charm.git
9 years agoReducing number of iterations to fit in small memory systems
Nikhil Jain [Sat, 31 Dec 2011 04:54:41 +0000 (22:54 -0600)]
Reducing number of iterations to fit in small memory systems

9 years agoremove the line that connecting to PE 0 always atr startup.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 22:31:35 +0000 (14:31 -0800)]
remove the line that connecting to PE 0 always atr startup.

9 years agoturn useDynamicSMSG to 0
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 21:32:12 +0000 (13:32 -0800)]
turn useDynamicSMSG to 0

9 years agocode clean up.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 21:31:38 +0000 (13:31 -0800)]
code clean up.

9 years agosimplify the handling of GNI_RC_ERROR_RESOURCE when making smsgs connections.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 21:10:23 +0000 (13:10 -0800)]
simplify the handling of GNI_RC_ERROR_RESOURCE when making smsgs connections.
it can dafely ignore the error, and let unbound endpoint to handle it (passively).

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 17:04:31 +0000 (09:04 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agodynamic smsgs connection setup seems to be working now after fixing a race condition...
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 17:03:40 +0000 (09:03 -0800)]
dynamic smsgs connection setup seems to be working now after fixing a race condition of receiving SMSG message and setting up the smsgs connection.

9 years agoremove -g from OPTS
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 16:49:28 +0000 (10:49 -0600)]
remove -g from OPTS

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 01:15:10 +0000 (17:15 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agofix race condition in setting dynamic connections.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 30 Dec 2011 01:14:02 +0000 (17:14 -0800)]
fix race condition in setting dynamic connections.

9 years agoGit ignore: generated documentation
Phil Miller [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 20:29:45 +0000 (14:29 -0600)]
Git ignore: generated documentation

9 years agofix variable declaration for VC++
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 29 Dec 2011 16:35:20 +0000 (10:35 -0600)]
fix variable declaration for VC++

9 years agoremove lb_test which prevents any checkin under that directory
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 29 Dec 2011 16:34:38 +0000 (10:34 -0600)]
remove lb_test which prevents any checkin under that directory

9 years agofix the same bug when expanding smsgs buffer at dynamic setup.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 05:48:59 +0000 (21:48 -0800)]
fix the same bug when expanding smsgs buffer at dynamic setup.

9 years agofixed smsg send atr setup (including bzero smsg buffer) for dynamic smsg setup.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 05:47:14 +0000 (21:47 -0800)]
fixed smsg send atr setup (including bzero smsg buffer) for dynamic smsg setup.

9 years agoDynamic Smsg fix
Yanhua Sun [Wed, 28 Dec 2011 01:53:39 +0000 (17:53 -0800)]
Dynamic Smsg fix

9 years agominor
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 22:47:13 +0000 (14:47 -0800)]
minor

9 years agofixed a memory leak problem in commbench broadcast
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 22:40:23 +0000 (14:40 -0800)]
fixed a memory leak problem in commbench broadcast

9 years agoFix in commbench reduction and broadcast benchmark
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 18:41:31 +0000 (12:41 -0600)]
Fix in commbench reduction and broadcast benchmark

9 years agoDoc: Fix typo 'c alled' -> 'called'
Phil Miller [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 15:49:35 +0000 (09:49 -0600)]
Doc: Fix typo 'c alled' -> 'called'

9 years agoDoc: Fix breakage
Phil Miller [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 15:49:11 +0000 (09:49 -0600)]
Doc: Fix breakage

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 06:32:28 +0000 (22:32 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agomodify mempool structure
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 06:32:09 +0000 (22:32 -0800)]
modify mempool structure

9 years agoadded a point-point broadcast example
YanhuaSun [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 06:07:45 +0000 (00:07 -0600)]
added a point-point broadcast example

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Phil Miller [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 05:04:02 +0000 (23:04 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoConvert libraries to inherit from CBase classes
Phil Miller [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 04:46:27 +0000 (22:46 -0600)]
Convert libraries to inherit from CBase classes

