19:33:16 +0000 (14:33 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoAdding support for migration.
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 21 Sep 2012 19:32:44 +0000 (14:32 -0500)]
Adding support for migration.

9 years agocharmxi: Error on attempts to write SDAG in constructors
Phil Miller [Fri, 21 Sep 2012 18:50:19 +0000 (13:50 -0500)]
charmxi: Error on attempts to write SDAG in constructors

9 years agoAvoiding storage of local messages.
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 21 Sep 2012 14:36:12 +0000 (09:36 -0500)]
Avoiding storage of local messages.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Aaron Becker [Thu, 20 Sep 2012 21:48:33 +0000 (16:48 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoBug fix in global location update scheme - bad macro name
Lukasz Wesolowski [Thu, 20 Sep 2012 05:01:45 +0000 (00:01 -0500)]
Bug fix in global location update scheme - bad macro name

9 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'origin/charm' into charm
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Wed, 19 Sep 2012 20:24:47 +0000 (15:24 -0500)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/charm' into charm

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 19 Sep 2012 18:11:38 +0000 (13:11 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agofix openMP in jacobi
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 19 Sep 2012 18:11:32 +0000 (13:11 -0500)]
fix openMP in jacobi

9 years agoModified global location update scheme to use migration data sent
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 19 Sep 2012 04:20:24 +0000 (23:20 -0500)]
Modified global location update scheme to use migration data sent
by the load balancer.

9 years agoMerge branch 'newManual' into charm
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 23:00:21 +0000 (18:00 -0500)]
Merge branch 'newManual' into charm

Surprising number of conflicts for something like this.
The conflict in bgp/conv-mach was pure whitespace!

Also restored source for matmul2d example which seems non-empty, contrary
to what commit 69e437925524ecb3 claims.

Conflicts:
doc/charm++/order.tex
doc/libraries/liveviz.tex
examples/charm++/topology/matmul2d/matmul2d.C
src/arch/bluegenep/conv-mach.h

9 years agocharmxi: track constructors in chare arrays and templated types
Aaron Becker [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 21:06:02 +0000 (17:06 -0400)]
charmxi: track constructors in chare arrays and templated types

9 years agocharmxi: add some suggestions about common mistakes to error messages
Aaron Becker [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 20:54:11 +0000 (16:54 -0400)]
charmxi: add some suggestions about common mistakes to error messages

9 years agodoc: minor fix to chapter heading
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 18:48:16 +0000 (13:48 -0500)]
doc: minor fix to chapter heading

9 years agodoc: topo is a chapter of its own. remove section heading
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 18:47:46 +0000 (13:47 -0500)]
doc: topo is a chapter of its own. remove section heading

9 years agoRemoving silly debugging comments.
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 16:35:42 +0000 (11:35 -0500)]
Removing silly debugging comments.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 16:21:51 +0000 (11:21 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoMaking start ssn more flexible.
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 18 Sep 2012 16:21:03 +0000 (11:21 -0500)]
Making start ssn more flexible.

9 years agoFixing a bug in CrayNid.c
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 17 Sep 2012 16:49:12 +0000 (09:49 -0700)]
Fixing a bug in CrayNid.c

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 17 Sep 2012 16:47:16 +0000 (09:47 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: API streamlining
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sat, 15 Sep 2012 23:15:56 +0000 (18:15 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: API streamlining

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: make data items const in interface functions
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sat, 15 Sep 2012 06:25:31 +0000 (01:25 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: make data items const in interface functions

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' into amicableErrorMessages
Aaron Becker [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 22:28:06 +0000 (17:28 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' into amicableErrorMessages

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 15:22:31 +0000 (10:22 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoRemoving debug comments.
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 15:22:04 +0000 (10:22 -0500)]
Removing debug comments.

9 years agosmart-build: Add Cray XE, XK option
Michael Robson [Thu, 13 Sep 2012 22:29:53 +0000 (17:29 -0500)]
smart-build: Add Cray XE, XK option

9 years agoRemoving message forwarding at the message-logging layer.
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 13 Sep 2012 21:46:11 +0000 (16:46 -0500)]
Removing message forwarding at the message-logging layer.

9 years agoRearranging message-logging data in envelope, per Lukasz's recommendation.
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 13 Sep 2012 21:11:04 +0000 (16:11 -0500)]
Rearranging message-logging data in envelope, per Lukasz's recommendation.

