docs arrays: move some text around
authorAkhil Langer <alanger@illinois.edu>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:36:55 +0000 (16:36 -0500)
committerAkhil Langer <alanger@illinois.edu>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 21:37:05 +0000 (16:37 -0500)
doc/charm++/arrays.tex
doc/charm++/entry.tex

index 30a945dbbbdc09a747b2da0c920b0deec5844cf4..91cf912cd78e65a9ae5c01f6e85ee9eb3f37effd 100644 (file)
@@ -249,10 +249,6 @@ In all cases, the result of the reduction operation is passed to the {\em reduct
 client}.  Many different kinds of reduction clients can be used, as
 explained in Section~\ref{reductionClients}.
 
-\paragraph{Typed Reductions}
-
-\label{typed_reductions}
-
 Typically the client entry method of a reduction takes a single argument of
 type CkReductionMsg. However, by giving an entry method the
 \kw{reductiontarget} attribute in the {\tt .ci} file, you can instead use entry methods that take
@@ -282,7 +278,9 @@ the code for a typed reduction that yields an {\tt int}, would look like this:
   \}
 \end{alltt}
 
-This will also work for arrays of data elements, and for any user-defined type with a PUP method
+This will also work for arrays of data 
+elements(entry [reductiontarget] void done(int n, int result[n]);), 
+and for any user-defined type with a PUP method
 (see ~\ref{sec:pup}). If you know that the reduction will yield a particular
 number of elements, say 3 {\tt int}s, you can also specify a reduction target which
 takes 3 {\tt int}s and it will be invoked correctly. 
index 4ef18ca0a53672c66425a37c641b2abbc0c4d25a..4a32e281863989fce9e8365d6000c405bc9d78fc 100644 (file)
@@ -93,6 +93,6 @@ keyword \kw{python}.
 
 \index{reductiontarget}\item[reductiontarget] entry methods may be used as the
 target of reductions, despite not taking CkReductionMsg as an argument.
-See~\ref{typed_reductions}.
+See~\ref{reductions}.
 
 \end{description}