charm.git
9 years agocommunication aware lb strategy
Harshitha [Mon, 26 Mar 2012 21:25:53 +0000 (16:25 -0500)]
communication aware lb strategy

9 years agojacobi1d
Harshitha [Mon, 26 Mar 2012 18:05:10 +0000 (13:05 -0500)]
jacobi1d

9 years agoChanges to AdaptiveLB strategy
Harshitha [Mon, 26 Mar 2012 18:03:05 +0000 (13:03 -0500)]
Changes to AdaptiveLB strategy

9 years agoChanged to LBDatabase to handle refine strategy
Harshitha [Sat, 24 Mar 2012 21:01:23 +0000 (16:01 -0500)]
Changed to LBDatabase to handle refine strategy

9 years agoFixing some bugs
Harshitha [Fri, 23 Mar 2012 22:50:37 +0000 (17:50 -0500)]
Fixing some bugs

9 years agoModifying the adaptive lb framework to handle async lb collection of stats without...
Harshitha [Wed, 21 Mar 2012 19:27:24 +0000 (14:27 -0500)]
Modifying the adaptive lb framework to handle async lb collection of stats without local barrier

9 years agoRemoving the AtLocalBarrier
Harshitha [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 10:05:09 +0000 (05:05 -0500)]
Removing the AtLocalBarrier

9 years agoModificationt o GreedyLB
Harshitha [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 20:38:43 +0000 (15:38 -0500)]
Modificationt o GreedyLB

9 years agoChanging the way line is plotted
Harshitha [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 20:15:22 +0000 (15:15 -0500)]
Changing the way line is plotted

9 years agoNew balancer AdaptiveLB
Harshitha [Tue, 13 Mar 2012 21:20:19 +0000 (16:20 -0500)]
New balancer AdaptiveLB

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm', remote-tracking branch 'origin' into harshitha/adaptive_lb
Harshitha [Sun, 11 Mar 2012 00:16:10 +0000 (18:16 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm', remote-tracking branch 'origin' into harshitha/adaptive_lb

9 years agomerging with main branch
Harshitha [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 23:25:29 +0000 (17:25 -0600)]
merging with main branch

9 years agocomment the change in PostNonLocal about adding tracing
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 06:30:09 +0000 (00:30 -0600)]
comment the change in PostNonLocal about adding tracing

9 years agoadd a command line option to print stats
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 06:19:19 +0000 (00:19 -0600)]
add a command line option to print stats

9 years agoadd endIdle before LrtsPostNonLocal and beginIdle after it.
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 04:58:35 +0000 (22:58 -0600)]
add endIdle before LrtsPostNonLocal and beginIdle after it.
Add some stats collection

9 years agoAdding changes to ci and .h files
Harshitha [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 02:19:28 +0000 (20:19 -0600)]
Adding changes to ci and .h files

9 years agominor changes
Harshitha [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 02:17:01 +0000 (20:17 -0600)]
minor changes

9 years agoChanging the way in which lb period information is sent
Harshitha [Sat, 10 Mar 2012 02:10:54 +0000 (20:10 -0600)]
Changing the way in which lb period information is sent

9 years agoMinor fix for intersection case
Harshitha [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 22:51:25 +0000 (16:51 -0600)]
Minor fix for intersection case

9 years agofix memory leak in multiple send mode
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 18:20:31 +0000 (12:20 -0600)]
fix memory leak in multiple send mode
make piggyback working with multiple send

9 years agoCommenting out some comments
Harshitha [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 10:11:12 +0000 (04:11 -0600)]
Commenting out some comments

9 years agoPutting a check in the reduction type that it is happening for hte same iteration
Harshitha [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 10:07:02 +0000 (04:07 -0600)]
Putting a check in the reduction type that it is happening for hte same iteration

9 years agofixing bug in the case of pause
Harshitha [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 10:01:49 +0000 (04:01 -0600)]
fixing bug in the case of pause

9 years agoAdding req no to lb_period information
Harshitha [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 07:24:25 +0000 (01:24 -0600)]
Adding req no to lb_period information

9 years agominor change
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 06:26:41 +0000 (00:26 -0600)]
minor change

9 years agofix pcqueuepop race condition in pigback in multisend
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 06:18:27 +0000 (00:18 -0600)]
fix pcqueuepop race condition in pigback in multisend

9 years agoa new mode that both worker and comm thread send and receive messages.
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 04:42:36 +0000 (22:42 -0600)]
a new mode that both worker and comm thread send and receive messages.

