charm.git
9 years agominor
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 21:37:20 +0000 (16:37 -0500)]
minor

9 years agouncomment trace BTE Init tracing
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 21:08:26 +0000 (14:08 -0700)]
uncomment trace BTE Init tracing

9 years agoadded trace FMA init
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 20:18:45 +0000 (15:18 -0500)]
added trace FMA init

9 years agoAMPI FIX: Alltoall recursive doubling algo for small message requires in-order AMPI...
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 17:13:12 +0000 (10:13 -0700)]
AMPI FIX: Alltoall recursive doubling algo for small message requires in-order AMPI message delivery.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 07:05:01 +0000 (02:05 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadded statistic informatin of gemini
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 06:50:03 +0000 (01:50 -0500)]
added statistic informatin of gemini

9 years agoturn CMK_MEMORY_PROTECTABLE off. When mixing with hugetlbfs, the thread page ma be...
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 06:43:48 +0000 (23:43 -0700)]
turn CMK_MEMORY_PROTECTABLE off. When mixing with hugetlbfs, the thread page ma be large page and so mprotect seem not working.

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: fixed a bug where timeOfLastSend_ was being set when
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 04:20:17 +0000 (23:20 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: fixed a bug where timeOfLastSend_ was being set when
no send had taken place

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: initialize timeOfLastSend_ to prevent comparison
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sun, 18 Mar 2012 04:08:51 +0000 (23:08 -0500)]
NDMeshStreamer: initialize timeOfLastSend_ to prevent comparison
against unitialized value

9 years agoimportant fix: correctly keep track of non-NULL element when doing broadcast when...
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 17 Mar 2012 16:11:26 +0000 (11:11 -0500)]
important fix: correctly keep track of non-NULL element when doing broadcast when stableLocation is true.

9 years agoMakefiles: consistently pass $(TESTOPTS) to bgtest runs
Phil Miller [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 15:26:51 +0000 (10:26 -0500)]
Makefiles: consistently pass $(TESTOPTS) to bgtest runs

9 years agofix for smp
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 06:45:56 +0000 (23:45 -0700)]
fix for smp

9 years agoerror check for overflow
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 16 Mar 2012 05:56:35 +0000 (00:56 -0500)]
error check for overflow

9 years agofixed a bug of CQWrite memory registration
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 21:27:11 +0000 (16:27 -0500)]
fixed a bug of CQWrite memory registration

9 years agore-fix the previous commit
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 20:09:06 +0000 (15:09 -0500)]
re-fix the previous commit

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 20:04:00 +0000 (15:04 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agofix a bug in error checking for overflow
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 20:03:41 +0000 (15:03 -0500)]
fix a bug in error checking for overflow

9 years agoRelease note: describe AMPI's improved MPI_IN_PLACE support
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 03:11:27 +0000 (22:11 -0500)]
Release note: describe AMPI's improved MPI_IN_PLACE support

9 years agoadded abort because of too much smsg mailbox
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 04:14:27 +0000 (23:14 -0500)]
added abort because of too much smsg mailbox

9 years agoAMPI: checkBuf should never see MPI_IN_PLACE - all routines should handle that first
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 02:41:04 +0000 (21:41 -0500)]
AMPI: checkBuf should never see MPI_IN_PLACE - all routines should handle that first

9 years agoAMPI_Sendrecv: Reject MPI_IN_PLACE where the standard doesn't call for it
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 02:36:18 +0000 (21:36 -0500)]
AMPI_Sendrecv: Reject MPI_IN_PLACE where the standard doesn't call for it

9 years agoAMPI: Handle MPI_IN_PLACE uniformly where it already works, and error out where it...
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 02:25:51 +0000 (21:25 -0500)]
AMPI: Handle MPI_IN_PLACE uniformly where it already works, and error out where it should but doesn't

9 years agomlogft AMPI_Reduce: Handle MPI_IN_PLACE before reading results out of the message log
Phil Miller [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 23:20:00 +0000 (18:20 -0500)]
mlogft AMPI_Reduce: Handle MPI_IN_PLACE before reading results out of the message log

9 years agoAMPI: tighten up error checking on arguments to many routines
Phil Miller [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 02:59:17 +0000 (21:59 -0500)]
AMPI: tighten up error checking on arguments to many routines