9 years agoRefactoring code for message logging protocols.
Esteban Meneses [Thu, 13 Sep 2012 15:49:42 +0000 (10:49 -0500)]
Refactoring code for message logging protocols.

9 years agocharm examples: clean up and add features to jacobi3d (from pmodels book)
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 13 Sep 2012 04:10:52 +0000 (23:10 -0500)]
charm examples: clean up and add features to jacobi3d (from pmodels book)

9 years agocharm examples: cleanup and rewrite fib example
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 13 Sep 2012 04:03:31 +0000 (23:03 -0500)]
charm examples: cleanup and rewrite fib example

9 years agoa fix for remote event data overflow
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 11 Sep 2012 05:38:44 +0000 (00:38 -0500)]
a fix for remote event data overflow

9 years agoTurn off the alternative implementation of MPI machine layer by default.
Chao Mei [Sun, 9 Sep 2012 04:14:18 +0000 (23:14 -0500)]
Turn off the alternative implementation of MPI machine layer by default.

9 years agoAdding script file for causal message-logging.
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 8 Sep 2012 20:17:05 +0000 (15:17 -0500)]
Adding script file for causal message-logging.

9 years agoAn alternative implementation of MPI machine layer as suggested by
Chao Mei [Fri, 7 Sep 2012 23:29:52 +0000 (18:29 -0500)]
An alternative implementation of MPI machine layer as suggested by
Pavan.

9 years agoA patch for a bug in parallel recovery and causal message-logging. This temporary...
Esteban Meneses [Fri, 7 Sep 2012 16:36:33 +0000 (11:36 -0500)]
A patch for a bug in parallel recovery and causal message-logging. This temporary fix will prevent the rest of the tests fail for this issue.

9 years agoexamples/charm++/barnes-charm: renamed variable in prototype to avoid compiler confusion
Pritish Jetley [Fri, 7 Sep 2012 02:57:26 +0000 (08:27 +0530)]
examples/charm++/barnes-charm: renamed variable in prototype to avoid compiler confusion

9 years agodoc:entry method attributes: added examples or references for each entry
Chao Mei [Thu, 6 Sep 2012 20:55:03 +0000 (15:55 -0500)]
doc:entry method attributes: added examples or references for each entry
method keyword

9 years agoadding a note to quiescence detection
Harshitha [Thu, 6 Sep 2012 04:42:43 +0000 (23:42 -0500)]
adding a note to quiescence detection

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 5 Sep 2012 15:13:53 +0000 (08:13 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoMac OS X Lion requires thread stack to be 16-byte aligned.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 5 Sep 2012 04:13:50 +0000 (23:13 -0500)]
Mac OS X  Lion requires thread stack to be 16-byte aligned.

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: adding broadcast functionality
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 4 Sep 2012 04:41:05 +0000 (23:41 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: adding broadcast functionality

9 years agoAdded support for MPI failure injection and recovery. It mimics the work done for...
Esteban Meneses [Mon, 3 Sep 2012 15:11:36 +0000 (10:11 -0500)]
Added support for MPI failure injection and recovery. It mimics the work done for in-memory checkpoint/restart.

9 years agoAdding support for message-logging.
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 1 Sep 2012 21:45:15 +0000 (16:45 -0500)]
Adding support for message-logging.

9 years agoMade +killFile call CkDieNow in mpi build.
Esteban Meneses [Sat, 1 Sep 2012 19:39:17 +0000 (14:39 -0500)]
Made +killFile call CkDieNow in mpi build.

9 years agocheck Cmi_state_key against -1 before calling pthread_getspecific
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 1 Sep 2012 06:11:07 +0000 (01:11 -0500)]
check Cmi_state_key against -1 before calling pthread_getspecific

9 years agoremove all machinespecicfor** macro
YanhuaSun [Fri, 31 Aug 2012 22:08:03 +0000 (17:08 -0500)]
remove all machinespecicfor** macro

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 31 Aug 2012 20:04:32 +0000 (16:04 -0400)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agofixed the lrtssendfn change bug
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 31 Aug 2012 20:04:07 +0000 (16:04 -0400)]
fixed the lrtssendfn change bug