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Chao Mei [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 03:38:15 +0000 (21:38 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agopiggyback ack to control message for large message
Gengbin Zheng [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 03:29:50 +0000 (21:29 -0600)]
piggyback ack to control message for large message

9 years agoRefreshed the implementation for tracing comm thread based on the latest tracing...
Chao Mei [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 03:05:54 +0000 (21:05 -0600)]
Refreshed the implementation for tracing comm thread based on the latest tracing scheme in which the comm thread is seen as the actual inter-node msg sender. In the original scheme, the sender of the inter-node msg still pretends to be the worker thread.

9 years agochanges to kNEighbor
Harshitha [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 03:02:08 +0000 (21:02 -0600)]
changes to kNEighbor

9 years agominor fix for trace comm
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 02:57:32 +0000 (20:57 -0600)]
minor fix for trace comm

9 years agokNeighbor changes which can be used to test metabalancer
Harshitha [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 02:01:49 +0000 (20:01 -0600)]
kNeighbor changes which can be used to test metabalancer

9 years agoFixing a few bugs related to lb period calculation
Harshitha [Fri, 9 Mar 2012 01:41:26 +0000 (19:41 -0600)]
Fixing a few bugs related to lb period calculation

9 years agoresolve conflict
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 23:07:18 +0000 (15:07 -0800)]
resolve conflict

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 23:03:52 +0000 (15:03 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

Conflicts:
src/arch/gemini_gni/machine.c

9 years agofix comm thread tracing for small and large messages.
Yanhua Sun [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 23:01:50 +0000 (15:01 -0800)]
fix comm thread tracing for small and large messages.

9 years agominor clean up
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 06:59:05 +0000 (00:59 -0600)]
minor clean up

9 years agofix an old typo
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 06:28:32 +0000 (00:28 -0600)]
fix an old typo

9 years agoclean up shm and sem more cleanly.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 06:04:49 +0000 (00:04 -0600)]
clean up shm and sem more cleanly.

9 years agounlink shm file once it is opened.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 04:31:05 +0000 (22:31 -0600)]
unlink shm file once it is opened.

9 years agoin alloc_mempool_block, size must be hugetlb pagesize aligned
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 8 Mar 2012 03:57:59 +0000 (21:57 -0600)]
in alloc_mempool_block, size must be hugetlb pagesize aligned

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 23:28:35 +0000 (17:28 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agotwo features:
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 23:27:48 +0000 (17:27 -0600)]
two features:
1. use LARGEPAGE with mmap from hugetlbfs
2. piggyback ACK msg with small data
both turn off now

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: implemented caching scheme for chare array metadata
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 19:56:55 +0000 (13:56 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: implemented caching scheme for chare array metadata

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: when delivering an item locally, don't return a reference into
Lukasz Wesolowski [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 04:47:00 +0000 (22:47 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: when delivering an item locally, don't return a reference into
user data

9 years agominor change
Gengbin Zheng [Wed, 7 Mar 2012 03:20:35 +0000 (21:20 -0600)]
minor change

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: bug fix for ArrayMeshStreamer - items received
Lukasz Wesolowski [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 22:25:33 +0000 (16:25 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: bug fix for ArrayMeshStreamer - items received
along the route to the destination were being treated as handles
instead of actual data

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Abhishek Gupta [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 03:40:26 +0000 (21:40 -0600)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agoFirst example for inter node messaging
Abhishek Gupta [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 03:37:33 +0000 (21:37 -0600)]
First example for inter node messaging

9 years agoclean up some use of int (where should be CmiUInt8)
Gengbin Zheng [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 03:32:38 +0000 (19:32 -0800)]
clean up some use of int (where should be CmiUInt8)

9 years agoadded one mode to use large page size
Yanhua Sun [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 02:16:32 +0000 (18:16 -0800)]
added one mode to use large page size

9 years agoMinor change in mempool
Nikhil Jain [Tue, 6 Mar 2012 00:58:08 +0000 (18:58 -0600)]
Minor change in mempool

9 years agoRemove archaic CVS keyword header comment blocks
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 23:46:01 +0000 (17:46 -0600)]
Remove archaic CVS keyword header comment blocks