9 years agoAdding performance benchmarks for CmiReduce and Broadcast in commbench
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 27 Dec 2011 00:09:47 +0000 (18:09 -0600)]
Adding performance benchmarks for CmiReduce and Broadcast in commbench

9 years agoexample kNeighbor: Don't inherit from CBase and then call a system class PUP routine
Phil Miller [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 21:07:54 +0000 (15:07 -0600)]
example kNeighbor: Don't inherit from CBase and then call a system class PUP routine

9 years agoMeshStreamer: Inherit from CBase classes
Phil Miller [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 19:55:58 +0000 (13:55 -0600)]
MeshStreamer: Inherit from CBase classes

9 years agoAdapt checkpointing code to call base_pup methods
Phil Miller [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 17:30:14 +0000 (11:30 -0600)]
Adapt checkpointing code to call base_pup methods

9 years agoMegatest templates: Fix ambiguity for older compilers
Phil Miller [Mon, 26 Dec 2011 16:55:05 +0000 (10:55 -0600)]
Megatest templates: Fix ambiguity for older compilers

9 years agoTCharm & AMPI: Adapt to automatic pup of base class
Phil Miller [Fri, 2 Dec 2011 09:05:25 +0000 (03:05 -0600)]
TCharm &  AMPI: Adapt to automatic pup of base class

9 years agoDrop requirement for user code to call CBase_foo::pup(p)
Phil Miller [Fri, 2 Dec 2011 08:11:21 +0000 (02:11 -0600)]
Drop requirement for user code to call CBase_foo::pup(p)

Requiring users to explicitly call CBase_foo::pup(p) at the beginning
of any chare's pup routine was easy to forget and led to substantial
frustration. Thus, make the system responsible for this, and take the
burden off users. Update tests and documentation to match.

Add an additional virtual method base_pup(PUP::er &p) to take over the
responsibility of code that was previously in the user-called base
class pup() methods. Insert calls to base_pup() in the main
array-migration code paths.

Currently *not* modified are the checkpoint code and migration for
plain chares. The fault-tolerance code paths under various #ifdef
guards are also not changed.

After consideration, I'm fairly confident that this change will not
break existing code that directly inherits from
Chare/Group/NodeGroup/ArrayElementND, so long as its pup routine stays
old-school to match (i.e. calls Chare::pup directly). The
implementation of base_pup is empty in those classes, and the
generated class's base_pup would call the base class pup routines.

Existing code with user-defined inheritance is a tricky case where
this change may break. In the simplest variants, some data might run
through pup twice. More disconcerting is the possibility of double
allocation on unpacking and memory leaks. If there is any actual code
that encounters this problem, I'll be happy to provide the labor
necessary to repair it.

9 years agolb_test: Use relative path to charmc, not Filippo's
Phil Miller [Fri, 2 Dec 2011 07:50:10 +0000 (01:50 -0600)]
lb_test: Use relative path to charmc, not Filippo's

9 years agoTests: Always inherit from generated CBase_foo class
Phil Miller [Fri, 2 Dec 2011 07:42:47 +0000 (01:42 -0600)]
Tests: Always inherit from generated CBase_foo class

9 years agoAMPI: Widen int before casting it to a pointer (silence warning)
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 07:47:46 +0000 (01:47 -0600)]
AMPI: Widen int before casting it to a pointer (silence warning)

9 years agoConvert char-width flag constants to unsigned char, to allow high-bit w/o overflow
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 07:23:32 +0000 (01:23 -0600)]
Convert char-width flag constants to unsigned char, to allow high-bit w/o overflow

9 years agopedantic builds: Allow 'long long', since it will fail explicitly where it's unsupported
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 06:23:29 +0000 (00:23 -0600)]
pedantic builds: Allow 'long long', since it will fail explicitly where it's unsupported

