Don't pass the '-optimize' flag to a hard-coded g++
authorPhil Miller <phil@login2.surveyor.alcf.anl.gov>
Thu, 1 Apr 2010 15:43:24 +0000 (10:43 -0500)
committerPhil Miller <mille121@illinois.edu>
Thu, 1 Apr 2010 20:04:33 +0000 (15:04 -0500)
commit4678c93c079429934c0899dd6370f911be04e6bd
treee5425ac8306b6753e336737cbb6e0c6582ed4bce
parent9b22e1556dbc5d3d3efc7c8ba5290a471c48c12e
Don't pass the '-optimize' flag to a hard-coded g++

The charmc compiler wrapper switched from expecting -O to -optimize for the
meaning "pass the best known compiler optimization flags to the underlying
compiler." This was written on the build command line and passed through make
in $OPTS. That works fine as long as charmc gets to rewrite it, but causes
problems when passed directly to a real compiler, like g++.

The file trace-controlPoints-BPG.C needs to be compiled with g++ and not xlC,
and this need was encoded as an explicit invocation of g++ in the BGP-specific
Makefile. Thus, we passed -optimize to it, and got an object file named
'ptimize'. Get this right by using charmc's '-c++' compiler override option
instead.
src/arch/bluegenep/Makefile.machine