Exact removals as follows:
$ git diff --cached -U | grep -v '^---' | grep -v '^\+\+\+' | grep '^[+-]' | sort | uniq -c
    222 -
    227 - *****************************************************************************/
    227 -/*****************************************************************************
    226 - * $Author$
      2 - * $Author$
      1 - * $Author: Isaac Dooley
    229 - * $Date$
    229 - * $Revision$
    229 - * $Source$

9 years agoChangelog: add some of the 6.4 release notes
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 23:16:50 +0000 (17:16 -0600)]
Changelog: add some of the 6.4 release notes

9 years agompi-darwin-ppc: Switch malloc() back to GNU to address reported megatest failure
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 22:39:18 +0000 (16:39 -0600)]
mpi-darwin-ppc: Switch malloc() back to GNU to address reported megatest failure

Revert "switch to os malloc instead of gnu malloc which seemed to fix a crash bug with fem."

This reverts commit da82da2de4bcb679758e8361c87cef578f87d21d.

9 years agoconfigure: tweak so that older Mac OS X picks up that ntohl() is provided
Phil Miller [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 22:28:41 +0000 (16:28 -0600)]
configure: tweak so that older Mac OS X picks up that ntohl() is provided

Also tested as not breaking net-linux, net-linux-x86_64, or
net-darwin-x86_64 on modern Mac OS X. Windows builds are unaffected,
as they take the other branch of the #if.

9 years agoInstead of doing a reduction to get the iteration no, send a msg
Harshitha [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 21:51:59 +0000 (15:51 -0600)]
Instead of doing a reduction to get the iteration no, send a msg

9 years agoFixed bugs in comm thread tracing
Chao Mei [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 21:05:49 +0000 (15:05 -0600)]
Fixed bugs in comm thread tracing

9 years agoFixed bugs in comm thread tracing
Chao Mei [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 20:55:47 +0000 (14:55 -0600)]
Fixed bugs in comm thread tracing

9 years agotypo fixed
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 20:37:35 +0000 (12:37 -0800)]
typo fixed

9 years agominor fix about link option
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 20:17:21 +0000 (12:17 -0800)]
minor fix about link option

9 years agoa fix for when loading other hugepage modules
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 19:48:19 +0000 (11:48 -0800)]
a fix for when loading other hugepage modules

9 years agominor fix
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 19:27:46 +0000 (13:27 -0600)]
minor fix

9 years agofix compiler warning
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 19:03:25 +0000 (13:03 -0600)]
fix compiler warning

9 years agolinklist for nonempty pcqueue in smp
Yanhua Sun [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 18:51:09 +0000 (12:51 -0600)]
linklist for nonempty pcqueue in smp

9 years agoFEM: Silence warnings arising from int/ptr ambiguity in CmiNodeLock's definition
Phil Miller [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 21:06:46 +0000 (15:06 -0600)]
FEM: Silence warnings arising from int/ptr ambiguity in CmiNodeLock's definition

9 years agouse gethugepagesize to determine the page size.
Gengbin Zheng [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 07:34:06 +0000 (23:34 -0800)]
use gethugepagesize to determine the page size.
If hugepagesize module not loaded, use a in-house implementation in cray_tlbhack.c.

9 years agotesting
Harshitha [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 02:05:59 +0000 (20:05 -0600)]
testing

9 years agoMerge branch 'harshitha/adaptive_lb' of charmgit:charm into adaptive_lb
Harshitha [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 02:04:49 +0000 (20:04 -0600)]
Merge branch 'harshitha/adaptive_lb' of charmgit:charm into adaptive_lb

9 years agokNeighbor mem leak
Harshitha [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 02:02:58 +0000 (20:02 -0600)]
kNeighbor mem leak

9 years agoMerge branch 'harshitha/adaptive_lb' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb
Harshitha [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 01:54:41 +0000 (19:54 -0600)]
Merge branch 'harshitha/adaptive_lb' of charmgit:charm into harshitha/adaptive_lb

9 years agoAsynchronous collection of lb stats and informing lb period
Harshitha [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 01:54:27 +0000 (19:54 -0600)]
Asynchronous collection of lb stats and informing lb period

9 years agotesting again
Harshitha [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 01:47:40 +0000 (19:47 -0600)]
testing again