9 years agoTreeMapLB: Give headers include guards and extern "C"
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 06:01:59 +0000 (00:01 -0600)]
TreeMapLB: Give headers include guards and extern "C"

9 years agoRemove more CVS headers (added after we were on Git :-()
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 05:58:54 +0000 (23:58 -0600)]
Remove more CVS headers (added after we were on Git :-()

9 years agoSimplify macro definition to improve standards compliance, silencing warning
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 05:18:20 +0000 (23:18 -0600)]
Simplify macro definition to improve standards compliance, silencing warning

9 years agoUse 0 when initializing CmiNodeLock, which may be pointer or int
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 05:11:10 +0000 (23:11 -0600)]
Use 0 when initializing CmiNodeLock, which may be pointer or int

9 years agoWiden integers being stuffed into objPtr to silence warnings
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 05:06:10 +0000 (23:06 -0600)]
Widen integers being stuffed into objPtr to silence warnings

9 years agoRemove a stray semicolon
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 04:57:24 +0000 (22:57 -0600)]
Remove a stray semicolon

9 years agock-core/: Remove old CVS ID comment sections
Phil Miller [Sun, 25 Dec 2011 04:56:43 +0000 (22:56 -0600)]
ck-core/: Remove old CVS ID comment sections

9 years agocommented out debug print
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 22 Dec 2011 17:56:44 +0000 (11:56 -0600)]
commented out debug print

9 years agoSIMDIA: Disable unsupported SSE2 intrinsics on Crac CC
Phil Miller [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 22:47:28 +0000 (16:47 -0600)]
SIMDIA: Disable unsupported SSE2 intrinsics on Crac CC

9 years agoDebug interface: Explicitly cast between pointers and ints to satisfy Cray CC and...
Phil Miller [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 22:46:16 +0000 (16:46 -0600)]
Debug interface: Explicitly cast between pointers and ints to satisfy Cray CC and quiet warnings elsewhere

9 years agoDebug interface: Make 64-bit check static to quiet size-mismatch warnings
Phil Miller [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 22:44:14 +0000 (16:44 -0600)]
Debug interface: Make 64-bit check static to quiet size-mismatch warnings

9 years agoTcharm: quiet un/signed comparison warning
Phil Miller [Tue, 13 Dec 2011 14:06:06 +0000 (08:06 -0600)]
Tcharm: quiet un/signed comparison warning

9 years agoTCharm: Eliminate unused variables
Phil Miller [Tue, 6 Dec 2011 00:06:55 +0000 (18:06 -0600)]
TCharm: Eliminate unused variables

9 years agoSilence warning about initialization out of declaration order
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Dec 2011 23:57:35 +0000 (17:57 -0600)]
Silence warning about initialization out of declaration order

9 years agoRemove redundant forward declaration
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Dec 2011 23:57:06 +0000 (17:57 -0600)]
Remove redundant forward declaration

9 years agoBGP-Forcing qarch=450, prevents autosimdization that causes memory misaligned
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 21:44:50 +0000 (21:44 +0000)]
BGP-Forcing qarch=450, prevents autosimdization that causes memory misaligned
access does not happen

9 years agoFixing the bug I introduced as fixed migrations on 32 bit architecture(s)
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 19:59:35 +0000 (11:59 -0800)]
Fixing the bug I introduced as fixed migrations on 32 bit architecture(s)

9 years agoadd missing namespace std.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 18:50:00 +0000 (12:50 -0600)]
add missing namespace std.

9 years agorewrite GreedyLB to consider migratable obj flag, PE avail bitvector and PE spee
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 06:15:14 +0000 (00:15 -0600)]
rewrite GreedyLB to consider migratable obj flag, PE avail bitvector and PE spee
d.
change the default as that no pe speed is measured unless runtime option +LBTestPESpeed presents.