9 years agoenvelope.h: getUsersize() was returning incorrect byte count
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 31 Aug 2012 19:43:24 +0000 (14:43 -0500)]
envelope.h: getUsersize() was returning incorrect byte count

9 years agominor note in the reductions section
Akhil Langer [Fri, 31 Aug 2012 18:09:21 +0000 (13:09 -0500)]
minor note in the reductions section

9 years agoMPI/LRTS: Fix broken macro definition
Phil Miller [Fri, 31 Aug 2012 16:27:52 +0000 (11:27 -0500)]
MPI/LRTS: Fix broken macro definition

9 years agogemini has no special listsend, comment it out
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 31 Aug 2012 02:30:29 +0000 (22:30 -0400)]
gemini has no special listsend, comment it out

9 years agoChange LrtsSendFn to take destPE instead of destNode, this will be needed by PAMI
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 31 Aug 2012 02:18:50 +0000 (22:18 -0400)]
Change LrtsSendFn to take destPE instead of destNode, this will be needed by PAMI

9 years agoAdded the usage for CkLoop library
Chao Mei [Thu, 30 Aug 2012 23:58:57 +0000 (18:58 -0500)]
Added the usage for CkLoop library

9 years agoCleaned the library to remove redundant function argument and interface
Chao Mei [Thu, 30 Aug 2012 22:58:13 +0000 (17:58 -0500)]
Cleaned the library to remove redundant function argument and interface
function

9 years agouse assmebly code instead alloca to change stack pointer for Mac OS
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 30 Aug 2012 21:36:14 +0000 (16:36 -0500)]
use assmebly code instead alloca to change stack pointer for Mac OS

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 30 Aug 2012 21:15:14 +0000 (14:15 -0700)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agodisable compiler over-optimization on qt_args(), in which the SHIFTSP fails to move...
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 30 Aug 2012 21:14:29 +0000 (14:14 -0700)]
disable compiler over-optimization on qt_args(), in which the SHIFTSP fails to move stack pointer.

9 years agocollide library empty octant bug fix xiang_evac
Ehsan Totoni [Thu, 30 Aug 2012 16:14:20 +0000 (09:14 -0700)]
collide library empty octant bug fix

9 years agoRevert "doc: zap archaic text abt compiler support for templates"
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Wed, 29 Aug 2012 14:44:07 +0000 (09:44 -0500)]
Revert "doc: zap archaic text abt compiler support for templates"

This reverts commit fc039e508dc8d877de29422b222fd7854a732e00.

9 years agocausalft: Add missing semicolon
Phil Miller [Wed, 29 Aug 2012 14:18:14 +0000 (09:18 -0500)]
causalft: Add missing semicolon

9 years agodoc: zap archaic text abt compiler support for templates
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Wed, 29 Aug 2012 04:52:16 +0000 (23:52 -0500)]
doc: zap archaic text abt compiler support for templates

9 years agodoc: Re-enable 1page manual by jumping through a few hoops for latex2html
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Wed, 29 Aug 2012 02:49:47 +0000 (21:49 -0500)]
doc: Re-enable 1page manual by jumping through a few hoops for latex2html

-split on the latex2html cmdline seems inexplicably erratic.

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: ignore invalid callbacks
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 29 Aug 2012 02:54:03 +0000 (21:54 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: ignore invalid callbacks

9 years agoSpare nodes is default.
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 22:43:34 +0000 (17:43 -0500)]
Spare nodes is default.

9 years agoMaking spare nodes the default case in memory checkpoint/restart. Removing debugging...
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 22:42:07 +0000 (17:42 -0500)]
Making spare nodes the default case in memory checkpoint/restart. Removing debugging comments.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 14:00:27 +0000 (09:00 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoAdding a first version of fast message logging. This version is working and recoverin...
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 13:59:14 +0000 (08:59 -0500)]
Adding a first version of fast message logging. This version is working and recovering fine. Further experiments are needed to test parallel recovery.

9 years agotemporary: Force make test to use the same options as the charm build.
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 02:44:08 +0000 (21:44 -0500)]
temporary: Force make test to use the same options as the charm build.

Like 6585080b2, this needs to be reverted soon.
Ideally, autobuid should pass the same flags to make test as to the build.