9 years agoAMPI errorCheck: take an optional 2nd buffer, to ease checking collectives
Phil Miller [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 23:25:09 +0000 (18:25 -0500)]
AMPI errorCheck: take an optional 2nd buffer, to ease checking collectives

9 years agoAMPI: Remove pointless prototype for errorCheck right before its definition
Phil Miller [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 23:24:10 +0000 (18:24 -0500)]
AMPI: Remove pointless prototype for errorCheck right before its definition

9 years agofix a bug in error checking for MPI_Gather, only root rank has a valid recvBuf pointe...
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 22:30:51 +0000 (17:30 -0500)]
fix a bug in error checking for MPI_Gather, only root rank has a valid recvBuf pointer. (need to be careful about error checking).
Also changed deprecated CMK_OPTIMIZE to CMK_ERROR_CHECKING

9 years agoAMPI: always assume no anytime migration and static insertion.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 07:29:44 +0000 (00:29 -0700)]
AMPI:   always assume no anytime migration and static insertion.
since AMPI collectives are synchronous, so there is no anytime migration.

9 years agoadd a command line option for staticInsertion
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 07:12:35 +0000 (00:12 -0700)]
add a command line option for staticInsertion

9 years ago[warning] Bigsim: const-correctness fix
Phil Miller [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 04:05:52 +0000 (23:05 -0500)]
[warning] Bigsim: const-correctness fix

9 years ago[warning] METIS: Don't pass arbitrary strings as the format argument to fprintf
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 22:59:02 +0000 (17:59 -0500)]
[warning] METIS: Don't pass arbitrary strings as the format argument to fprintf

9 years agoWarnings in projections: Don't assume that printf %lld formats 8-byte ints
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 22:02:01 +0000 (17:02 -0500)]
Warnings in projections: Don't assume that printf %lld formats 8-byte ints

9 years agotrace-projections: make block macro a bit safer, more idiomatic
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 20:45:30 +0000 (15:45 -0500)]
trace-projections: make block macro a bit safer, more idiomatic

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 22:37:20 +0000 (17:37 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agomodify remote event scheme to work with multi sender
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 22:36:46 +0000 (17:36 -0500)]
modify remote event scheme to work with multi sender

9 years agoAdding FT support for isomalloc_sync
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 21:32:29 +0000 (16:32 -0500)]
Adding FT support for isomalloc_sync

9 years agoAdding FT support for isomalloc_sync
Esteban Meneses [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 21:32:05 +0000 (16:32 -0500)]
Adding FT support for isomalloc_sync

9 years agoincreasing mempool limit and adding one more check
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 16:08:55 +0000 (11:08 -0500)]
increasing mempool limit and adding one more check

9 years agoMinor change in CrayNid - adding X6 macro, rest may be alignment change
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 14:39:10 +0000 (09:39 -0500)]
Minor change in CrayNid - adding X6 macro, rest may be alignment change

9 years agoturn off largepage by default
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 07:26:20 +0000 (02:26 -0500)]
turn off largepage by default

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 07:25:18 +0000 (02:25 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agofix big msg bug with remote event id
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 07:24:36 +0000 (02:24 -0500)]
fix big msg bug with remote event id

9 years agofix wrong number of params in TRACE_COMM_CONTROL_CREATION
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 06:54:24 +0000 (01:54 -0500)]
fix wrong number of params in TRACE_COMM_CONTROL_CREATION

9 years agosearch library: don't shift into sign bit
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 06:12:49 +0000 (01:12 -0500)]
search library: don't shift into sign bit

Quiets a warning about what has become undefined behavior in the most
recent standards.

9 years agoMakefile: Ignore warnings in QuickThreads and charmrun
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 04:42:14 +0000 (23:42 -0500)]
Makefile: Ignore warnings in QuickThreads and charmrun

Those are the only critical targets of 'make charm++' that have
warnings on gcc/g++ 4.6. I.e.
`./build charm++ net-linux-x86_64 -Werror`
succeeds with these minimal exclusions.

