Add a '-production' flag for architecture-specific features
authorPhil Miller <mille121@illinois.edu>
Thu, 21 Oct 2010 00:17:08 +0000 (19:17 -0500)
committerPhil Miller <mille121@illinois.edu>
Thu, 21 Oct 2010 00:21:58 +0000 (19:21 -0500)
commit539e97e64d58639ab9d1e8aa0cb769f2232b3f43
tree8c8767a1783aa08cca1666eb90ee046d199495d7
parent270013244baf757881f11a2cbfc8390b3a6bfd18
Add a '-production' flag for architecture-specific features

Abhinav requested a flag to indicate that architecture-specific
production-mode features should be enabled. Add it from front (/build)
to back (charmc), with documentation.

To add something to the compiler flags, add an appropriate definition
of CMK_PRODUCTION or CMK_{C,CXX,F90,LD,LDXX}_PRODUCTION to
conv-mach.sh or cc-foo.sh, and the -production flag will include it in
the options passed to the underlying compiler.

I did *not* make a test for this in the configure script, nor define a
C preprocessor macro CMK_PRODUCTION, because code should never be
testing that directly. Architecture-specific scripts should be
enabling particular features where they're appropriate.
build
doc/install/compile.tex
src/scripts/charmc