CHANGES: Added Sections-related release notes for 6.8.0 18/2518/3
authorJuan Galvez <jjgalvez@illinois.edu>
Thu, 11 May 2017 18:08:37 +0000 (13:08 -0500)
committerJuan Galvez <jjgalvez@illinois.edu>
Thu, 11 May 2017 18:44:09 +0000 (13:44 -0500)
Change-Id: If29a8be7b446d2db8d820492372dd49fdfc994b6

CHANGES

diff --git a/CHANGES b/CHANGES
index 7dfe50c..9eb7b9f 100644 (file)
--- a/CHANGES
+++ b/CHANGES
@@ -39,6 +39,23 @@ Charm++ Features
   combination. This extends the existing Charm++/MPI interoperation
   feature.
 
+- Improvements to Sections:
+
+  * Array sections API has been simplified, with array sections being
+  automatically delegated to CkMulticastMgr (the most efficient implementation
+  in Charm++). Changes are reflected in Chapter 14 of the manual.
+
+  * Group sections can now be delegated to CkMulticastMgr (improved performance
+  compared to default implementation). Note that they have to be manually
+  delegated. Documentation is in Chapter 14 of Charm++ manual.
+
+  * Group section reductions are now supported for delegated sections
+  via CkMulticastMgr.
+
+  * Improved performance of section creation in CkMulticastMgr.
+
+  * CkMulticastMgr uses the improved spanning tree strategies. See above.
+
 - GPU manager now creates one instance per OS process and scales the
   pre-allocated memory pool size according to the GPU memory size and
   number of GPU manager instances on a physical node.