9 years agocharmc: learn how to treat compiler warnings as errors
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 04:38:05 +0000 (23:38 -0500)]
charmc: learn how to treat compiler warnings as errors

9 years agouse remote_event for ack
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 06:03:46 +0000 (01:03 -0500)]
use remote_event for ack

9 years agoadded trace_control
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 03:21:53 +0000 (22:21 -0500)]
added trace_control

9 years agoadded control message tracing
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 03:13:20 +0000 (22:13 -0500)]
added control message tracing

9 years agocode clean up, remove piggyback ack
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 12 Mar 2012 20:52:40 +0000 (15:52 -0500)]
code clean up, remove piggyback ack

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 12 Mar 2012 20:37:24 +0000 (15:37 -0500)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoadded CQWrite to replace ACK msg
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 12 Mar 2012 20:36:49 +0000 (15:36 -0500)]
added CQWrite to replace ACK msg

9 years agoRelease notes: expand on current content
Phil Miller [Mon, 12 Mar 2012 18:43:51 +0000 (13:43 -0500)]
Release notes: expand on current content

9 years agosplit gni global lock to 2 locks, improve performance
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 12 Mar 2012 04:16:00 +0000 (23:16 -0500)]
split gni global lock to 2 locks, improve performance

9 years agoadd user event to show the work thread is in advance communication
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 11 Mar 2012 21:14:00 +0000 (16:14 -0500)]
add user event to show the work thread is in advance communication

9 years agominor change about trace comm thread macroo v6.4.0-beta1
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 11 Mar 2012 07:48:11 +0000 (01:48 -0600)]
minor change about trace comm thread macroo

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: removing old QD code
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sun, 11 Mar 2012 03:44:59 +0000 (21:44 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: removing old QD code

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: adding termination scheme using completion detection library
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sun, 11 Mar 2012 02:28:31 +0000 (20:28 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: adding termination scheme using completion detection library

9 years agocomment the change in PostNonLocal about adding tracing
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 06:30:09 +0000 (00:30 -0600)]
comment the change in PostNonLocal about adding tracing

9 years agoadd a command line option to print stats
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 06:19:19 +0000 (00:19 -0600)]
add a command line option to print stats

9 years agoadd endIdle before LrtsPostNonLocal and beginIdle after it.
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 04:58:35 +0000 (22:58 -0600)]
add endIdle before LrtsPostNonLocal and beginIdle after it.
Add some stats collection

9 years agofix memory leak in multiple send mode
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 18:20:31 +0000 (12:20 -0600)]
fix memory leak in multiple send mode
make piggyback working with multiple send

9 years agominor change
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 06:26:41 +0000 (00:26 -0600)]
minor change

9 years agofix pcqueuepop race condition in pigback in multisend
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 06:18:27 +0000 (00:18 -0600)]
fix pcqueuepop race condition in pigback in multisend

9 years agoa new mode that both worker and comm thread send and receive messages.
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 04:42:36 +0000 (22:42 -0600)]
a new mode that both worker and comm thread send and receive messages.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Chao Mei [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 03:38:15 +0000 (21:38 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agopiggyback ack to control message for large message
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 03:29:50 +0000 (21:29 -0600)]
piggyback ack to control message for large message

9 years agoRefreshed the implementation for tracing comm thread based on the latest tracing...
Chao Mei [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 03:05:54 +0000 (21:05 -0600)]
Refreshed the implementation for tracing comm thread based on the latest tracing scheme in which the comm thread is seen as the actual inter-node msg sender. In the original scheme, the sender of the inter-node msg still pretends to be the worker thread.

9 years agominor fix for trace comm
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 02:57:32 +0000 (20:57 -0600)]
minor fix for trace comm

9 years agoresolve conflict
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 23:07:18 +0000 (15:07 -0800)]
resolve conflict

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 23:03:52 +0000 (15:03 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

Conflicts:
src/arch/gemini_gni/machine.c

9 years agofix comm thread tracing for small and large messages.
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 23:01:50 +0000 (15:01 -0800)]
fix comm thread tracing for small and large messages.

9 years agominor clean up
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 06:59:05 +0000 (00:59 -0600)]
minor clean up

9 years agofix an old typo
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 06:28:32 +0000 (00:28 -0600)]
fix an old typo

9 years agoclean up shm and sem more cleanly.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 06:04:49 +0000 (00:04 -0600)]
clean up shm and sem more cleanly.

9 years agounlink shm file once it is opened.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 04:31:05 +0000 (22:31 -0600)]
unlink shm file once it is opened.