9 years agoactually make use of _Cmi_noprocforcommthread.
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 05:18:12 +0000 (23:18 -0600)]
actually make use of _Cmi_noprocforcommthread.
The default scenario is that every thread has a dedicated core.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Dec 2011 16:30:27 +0000 (10:30 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoFound the bug in net-sol versions - 32 bit architectures have size_t as 32 bytes...
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 01:36:03 +0000 (19:36 -0600)]
Found the bug in net-sol versions - 32 bit architectures have size_t as 32 bytes which is used as a typedef for mem_handle which is used to store slot values in isomalloc which has to be 64 bytes, and hence all the trouble.

9 years agomerged specific CUDA stuff to base common Makefiles.
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Dec 2011 16:28:58 +0000 (10:28 -0600)]
merged specific CUDA stuff to base common Makefiles.

9 years agochanged USE_MEMPOOL_ISOMALLOC to CMK_USE_MEMPOOL_ISOMALLOC and
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Dec 2011 10:14:12 +0000 (04:14 -0600)]
changed USE_MEMPOOL_ISOMALLOC to CMK_USE_MEMPOOL_ISOMALLOC and
moved to conv_config.h so user can customize it in conv-mach configs.

9 years agoFix for mempool unaligned addressess on 32 bit machines, not tested
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 20 Dec 2011 04:10:07 +0000 (22:10 -0600)]
Fix for mempool unaligned addressess on 32 bit machines, not tested
though, relying on autobuild

9 years agoManually reverting one of the commits
Nikhil Jain [Thu, 15 Dec 2011 20:15:20 +0000 (14:15 -0600)]
Manually reverting one of the commits

9 years agoAdded cuda as a build option for mpi-linux-x86_64 builds of charm++.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Thu, 15 Dec 2011 07:40:31 +0000 (01:40 -0600)]
Added cuda as a build option for mpi-linux-x86_64 builds of charm++.

9 years agoPushing in a fix to pupping mechanism for new isomalloc,
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 6 Dec 2011 07:00:50 +0000 (01:00 -0600)]
Pushing in a fix to pupping mechanism for new isomalloc,
error was that the thread was getting free before I could
pup its mempool

10 years agoRemoving some dead code from previous commit.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sat, 3 Dec 2011 00:23:26 +0000 (18:23 -0600)]
Removing some dead code from previous commit.

10 years agoAdded cuda as a build option for net-linux-x86_64 builds of charm++.
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sat, 3 Dec 2011 00:17:27 +0000 (18:17 -0600)]
Added cuda as a build option for net-linux-x86_64 builds of charm++.

10 years agofor group-based reduction, fix a bug in adjVec on PE 0, where the ckvec keeps growing.
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 2 Dec 2011 22:55:52 +0000 (16:55 -0600)]
for group-based reduction, fix a bug in adjVec on PE 0, where the ckvec keeps growing.

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 2 Dec 2011 21:49:59 +0000 (15:49 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agofix a bug in finding f90 libs
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 2 Dec 2011 21:44:23 +0000 (15:44 -0600)]
fix a bug in finding f90 libs

10 years agoChanges to fix mempool/isomalloc coexistence with gemini
Nikhil Jain [Thu, 1 Dec 2011 05:25:48 +0000 (23:25 -0600)]
Changes to fix mempool/isomalloc coexistence with gemini

10 years agoFixing the inline keyword for windows built
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 30 Nov 2011 17:10:10 +0000 (11:10 -0600)]
Fixing the inline keyword for windows built

10 years agoReadding changes to enable puppping of only necessary data for isomalloc
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 30 Nov 2011 03:51:15 +0000 (21:51 -0600)]
Readding changes to enable puppping of only necessary data for isomalloc

10 years agoRevert "Changes to list pup to enable pupping of only necessary things"
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 30 Nov 2011 03:46:44 +0000 (21:46 -0600)]
Revert "Changes to list pup to enable pupping of only necessary things"

This reverts commit 2a14c33d58deaa367b9e0ba1d23365682bde6aa5.