9 years agoRevert "msgQ test: Do not use charmrun to launch until performance degradation is...
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 00:40:36 +0000 (19:40 -0500)]
Revert "msgQ test: Do not use charmrun to launch until performance degradation is resolved"

This reverts commit 76f8353b3e96cfe94d95f64806870e2af1aca4ad.

9 years agomsgQ test: Do not use charmrun to launch until performance degradation is resolved
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 00:10:01 +0000 (19:10 -0500)]
msgQ test: Do not use charmrun to launch until performance degradation is resolved

9 years agomsgQ test: Separate timed loops from printfs. Paranoia.
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Tue, 28 Aug 2012 00:03:00 +0000 (19:03 -0500)]
msgQ test: Separate timed loops from printfs. Paranoia.

9 years agobuild: Dont override OPTS set on the cmdline
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 27 Aug 2012 14:58:50 +0000 (09:58 -0500)]
build: Dont override OPTS set on the cmdline

9 years agobuild: hacky means of getting the tests to build with the same flags as charm
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 27 Aug 2012 06:03:55 +0000 (01:03 -0500)]
build: hacky means of getting the tests to build with the same flags as charm

Revert or improve solution soon.

9 years agobuild: makefile should remember and reuse build options
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Mon, 27 Aug 2012 05:41:34 +0000 (00:41 -0500)]
build: makefile should remember and reuse build options

Its a pain to have to constantly pass OPTS= on the make cmd line
This is not a perfect solution, but it scratches a long-standing itch.

9 years agoMaking use of both message-logging techniques homogeneous in Charm++ core.
Esteban Meneses [Sun, 26 Aug 2012 01:06:21 +0000 (20:06 -0500)]
Making use of both message-logging techniques homogeneous in Charm++ core.

9 years agoMinor
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 24 Aug 2012 21:03:02 +0000 (16:03 -0500)]
Minor

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm emenese2/fast_mlog
Chao Mei [Fri, 24 Aug 2012 18:59:17 +0000 (13:59 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoRemove old files related with nodeHelper
Chao Mei [Fri, 24 Aug 2012 18:58:34 +0000 (13:58 -0500)]
Remove old files related with nodeHelper

9 years agobuild: fix typo in autconfig test
Ramprasad Venkataraman [Fri, 24 Aug 2012 18:56:14 +0000 (13:56 -0500)]
build: fix typo in autconfig test

9 years agomask "pami" as a build platform
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 24 Aug 2012 17:11:44 +0000 (12:11 -0500)]
mask "pami" as a build platform

9 years agoMinor
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 24 Aug 2012 16:21:27 +0000 (11:21 -0500)]
Minor

9 years agoChanges to topology section, deleting the non-existing example
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 24 Aug 2012 15:40:52 +0000 (10:40 -0500)]
Changes to topology section, deleting the non-existing example

9 years agoChanges to the advancedlb text and adding the location of an example
Harshitha [Fri, 24 Aug 2012 13:45:01 +0000 (08:45 -0500)]
Changes to the advancedlb text and adding the location of an example

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: leave asserts in the code by default (they get eliminated
Lukasz Wesolowski [Thu, 23 Aug 2012 22:58:33 +0000 (17:58 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: leave asserts in the code by default (they get eliminated
in production build anayway); add assert which ensures data items are not
submitted after all local contributors have indicated they are done

9 years agodocs: Modify delivery order section and add an example program.
Jonathan Lifflander [Thu, 23 Aug 2012 21:29:23 +0000 (16:29 -0500)]
docs: Modify delivery order section and add an example program.

9 years agolock LateMigrantMsg function so that it works correctly for SMP
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 23 Aug 2012 21:17:23 +0000 (16:17 -0500)]
lock LateMigrantMsg function so that it works correctly for SMP

9 years agominor change to a suggestion printout
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 23 Aug 2012 21:16:31 +0000 (16:16 -0500)]
minor change to a suggestion printout

9 years agoMerge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual
Aaron Becker [Wed, 22 Aug 2012 23:00:12 +0000 (18:00 -0500)]
Merge branch 'newManual' of charmgit:charm into newManual

9 years agoexamples: add diagnostic printout
Aaron Becker [Wed, 22 Aug 2012 22:59:32 +0000 (17:59 -0500)]
examples: add diagnostic printout