9 years agoin alloc_mempool_block, size must be hugetlb pagesize aligned
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 03:57:59 +0000 (21:57 -0600)]
in alloc_mempool_block, size must be hugetlb pagesize aligned

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 23:28:35 +0000 (17:28 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agotwo features:
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 23:27:48 +0000 (17:27 -0600)]
two features:
1. use LARGEPAGE with mmap from hugetlbfs
2. piggyback ACK msg with small data
both turn off now

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: implemented caching scheme for chare array metadata
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 19:56:55 +0000 (13:56 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: implemented caching scheme for chare array metadata

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: when delivering an item locally, don't return a reference into
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 04:47:00 +0000 (22:47 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: when delivering an item locally, don't return a reference into
user data

9 years agominor change
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 03:20:35 +0000 (21:20 -0600)]
minor change

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: bug fix for ArrayMeshStreamer - items received
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 22:25:33 +0000 (16:25 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: bug fix for ArrayMeshStreamer - items received
along the route to the destination were being treated as handles
instead of actual data

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Abhishek Gupta [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 03:40:26 +0000 (21:40 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoFirst example for inter node messaging
Abhishek Gupta [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 03:37:33 +0000 (21:37 -0600)]
First example for inter node messaging

9 years agoclean up some use of int (where should be CmiUInt8)
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 03:32:38 +0000 (19:32 -0800)]
clean up some use of int (where should be CmiUInt8)

9 years agoadded one mode to use large page size
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 02:16:32 +0000 (18:16 -0800)]
added one mode to use large page size

9 years agoMinor change in mempool
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 00:58:08 +0000 (18:58 -0600)]
Minor change in mempool

9 years agoRemove archaic CVS keyword header comment blocks
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 23:46:01 +0000 (17:46 -0600)]
Remove archaic CVS keyword header comment blocks

Exact removals as follows:
$ git diff --cached -U | grep -v '^---' | grep -v '^\+\+\+' | grep '^[+-]' | sort | uniq -c
    222 -
    227 - *****************************************************************************/
    227 -/*****************************************************************************
    226 - * $Author$
      2 - * $Author$
      1 - * $Author: Isaac Dooley
    229 - * $Date$
    229 - * $Revision$
    229 - * $Source$

9 years agoChangelog: add some of the 6.4 release notes
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 23:16:50 +0000 (17:16 -0600)]
Changelog: add some of the 6.4 release notes

9 years agompi-darwin-ppc: Switch malloc() back to GNU to address reported megatest failure
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 22:39:18 +0000 (16:39 -0600)]
mpi-darwin-ppc: Switch malloc() back to GNU to address reported megatest failure

Revert "switch to os malloc instead of gnu malloc which seemed to fix a crash bug with fem."

This reverts commit da82da2de4bcb679758e8361c87cef578f87d21d.

9 years agoconfigure: tweak so that older Mac OS X picks up that ntohl() is provided
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 22:28:41 +0000 (16:28 -0600)]
configure: tweak so that older Mac OS X picks up that ntohl() is provided

Also tested as not breaking net-linux, net-linux-x86_64, or
net-darwin-x86_64 on modern Mac OS X. Windows builds are unaffected,
as they take the other branch of the #if.

9 years agoFixed bugs in comm thread tracing
Chao Mei [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 21:05:49 +0000 (15:05 -0600)]
Fixed bugs in comm thread tracing

9 years agoFixed bugs in comm thread tracing
Chao Mei [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 20:55:47 +0000 (14:55 -0600)]
Fixed bugs in comm thread tracing

9 years agotypo fixed
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 20:37:35 +0000 (12:37 -0800)]
typo fixed

9 years agominor fix about link option
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 20:17:21 +0000 (12:17 -0800)]
minor fix about link option

9 years agoa fix for when loading other hugepage modules
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 19:48:19 +0000 (11:48 -0800)]
a fix for when loading other hugepage modules

9 years agominor fix
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 19:27:46 +0000 (13:27 -0600)]
minor fix

9 years agofix compiler warning
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 19:03:25 +0000 (13:03 -0600)]
fix compiler warning

9 years agolinklist for nonempty pcqueue in smp
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 18:51:09 +0000 (12:51 -0600)]
linklist for nonempty pcqueue in smp