10 years agoCommitting new version of isomalloc and mempool, things may
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 30 Nov 2011 02:38:12 +0000 (20:38 -0600)]
Committing new version of isomalloc and mempool, things may
break for armci and elfgot, will see what can be done about them

10 years agoChanges to list pup to enable pupping of only necessary things
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 30 Nov 2011 01:58:22 +0000 (19:58 -0600)]
Changes to list pup to enable pupping of only necessary things

10 years agoSome clean up
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 28 Nov 2011 17:52:29 +0000 (11:52 -0600)]
Some clean up

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into isomalloc
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 28 Nov 2011 16:02:18 +0000 (10:02 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into isomalloc

10 years ago.charmrunrc added to manual
Ehsan Totoni [Wed, 23 Nov 2011 16:37:27 +0000 (10:37 -0600)]
.charmrunrc added to manual

10 years agoswitch one point-to-point to group reduction.
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 22 Nov 2011 21:39:49 +0000 (15:39 -0600)]
switch one point-to-point to group reduction.

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into isomalloc
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 18 Nov 2011 19:53:05 +0000 (13:53 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into isomalloc

10 years agoMore bug fixes
Nikhil Jain [Fri, 18 Nov 2011 19:52:27 +0000 (13:52 -0600)]
More bug fixes

10 years agoSome bug fixes
Nikhil Jain [Thu, 17 Nov 2011 23:57:43 +0000 (17:57 -0600)]
Some bug fixes

10 years agogive user ability to enable periodic flushing
Pritish Jetley [Wed, 16 Nov 2011 20:53:50 +0000 (14:53 -0600)]
give user ability to enable periodic flushing

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Pritish Jetley [Wed, 16 Nov 2011 20:09:31 +0000 (14:09 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoflush period int->double
Pritish Jetley [Wed, 16 Nov 2011 20:09:15 +0000 (14:09 -0600)]
flush period int->double

10 years agoReverting incorrect fix
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 16 Nov 2011 17:11:53 +0000 (11:11 -0600)]
Reverting incorrect fix

10 years agocommitted a wrong file in previous commit, committing the right file now
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 16 Nov 2011 09:36:57 +0000 (03:36 -0600)]
committed a wrong file in previous commit, committing the right file now

10 years agoFixing the memory leak in reduction - contribution up the tree
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 16 Nov 2011 09:32:37 +0000 (03:32 -0600)]
Fixing the memory leak in reduction - contribution up the tree
were not being deleted

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Nikhil Jain [Wed, 16 Nov 2011 09:31:44 +0000 (03:31 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agomanual: added a section on MeshStreamer
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 19:20:20 +0000 (13:20 -0600)]
manual: added a section on MeshStreamer

10 years agoRemoving some prints tht missed my eye
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 11:17:55 +0000 (05:17 -0600)]
Removing some prints tht missed my eye

10 years agoFixing some bugs, not perfect yet
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 11:00:44 +0000 (05:00 -0600)]
Fixing some bugs, not perfect yet

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into isomalloc
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 15 Nov 2011 10:59:36 +0000 (04:59 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into isomalloc

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Nikhil Jain [Mon, 14 Nov 2011 00:00:39 +0000 (18:00 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoMeshStreamer: Changed some parameters to references to avoid invoking
Lukasz Wesolowski [Sun, 13 Nov 2011 21:33:25 +0000 (15:33 -0600)]
MeshStreamer: Changed some parameters to references to avoid invoking
copy constructor when items are large user-defined types.

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Nikhil Jain [Sun, 13 Nov 2011 20:05:07 +0000 (14:05 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 13 Nov 2011 03:26:19 +0000 (21:26 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

10 years agofix group reduction after restart.
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 13 Nov 2011 03:25:19 +0000 (21:25 -0600)]
fix group reduction after restart.
Using group reduction instead of all PEs sending to PE 0 to finish a checkpointing.