9 years agotesting
Harshitha [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 01:46:20 +0000 (19:46 -0600)]
testing

9 years agotest
Harshitha [Mon, 5 Mar 2012 01:06:00 +0000 (19:06 -0600)]
test

9 years agotest test
Harshitha [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 23:54:42 +0000 (17:54 -0600)]
test test

9 years agotesting
Harshitha [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 23:07:25 +0000 (17:07 -0600)]
testing

9 years agotest
Harshitha [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 22:54:23 +0000 (16:54 -0600)]
test

9 years agoAsynchronous collection of stats and informing lb period
Harshitha [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 22:15:33 +0000 (16:15 -0600)]
Asynchronous collection of stats and informing lb period

9 years agoDoes asynchronous collection of lb stats and sends ideal lb period
Harshitha [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 21:57:03 +0000 (15:57 -0600)]
Does asynchronous collection of lb stats and sends ideal lb period

9 years agoAsynchronous lb period determination
Harshitha [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 21:24:58 +0000 (15:24 -0600)]
Asynchronous lb period determination

9 years agofix macro MallocAckMsg, FreeAckMsg, etc so that they can be safely used in simple...
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 17:35:29 +0000 (09:35 -0800)]
fix macro MallocAckMsg, FreeAckMsg, etc so that they can be safely used in simple if statement.

9 years agominor clean up
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 08:50:38 +0000 (02:50 -0600)]
minor clean up

9 years agofix about smsg queue status check
Yanhua Sun [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 08:34:34 +0000 (02:34 -0600)]
fix about smsg queue status check

9 years agofix a potential race condition in previous checkin
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 08:03:42 +0000 (02:03 -0600)]
fix a potential race condition in previous checkin

9 years agoa minor optimization to the previous commit, maintan a status of destpe, if it can...
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 07:59:47 +0000 (01:59 -0600)]
a minor optimization to the previous commit, maintan a status of destpe, if it can not send, skip pending messages to that destpe.

9 years agofor SMP, implement a single queue scheme for buffered send queue.
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 07:09:19 +0000 (01:09 -0600)]
for SMP, implement a single queue scheme for buffered send queue.
by default it is off right now.

9 years agoconsider multicore version when non comm thread in traceEnd()
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 00:46:35 +0000 (18:46 -0600)]
consider multicore version when non comm thread in traceEnd()

9 years agowhen tracing disabled, disable tracing-commthread too
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 00:45:59 +0000 (18:45 -0600)]
when tracing disabled, disable tracing-commthread too

9 years agomake it 6.4.0
Gengbin Zheng [Sun, 4 Mar 2012 00:35:16 +0000 (18:35 -0600)]
make it 6.4.0

9 years agoset charm version to 6.4 to avoid confusion with NAMD
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 19:43:24 +0000 (13:43 -0600)]
set charm version to 6.4 to avoid confusion with NAMD

9 years agochange CREDIT value back
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 16:14:02 +0000 (10:14 -0600)]
change CREDIT value back

9 years agomake ack_msg for medium size message smaller
Gengbin Zheng [Sat, 3 Mar 2012 07:13:11 +0000 (01:13 -0600)]
make ack_msg for medium size message smaller

9 years agoMerge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 2 Mar 2012 20:23:05 +0000 (12:23 -0800)]
Merge branch 'charm' of charmgit:charm into charm

9 years agominor fix in compiling error
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 2 Mar 2012 20:22:54 +0000 (12:22 -0800)]
minor fix in compiling error

9 years agoNDMeshStreamer: fixing a bug in the array interface due to improper casting
Lukasz Wesolowski [Fri, 2 Mar 2012 20:06:54 +0000 (14:06 -0600)]
NDMeshStreamer: fixing a bug in the array interface due to improper casting

9 years agoadded cmidirect smp support
Yanhua Sun [Fri, 2 Mar 2012 07:27:31 +0000 (23:27 -0800)]
added cmidirect smp support

9 years agofixed a crash on cray compiler in SMP.
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 1 Mar 2012 22:11:21 +0000 (14:11 -0800)]
fixed a crash on cray compiler in SMP.

9 years agobetter dependence
Gengbin Zheng [Thu, 1 Mar 2012 22:11:13 +0000 (14:11 -0800)]
better dependence